We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very roomy and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Governor's Green
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very roomy and quiet”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

If your vacation plans to Wiliamsburg include wanting comfortable accomodations and a quiet environment this is the place. Unlike most Wyndham timeshares this location has minimal activities. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, a pool table room and a miniature golf course.No restaurant. Two bedroom units are large, with full kitchen, two bathrooms, sleeper sofa in living room and a very quiet A/C unit. Easy driving distance to all Williamsburg area activities and restaurants. For those of you who enjoy walking or jogging for exercise this resort has plenty of sidewalks and road surface. Visit the activity room for discount coupons to area activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank divearnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    159
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
236
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillside, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I love this property and the general area. It's a nice place to kick-back and take it easy. Or, optionally, it's a nice jumping-off location for a week of touring Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown and the Mariner's Museum (Newport News, VA)/ home of the civil war era Monitor.

I was fortunate enough to reserve a one bedroom deluxe suite this holiday (roughly 1200 sq. ft.). The unit came with a whirl pool tub, kitchenette, living room and bedroom with ample storage space. Stepping outside, it is an easy walk to the fitness center and the indoor / outdoor pools.

This property might be starting to show it's age. At different points during the week, several of the swimming pools and the outdoor sprinklers were off-line or unavailable. On the plus side, I found that there was enough going on in the area, that I only became aware of some of these problems, when other guests mentioned them.

This Memorial Day weekend, Civil War re-enactors in period costumes, commemorated the 150th anniversary of the beginning of the Civil War. For history buffs, 2012 Virginia breaths new life into one of nation's living museums :-).

Room Tip: Anything within easy walking distance of the guest house / recreation center is a good room. The lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lutillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just came back from our trip to Williamsburgh. We stayed at the Wyndham Governor's Green and were very pleased. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom deluxe suite because they oversold the one bedroom suites. The unit was beautiful. It was immaculately clean and had all of the ammenities of home. The kids loved having their own beds in their own room along with their own bathroom....and we loved that too. It was modern and updated with all new appliances and kitchen utensils. I was worried reading the previous reviews about the staff wanting us to attend a talk about timeshares. We were not asked a single time to attend anything and we were very happy about that. The pool was closed for cleaning one day, so they allowed families to use the "adults only" pool which was very accomodating. It was nice that they had a miniature golf course for the kids to enjoy too. My one minor complaint was that our room keys were de-activated about 8:30 a.m. when check out was at 10:00. We had them reactivate one of the keys and it still did not work. A staff member was nice enough to open our door for us. Other than that little annoyance, the place was perfect and we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caicos2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was the 1st time we had stayed at Governors Green, we had the tour of the facility in 2011 and we liked the look of it. Booking in was good and as we had driven for quite a few hours to get there, they did not keep us too long. We had a 1 bedroom deluxe(jacuzzi bath) and it was very spacious. I thought the counter tops in the kitchen could have been better( granite perhaps). The shower had nowhere to put your body wash or handsoap or shampoo while you were showering, I've never seen that any where we've stayed!!. I must mention the sales pitch, we went along truthfully for the $70 Amex Card , our initial rep. Sheila was a very nice young lady, she was very engaging and knowledgeable. We found a big difference in the sales pitch from last year, this time they tried to tell us that RCI (Who Wyndham owns) is not the best organization to be a member of, they tried to get us to move over to wyndham. As I said our rep. Sheila was very nice and after she was finished she brought one of the more experienced reps. over to our table. He was very agressive and would not take no for an answer, we kept telling him over and over we were not interested but he didn't want to know. This is the last time we will go to the "Breakfast meeting" ever again. The $70 gift card was not worth the hassle. As for the Resort we were happy with our unit, building #24 on the second floor, we did not hear anybody above us. If we ever go back to Williamsburg we will go back to Patriots Place.

Room Tip: If you get a unit in Building #24 get one on either the 2nd or 3rd floor. It's also near to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank edinburgh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Well when I give my rating of a four it is because of my overall experience in Williamsburg. We had a total blast going to Busch Gardens as we have for the past 15 years.

Our room was extremely spacious and very clean. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo that we rented through RCI. I was extremely excited to get a 3 bedroom as I have 4 kids and usually someone always ends up sleeping on the sofa. If you can rent a 3 bedroom it is definitely worth it. The kitchen was really my only disappointment. It looked extremely dated, not dirty, just dated. The island was old and the dishwasher was extremely old. The kitchen sink had a slow drip that just became a little annoying. When I think 5 star resort I expect granite and modern appliances but oh well...

Overall I must say it was still a very comfortable room. The resort did not offer very much to do at all. It was very laid back. Like I said earlier our intentions were really to spend majority of our time in Busch Gardens.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids make sure you check out things on the internet to do in the area that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank winstontribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlefield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

I would give this resort a 4.5 if that were an available option. We stayed in a 2 bath 2 bedroom for a week. Check-in was easy and following the advice of another reviewer I opted out of the free breakfast and gift (aka sales pitch). They did not bother us the remainder of our stay. I also requested a 3rd floir room so didnt experience the noise others complained about (although i do feel bad for the people beliw us!) The rooms were a bit dated but very, very spacious. The kitchen was very well equipped (best I've seen yet) and the beds were quite comfortable. I wished they had provided a laundry basket and I didn't like that the washer and dryer were in the bathroom of bedroom #2 (we traveled with another family and I often felt like I was imposing on their space to do laundry). Water pressure was lacking a bit in the shower but at the end of the day I got clean. We were in a building toward the back of the resort and it was only a five minute walk to the pool area. Nice outdoor pool but too cold for us to go in. I did feel like the resort amenities were lacking a bit. The playscape near the main recreation center was closed all week to repair a fence. The other playscape, mini golf and adult pool required a drive (or very long walk) so we didn't end up there. Also, there are mo grills. Location was perfect. Lots of restaurants in the area, and prime distance to outlets, Busch gardens, Yorktown and Jamestown. The only other comparison I can make is about the balcony--wish it was big enough for a table to play cards at night. Didn't use it as much as i had hoped. But overall a very good stay and I would definately consider staying here again if we ever return to the area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colbs714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

As a Gold VIP Member my family booked 3 - 3 bedroom suits next to each other. Upon arrival Wyndham had given one of the suites to another person (Gold VIP has reservations rights) and tried to book one of the families in a building 5 buildings away from the other two. We finally ended up with two suites in one building and one suite in a building next to it. Additionally there was no VIP check in and we had to wait a long time. Upon complaining to the manager he said he was not present and units did not get cleaned so our reservation was moved. He offered a token gift and refused my counteroffer of what he should do to compensate us for their screw up. He said people were being disciplined for the problem but it sounds like a management problem to me. Units were spacious and well laid out. However they were in need of some new furniture and bathroom grout was missing and the bathroom walls showed water damage. Third and last time at a Wyndham in Williamsburg,

Room Tip: Do not count on Wyndham Governors Green to honor a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hawaiiowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
#16 of 73 in Williamsburg
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#22 of 73 in Williamsburg
980 reviews
4.8 mi away
Greensprings Vacation Resort
Greensprings Vacation Resort
#36 of 73 in Williamsburg
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Property: Wyndham Governor's Green
Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelUp, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing