We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Vacations are All About”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Governor's Green
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What Vacations are All About”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Rented two 2-bedroom suites for the family and everyone was very satisfied with this resort. The suites were large, very clean, and comfortable. Free wifi is available within the resort and suites. We were fortunate to have the first level so it was convenient for loading and unloading especially with children and groceries in tow. There were families of ducklings roaming the property so it was fun getting acquainted with the local fauna.
The facilities were very clean and kid friendly as well. The kids enjoyed the outdoor pool and mini golf while some of the adults can have time on their own in an adults only pool area. An indoor pool is available also for those who are tired of the sweltering sun.
The staff were friendly and helpful on suggesting local restaurants and attractions. They even offered coupons and discounts to Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg, which we gladly took advantage of.
Location was excellent! WalMart and Colonial Williamsburg were less than 10 minutes drive. Busch Gardens and Water Country less than 15 minutes. Premium Outlets and general souvenir shops also less than 10 minutes. Don't forget to pick up area map at the front desk. Definitely plenty of things to see and do for the whole family.
The resort offered just what we needed as a family to share great times, fun, and relaxation without worrying about the cleanliness or compromising comfort. That's what vacations are all about!

Room Tip: From experience, request for 3rd floor if you get easily annoyed with heavy footsteps from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatnlParkFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    159
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
236
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Kind of nice, good service at front desk... BUT... Avoid Wyndham properties, owner updates are sales pitches, they don't care for you financial well being, they want yuor money, their time share is enslavement. stayed at this resort twice, both times there was mold in the spray hose on the kitchen sink.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ButlerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in a three bedroom condo. This condo was spacious and bright. Some of the other condos in Williamsburg are dark inside. We were very happy with our unit. The master bedroom had a king size bed, I think the other bedroom did also, and one bedroom had two queens. The unit also had a pull out couch. The living room was spacious and open. We enjoyed the free putt-putt golf course they had on the property. I would definitely go back. There are three floors in this condo, so call ahead if you want the ground floor. They were happy to assign me a room on the ground level. I think they pre-assign the rooms here about two weeks before your check-in date, so call before then.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Likes: The resort was really nice. The condo was pretty roomy especially the master bathroom. Nice size pantries, living and dining room. Great View of the Pond off the Balcony. The staff were great - no complaints there. Nice pool area, tennis court and mini golf.

Dislikes: The path walking from condo to Activity Center was dark - no lights. The master bed was just slightly uncomfortable. Didn't like the washer and dryer in the master bathroom (still it was pretty good size). Not enough activities for teenagers at least my teenagers. At other resorts they have a DJ playing by the pool and my kids really enjoy that. Paying $2.00 for a movie rental when you can get it for a $1.00 at Redbox at the Wal-Mart down the street. My pet peeve - scared of spiders and trust me it was plenty hanging around outside the Condo - THANK GOD THEY WERE NOT INSIDE.

Conclusion: All in all, it really is a nice resort. If we come back to Williamsburg, we will return back to Governors Green. But, we will bring our own movies and game consoles. We are timeshare owners and we WERE NOT pushed. Yes, we did attend a presentation but Keith (?) one of the account managers for VIP was excellent. NO ONE WAS PUSHY and that is a plus.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom Condos are Nice but they do have 3 and Presidentials
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlessedRRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed at Governor's Green from July 23-30 with my family of six. Had a spacious two bedroom unit on the third floor in building 26. We arrived prior to 4 and our unit was available. Asked us to listen to the sales pitch but we declined since my mother who was with us is a Wyndham owner. They called two other times on our unit phone probably to ask us again but we did not answer and they did not leave any messages. My mother asked for an updated book but they would not give it to her unless she went to the sales center, waited 10 minutes, then signed for it. (They said it was a "gift"). Anyway, the resort was very clean, large, and contained brand new kitchen supplies and appliances. I don't know if this unit was recently renovated but everything seemed new. The bathroom is enormous, contains two separate rooms, and was very nicely tiled.
The pools were nice, but usually crowded. If you don't have young children, I recommend going to the adults only pool. It is very quiet, has nice patio furniture, and you can bring refreshments there. The main pool was large but usually filled with children and did not allow any food. I did not see any activities at all going on the week we were there. Whether they held them inside or not, I do not know. The week was very hot with temperatures above 100 most days so maybe the activities were cancelled.
The resort is close to all major attractions and Route 60 which makes everything very easily accessible. We enjoyed the Williamsburg Bounce pass, the Premium outlets, Captain George's Seafood, Yorktowne Riverfront area, the Yankee Candle Store, and the Williamsburg WInery. We were never at a loss for things to do.
Overall, it was a wonderful week and I would not hesitate to book again. And, we probably will!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auburn ny
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Not really, but made you look! Second stay for us at this location. 1711 is a 2 bedroom suite. Everything was in excellent, clean condition (latch on sliding bathroom door didn’t function - only real exception). Shower heads were disappointing - standard, not very adjustable, would have expected better considering the rest of the place.
Grounds are beautiful, extremely well kept. 3 pools including adults only that never had more than 6 people in the entire pool area. At least 6 computers in Computer Room, daily activities; restaurants, groceries within short driving distances.
The room, while not haunted, did have some uninvited guests. 1711 is ground floor - not sure it made a difference, but we had some very large spiders in our room (found at least 2 every day). If anyone in neighboring rooms wondered what the odd noise was coming from our room, it was me, a 57 year old guy, shrieking whenever a spider appeared! Speaking of neighboring rooms: poor sound insulation between floors. There was either a circus or a family with several active kids above us. We didn’t complain, and noise doesn’t generally bother me, but we had our 2 yr old granddaughter with us, and the noise kept up most nights until around 11PM. I did call the front desk to mention someone above us throwing a bucket of popcorn in front of our outdoor seating area (2 chairs on a concrete slab) only because I didn’t want to be blamed. The popcorn did help to attract ducks and geese to our patio, which our granddaughter enjoyed.
GG provides all kitchen items you’d need, towels, washer/dryer. What I liked best was the peaceful surroundings; only dislike was the spiders, a problem which lessened after we bought spider spray.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kickerAuburnNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were 7, grandparents, son and daughter-in-law and 3 grandkids (7,9,14). From the outside the place looks great! Once inside our 3 bedroom 2 bath I was disappointed. The space was great. My husband and I took the room on the one side, giving the 2 rooms together to the rest of the family. Our master bath was HUGE. My issue was the wear and tear on the furniture, carpet and the bed sheets were pilly. I slept with the beach towels we brought with us. The dishwasher door would not go down all the way, thereby making it difficult to load it., The kitchen sink faucet top came off. The stainless sweep on the front door was completely bent, bugs were getting in at night.
The good news is that whenever we called about something to the desk, within minutes someone we there to fix, repair or research our issue. The staff was terrific! Best thing they have going for the place.
I found out later that they are in the process of updating some of the rooms unfortunately the unit were were in had not been updated yet.
It was close to everything. We were able to spend days in colonial wiliiamsburg, then at night go to Busch Gardens. We drove to Jamestown and Yorktown. It was a terrific location.

Room Tip: Ask for the most updated/renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdiuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
#16 of 73 in Williamsburg
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#22 of 73 in Williamsburg
980 reviews
4.8 mi away
Greensprings Vacation Resort
Greensprings Vacation Resort
#36 of 73 in Williamsburg
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Property: Wyndham Governor's Green
Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing