We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do try to go cheap here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Williamsburg KOA Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Cheyenne Wells, Colorado
1 review
“Do try to go cheap here!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This campground may have nice campsites if you pay the high range, but if you are trying to save money...try somewhere else. Their "Classic" sites are a glorified gravel pit. Not level, picnic tables tilting, fire ring about 25 feet from the table. It was the worst $50 campsite I can even imagine, much less have to pay for. If you pay the bigger and I mean bigger bucks, you might get a somewhat nicer site, but I doubt it. This place is not well kept up. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing about your experience. We are sorry to hear you were displeased with your site! We are happy to find an alternative, more suitable site for guests who are displeased with their spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    76
    27
    14
    11
See reviews for
195
60
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our Cub Scout pack drove down from the Richmond area to camp here for a weekend in October. The reservation process for our group was very easy. They give a special rate to Scout groups, which is nice. The staff -- especially Teddy and Peter -- were helpful and very cheerful. We stayed in tent sites, which were fine. The bathrooms/showers were very clean. The entire campground was in excellent repair and very pleasantly decorated. They had all sorts of fun activities lined up for campers, such as trick-or-treating and a movie under the stars. All very family friendly. The camp office/store was well stocked. (One of our parents forgot their tent and bought one there!) The boys -- and the adults -- loved the bounce pillows. We will definitely add this to our list of good places to camp.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We love the Scouts! Thanks for bringing the pack, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again, as we’re always planning events to keep your stay fun and active.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 glorious fall days visiting the historic sights and special events at Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown. We then spent 2 additional days visiting the lighthouses of the Chesapeake Bay Area and Virginia Beach. We found this campground to be very convenient, shaded, and peaceful...a perfect launch point for all these adventures. KOA staff was friendly and very helpful. Fall is obviously not their peak season, but this campground certainly met our needs (4 adults in a 38' RV, with a tow car.) The evening campfires under the stars made for a calm end to busy, busy days.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TN-AlandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing about your trip! We are lucky to be located in an area that is both beautiful and rich with history. Please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We camp here every year and have always had a good experience. The staff is friendly and the facility is great for families! My children love the jumping pillow and the pool. We like to stay here because it is so close to Busch Gardens. This is the best campground in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whittjre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are so glad you are able to enjoy all the activities available both on and off site! We love maintaining a fun and family-friendly atmosphere, and appreciate your sharing about your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyertown,pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

stayed for 4 days and did the whole williamsburg thing...the place is centrally located to all the attractions.....property was clean sites where nice easy to get into ....pool was clean and big enough to enjoy...planning on going back next year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stetbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you were able to enjoy both our campgrounds and the local attractions (so much to do in this area!). We look forward to your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

if you want to see Jamestown and Williamsburg this is the place for you. the campground is an average KOA with tons of sites. the kids had lots of fun on the to jumpy pillows, A nice large clean pool. we enjoyed our stay, we would have stayed longer but the wifi was below sub-standard.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l5adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay! We are glad your family enjoyed the amenities at the site. We are upgrading the wifi to eliminate any issues with spotty connections. We hope you’ll be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe cabin which is advertised on their website and in their pamphlets at the site as having a "full kitchen"... A microwave and a toaster with an outdoor grill is all they have. No "full kitchen" very difficult to cook the food we brought with. I even called proir to making my reservation and asked about the "full kitchen" no one informed me that thry didnt have this option but advertised that they did. False and misleading advertising. This KOA was in a beautiful and well placed location. Close to amenities and many activities. Which is fortunate since this KOA has little to do for families with children but use the pool and jump pad which both open late (10am) and close too early (8 pm). The pool could easily stay open till 9 pm. There wasn't activities or events for families and kids as other KOAs have. A weekly newsletter given at check in with events/activities wound be helpful. An upgraded play area with a new park/swingset would also be beneficial. The advertised wifi NEVER worked. We were dissatisfied and disappointed. Felt like a depressing place to visit and stay. Not fun as advertised.
They also ask you to sweep up your own cabin but we weren't supplied with a dustpan?!? We ended up cleaning floor with a paper towel and found things from the past occupants that apparently hadn't been cleaned by them or the staff. Feel bad saying this but I wouldn't return or recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charming98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance and expressing your disappointments and suggestions for better service. We apologize for the confusion you experienced regarding the cabin and the difficulties you had connecting to the wifi. We do our best to accommodate our guests with our activities and hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
5.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
6.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.0 mi away
Anvil Campground
Anvil Campground
#2 of 9 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.8 mi away
Williamsburg RV & Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg KOA Campground

Property: Williamsburg KOA Campground
Address: 4000 Newman Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Williamsburg KOA Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founders and Presidents Award Winner for Guest Service! 2016 Ratings Facilities 10.0 Restrooms 10.0 Appeal 10.0 Best Wi-Fi in town! Located in Virginia's Historic Triangle, our KOA is minutes away from Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, Busch Gardens, Water Country, great shopping, and more. History, fun, and relaxation meet at our quiet 180 acre campground for a great camping experience! Enjoy free cable, free Wi-Fi, heated pool, Splash Pad, Jumping Pillow, beautiful nature trails, Gem Mining, themed weekends, and Kamp K9 for your furry friend. Get back to nature, relax, unwind, and camp out in comfort. For an easy getaway, try one of our Camping Cabins or Deluxe Cabins with linens. For your convenience, discount attraction tickets are sold at the Camp Store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Williamsburg KOA Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Koa Campground Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing