We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, slow service ”

King's Arms Tavern Dining-Colonial Williamsburg
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 10/19
8:00 PM
Ranked #43 of 451 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Originally opened by Jane Vobe in 1772, this authentic reproduction public house serves up a transporting experience for the senses in Colonial Williamsburg. Everything is true to the time period at King’s Arms Tavern, from the fashion sported by servers to the pewter candlesticks—all adding to an air of colonial elegance. Inspired by 18th-century recipes, but with updates to suit 21st-century tastes, tuck in to a chophouse menu featuring prime rib, pork chops, and more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were told that a dinner at a Tavern was a must while in Williamsburg. We made reservations here for our first night in Williamsburg because I read about how good the peanut soup was. However, we were tired from the driving and wanting more of a quick meal. This wasn’t quick at all, we waited a long time for our entrees. The peanut soup wasn’t very impressive, kind of like watered down warm peanut butter. Entree food was good though. Besides the lack of lights (candlelight only) and servers dressed in colonial garb, there wasn’t a whole lot of “colonial” about it.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank fitlifepursuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had another great meal here. Game Pye was sensational as usual. Prime rib cooked perfectly. Just a gray time.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The atmosphere and service was great. However, the food was overpriced for what you received. The quality of the food was average at best.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There were 34 of us but they did not miss a beat. Service was excellent with food nicely prepared and presented. The entire experience was excellent. We had our own room in this lovely historic tavern. I've eaten here before and was pleased but never anticipated such excellence with a large group. Top notch.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eyesbblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent most of the morning walking down Gloucester St and worked an appetite so we decided to try one of the taverns in the area. We went to the King’s Arms Tavern and were treated to an authentic meal in colonial America. I got the chicken pot pie and my sister got fried chicken and we were both greatly pleased with our choices! We recommend both entrees. The colonial atmosphere down to the dresses of wait staff and table settings made ya feel like you were there back in the day!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank C1200DBmikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Arms Tavern Dining-Colonial Williamsburg also viewed

 

Been to King's Arms Tavern Dining-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing