We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, very atmospheric, a bit pricey.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Arms Tavern Dining-Colonial Williamsburg

King's Arms Tavern Dining-Colonial Williamsburg
Reserve with OpenTable
King's Arms Tavern Dining-Colonial Williamsburg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 381 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Lunch: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner beginning at 5pm; CLOSED Tuesday & Wednesday
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, very atmospheric, a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The King's Arms was a very enjoyable experience. A very interesting menu, served in a beautiful setting. The period setting, attire of the staff, and reliance on candlelight were all very atmospheric and a great deal of fun. The prices seemed a bit high, but you pay for both the food and the atmosphere. I'd recommend it as part of your visit to Colonial Williamsburg. Reservations highly recommended, especially on the weekend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ofamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    618
    261
    96
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dont order the fatty Prime rib”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Setting is very nice, romantic, candle light. The reason they do the candle light is so you can not see how much FAT is on the prime rib. Mine was more than half, every bite I had to spit out, not good. So I asked my server to please bring it back to the kitchen and have them look at it and cut out the fat for me, figuring any good resturant would have seen how bad the cut was and gave me another one. When I got it back it was half the size and still had fat thru it. I then proceeded to tell the greeter at the door about my fatty Prime rib, and her reply was that they buy it in bulk and thats how it comes in !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I found out later that my friend saw the waiter cutting my meat, and that he never brought it back to the kitchen as I asked.How gross that the server was handling my meal. I was still hungry after my meal. What I did get to eat was tasty, the gravy nice, and the popover light and airy. The veggies were good. My friends meals were wonderful, The chicken was tasty, the porkchop tender with a sweet sauce.
They all ordered dessert, I did not because at that point I had given up, and was not enticed by anything. When they were all done with their dessert, we were waiting around for the check and the waiter than asked if they could make it up to me with a dessert! At that point I was so annoyed we paid the check and left. The prime rib was $33.75 and not worth it. They say in the ad they treat you like a king, but the prime rib was for the dogs!
The music was nice, wish they had more.

By the way we went to have a drink, snack in the afternoon, and waited about 10 minutes and no one ever seated us so we left.
Have eaten at other Williamsburg historic places and this one by far is not up to standards.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Isn't what it used to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My daughter and her friend had lunch at the tavern as we have in years past. The food was average and even the ambience was average. It just isn't what it used to be and it's way too expensive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank masttrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go for the experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

While the experience of eating in a retored tavern by candle light is worth the trip, the menu has become limited and exensive for a family. Be sure to get reservations for busy times.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Yummy Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had lunch here during Labor Day weekend. It was one of the first times we had lunch in a tavern as we usually do dinner. It was a nice change of pace. Food was delicious and will definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank merlemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Arms Tavern Dining-Colonial Williamsburg also viewed

 

Been to King's Arms Tavern Dining-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing