We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kitchen At Powhatan Plantation - CLOSED

Kitchen At Powhatan Plantation
Price range: $1 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wine Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have been eating at the Kitchen for years and found it to be excellent. This year we tried the Thursday night "wine-dinner". It is a preseleected menu with wines to match. The peanut soup was different and good; I don't think that should have been the offering with people having problems with preanuts. The salad was great. Pork shank was overpowered by the bacon covering. The sorbet was unusual and good. At $65 pp, I guess it was a resaonable value.

I think next year we will skip the wine dinner and go on a weekend night and order off the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    37
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good eats and specials”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had several meals at the Grill at Powhatan Resort - daily specials, rib night, fish and chip night - both very good and well prepared. Most enjoyable time spent here!! Thanks Ben and the rest of the staff that served us.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Floozie_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The wings were delicious and the steak was very good. They sent out the wrong meal but the right entree came not far after. They did forget to seat us but we eventually got a table. Prices average and the location is convenient/

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Convenient location & Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Grill is conveniently located if you are staying on the Powhatan Resort as we were. We enjoyed their breakfast buffet with Martha Washington. This little lady was in characterand did a good job staying in character and telling stories of her life with George. The buffet was plentiful and offered biscuits, pancakes, eggs, grits, gravy, potatoes, bacon, ham, and fruits & pastries. The price was $10.95 per person. Very good food and entertaining!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lwooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond Du Lac
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grille at Powhatan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had breakfast buffet and dinner here, twice. The breakfast buffet was good and the dinner was very good. I would go again. Service was excellent. Staff was very friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing