We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't leave hungry”

Rocco's Smokehouse Grill
Ranked #40 of 394 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Huge portions of good food. 2 of us had the ribs and I had the veggie burger which was quite good. Friendly service and right across the street from several hotels.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Discobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    290
    133
    60
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“More hype than food”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The food was just okay. Not a lot of bbq flavor and portions were just average. Our waitress was subpar, never bringing us our cornbread or sauce. There are other places that have better bbq!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice finish to our Williamsburg visit”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband chose Rocco's for our last dinner out for our Williamsburg vacation. He was delighted and I was pleasantly surprised.
The wait staff was super and the food delicious. He is still talking about the huge bowl of chili that was big enough for a whole dinner by itself. We will definitely return on our next trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wariness unfounded”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

When we arrived we were very skeptical at first glance. The atmosphere and surroundings are nothing special and honestly even put us off a bit (big center bar, not the nicest tables etc.). We gave it a try anyway and were glad we did. The ribs were meaty and delicious, not fatty or greasy. They are just as good without sauce and a rack is more than enough to satisfy two. Our cornbread was hot and moist and the beans were tasty. We must have been there at an off time as one poor girl was serving as hostess, waitress, table cleaner and cashier all by herself. It made for a few temporary delays but they were minimal and she kept in good spirits and was friendly and warm despite being pulled in so many directions. It is not a fancy place but had good food in good portions at a fair price. They also (as many area restaurants do) offer coupons in the travel books which helps us all. The restaurant is also attached to a charming Christmas shop which made for a nice stroll after your meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestThoughtsInJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sad but true”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Unfortunately, this place is attached to one of the delightful shops we visit annually, in coming to Williamsburg to Christmas Shop for special gifts. we were a party of three. Not many people there. Manager was walking around introducing himself to all people in a business suit. Did not have the suit, have no problem with paying for good food when deserved. Ignored by waitress. My advice is if you are dressed for the opera go but food not that spectacular. In my college days was a waitress and learned the waitress earns her income, usually my husband and I pay 25 percent and get wonderful service. This one didnt. Had to cattle call to get refills and assist. Food nor manager not worth the price. The worth in the price was learning not to go back. Sad but true

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocco's Smokehouse Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rocco's Smokehouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing