We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just so/so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
A TripAdvisor Member
“just so/so”
Reviewed November 28, 2005

We just got back from here (Thanksgiving week) and had quite a few problems. It is for sure not a 5 star resort at all! We had traded through Interval and expected a unit with a full kitchen, and brought Thanksgiving dinner including a 16 lb. turkey. Our first unit (39B) had a little kitchenette, no VCR or DVD player, the fireplace didn't work, unit was dirty and needed maintenece in several areas. When we called, we didn't get good satisfaction even after calling Interval. We were told there were no units available aywhere within a 60 mile radius. PLUS, we discovered our unit was above the model and so from 9 a.m. on, there was a solid stream of people going in and out of our building and talking very loudly and slamming doors...not cool! The next day finally we got a pair of decent front desk employees who arranged for us to move to another unit with a kitchen. Less issues except cleanliness of bathrooms and rugs.

Our unit was ok, but we had horrible trouble with one of the sales staffers who was rude, nasty and wasted an entire morning of our time. We signed up to do the '40 minute survey comparing our home resort with this one". We knew it would be a sales pitch but were very prepared as our home resort truly IS a 5 star, amenity-loaded place and couldn't be compared at all. Like most, we wanted the free goodies they were dangling. The details don't matter but I ended up screaming at the top of my lungs at this rude woman (and I am NOT a screamer by nature)and had to demand to get what they had offered us despite the fact that we had met all of the requirements. Avoid this unless you like being treated poorly!!

We were also bummed that the hot tub in the pool area was unavailable the first day and the staff was very weak in handling our questions about when it would be available.

SO...tips here are that make SURE you get a unit with the amenities you want as there is a wide variety of units, don't allow yourself to be manipulated by the sales staff and just know that this is more like a 3 1/2 star place, and you'll be fine.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    313
    189
    83
    67
See reviews for
459
217
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 16, 2005

My husband and I went on a getaway to the Williamsburg Plantation mid September. We were very pleased with our accomodations which was comfortable and clean. The weather was exceptionally warm so we were able to enjoy the beautiful, well kept outdoor pool. Towels for pool use were in the closet in the condo. The indoor aqua center was still under construction but it looked like it will be a great place to spend time in inclement weather. We don't play tennis but did note that there were 2 outdoor courts. The was plenty to do and see within a short car ride and directions were readily availabe at the desk. Employees were very accomodating and willing to go the extra mile for you. We enjoyed our stay so much that we bought a time share so that we could bring our children and grandchildren down.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 17, 2005

We used two getaways through Interval. Our accomodations were very nice, and everyone was satisfied. We were traveling with 8 adults. I requested a first floor unit because of health reasons for one of the units. They were very accomodating. We enjoyed our stay in Williamsburg and all the historic attractions.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 9, 2005

My husband and I got to the Williamsburg Plantation on friday 10/7/05 @5:30 check in was fast unknown to us we were supposed to stay in a local motel, but they upgraded us to the resort w/a jacuzzi, we had a great time. They told us about great places to eat and even gave us maps to get there(CAPTIN GEORGE). It rained all weekend but we found lots to do. Great pub next door w/great music (J.M.RANDALLS). We purchased a time share and will be back next year. Great get away! THANKS!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2005

Not once but twice they lost our reservations. They then put us up in another local motel, when they said there were no more rooms. It cost me the same for a lower grade motel. I will never think of staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 18, 2005

We just returned from our stay at Williamsburg Plantation, we are new owners at the resort and this was our first stay with them. It was wonderful!!! I was worried after reading all the bad reviews,but I think the ones that gave the bad review would be hard to please no matter where they went. Our check in was speedy, the condo was very clean, and it was gorgeous!!! We had 2 bedrooms, with 2 FULL bathrooms, it was spacious and no one was crowded. The pool was very clean! We were sorry that the indoor pool was under construction, but we probably wouldn't have used it anyway since the weather was beautiful. Our son got to choose his own FREE movie every evening, and if he wanted to watch something other than what we were watching he had his own TV in his bedroom, as did we. Not to mention the 35" TV in the living room. Patio was a little small,but still a delight. There may not be alot to do right on sight, but the area has so much to do, not to mention Virginia Beach is only a 40 minute drive. Williamsburg Plantation is a wonderful place to go. We have already decided to return next year, instead of going somewhere else!! Thanks a million!!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 6, 2005

My family and I stayed at the Williamsburg Plantation Sept. 3-6, 2005 and we loved it! I was a little concerned at first after reading some of the reviews about it but there was absolutely no worries. Our condo was a two bedroom with a full kitchen. It was clean and had all the amenities of home. We had a TV/Cable in each bedroom (a plus) as well as the living room. We loved the little playground on the backside of our condo. Our kids came and went as they pleased and we were still able to watch them while they played outside from inside. The pool was very nice and clean. Everything is within a ten minute distance. All the shopping/outlets/Busch Gardens. The staff was courteous and any thing we asked for we received. Overall, it was a great place to stay and we can't wait to come back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
6.6 mi away
King's Creek Plantation Resort
King's Creek Plantation Resort
#16 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.6 mi away
The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Plantation Resort

Property: Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Address: 4870 Longhill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1571
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg, Virginia, a town synonymous with American history, is the perfect location for fun-filled family vacationing. At Williamsburg Plantation Resort you are just minutes from the historical sites of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Settlement, Yorktown Battlefield and Yorktown Victory center. Also nearby are two award-winning theme parks - Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA. Spread out over 78 acres, the Resort features indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools and a host of other amenities including an on-site Spa designed to enrich your stay in one of America's favorite vacation destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Williamsburg Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Plantation Resort Williamsburg
Plantation Williamsburg
Williamsburg Plantation Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing