We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation, plenty of room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family Vacation, plenty of room!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our family of four, two boys under the age of 9 traveled for the holiday weekend to Williamsburg. This was perfect for our family! Completely stocked kitchen with microwave and full size fridge. Two seperate rooms with their own bathrooms made it easy for us to get ready in the morning. I would recommend especially for families! So much better than a standard hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
First impressions are lasting and we’re glad to know that our resort made a great impression on you! Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming your family back to Williamsburg Plantation Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    319
    193
    84
    69
See reviews for
468
222
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Our family of five ladies stayed at this wonderful resort the first week of December. I booked a 2 room King/queen unit. When we arrived we found that it was a 2nd floor unit. With two ladies over 80 years old that was going to be rough. The desk clerk offered and found a unit on the ground floor for us that was a two bedroom queen/queen with a queen sleeper sofa, no problem with that. The unit was huge, more than enough for us all to be comfortable and furnished nicely. Not knowing what small amenities to expect we took a lot of stuff but everything was there, dish soap, dishwasher soap, coffee and filters, dish towels and paper towels. We had a full kitchen and fireplace that we made use of by purchasing a few Dura logs so that we had a fire each evening. That price was amazing and we enjoyed every moment. We would stay here again if we decide to revisit Williamsburg.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your 5-star recommendation! We take great pride in the services that are offered for our guests and we’re so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Your detailed comments on your stay will surely help future travelers get the most out of their own Williamsburg vacation. Thank you again for your kind words about Williamsburg Plantation Resort and we hope you visit our lovely city again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We exchanged a "getaway" week for just a weekend at the Plantation rather than lose it entirely. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable furnishings and two separate bedroom areas. The "negatives" were a double bed in the second guest room and furniture that is not as new as other similar condos we are used to staying in. Overall a pleasant stay, but not our first (or even second) choice in the Williamsburg area.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated section when you book your room since some areas are much newer than ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbushey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate it when guests take the time to share because it assists us in our endeavors towards achieving consistent, caring and excellent service standards. We’re sorry we weren’t able to meet all of your expectations during your stay. We feel we offer a great value for those visiting Historic Williamsburg. We hope you'll allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations and stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went for a quiet vacation away. I thought this place was really nice. The room was very colonial, but that is what I would expect for that location. We had a few issues with the gas fireplace, but the came and fixed it right away. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The only thing was the bathroom tile in the shower could use some "work". But I was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews. I would recommend visiting to others. I do agree with that the Internet not being there is kind of a bummer!!! They really should reconsider that. But I did do the one you pay for and had no issue at all.

Room Tip: We were in a unit in the back right side..nice, no one behind us or around..quiet and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHGirlathrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We appreciate the review of your recent visit to Williamsburg Plantation Resort. We’re excited that you were pleasantly surprised and that you found our team members helpful. We want to provide our guests with a memorable experience so please know your comments regarding opportunities for improvement have been noted and shared with the staff. We would love the opportunity to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Pa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I were on a five week trip using Getaways from Interval International. While this condo was fine overall, it fell short when compared with the others we stayed at. It was very clean, but could have used some updating. The condo community itself is like a housing development. It does not represent "the look" of Williamsburg, plus landscaping is minimal.

The condo was very large, but the kitchen was tiny, and had little counter space, so it would be hard to ccok a meal if you chose to do so. We were there Thanksgiving week, and they left a aluminum turkey pan for you to use. That was a really nice touch.

We took the timeshare tour. It included a nice lunch. What was so different about their tours was they sent you to a restaurant with a voucher first, and then you returned for the tour. You could also select a gift your choosing when the tour was completed.

While the tour was only supposed to be 90 minutes, it turned out to be much longer. We actually saw four different sales people. Each time we rejected an offer, we would get another salesman to sweeten the pot. They were all very professional, and did not exert undue pressure until we met the last one who seemed very annoyed that we were receiving the $100 restaurant gift card, and had not purchased anything.

The price here was very reasonable, and I would not hesitate to stay again if I was in the area. I think it just suffered when compared to many of the other resorts we have visited.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maclinda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We’re thankful that overall you enjoyed your stay, but we’re sorry that our decor and service failed to meet your expectations. It’s our goal to offer a great travel experience at affordable prices for our guests and we appreciate your comments as these observations can only help us to improve our resort. We look forward to your return to Williamsburg so that we may have another opportunity to give you the best vacation experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Even though it was off season, there was a lot to see and do in Williamsburg. We enjoyed visiting Colonial Williamsburg, Historic Jamestown, and took the free ferry across the James River to Surry County to visit Chippokes Plantation State Park and Bacon's Castle. The Williamsburg Plantation is convenient, clean, well maintained, up-to-date and comfortable with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review on Williamsburg Plantation Resort that you have shared with the readers on tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to recommend our resort to others and we hope that we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed in November, would hate to be there in the summer when it was crowded. Units are fine but dark and lighting isn't good. Temperature of indoor pool was OK first day, cold the second, even colder the third and they must have adjusted because it was actually warm on the fourth. They should install a hair dryer in the changing rooms because going out in the cold air with wet hair does not feel good. Never did see cups in the water cooler. Was enthusiastic about the calendar of activities for my granddaughter. Monday was great - had several options and could two of each option. It was downhill from then on until on the third day she was given a door hanger and foam stickers to apply which took all of two minutes - that's an activity? I would not stay here again in part because of their internet charges. Their "computer center" is a joke. I think four computers with ridiculously slow speeds and a 15 minute time limit. They claim they are a "green" resort. I recycle a lot at home and attempted to do the same at the resort until I found they had one recycling bin nowhere near our unit. If they are serious they need to make it more convenient. One good comment. Was trying to watch a football game on Thanksgiving Day but the audio was in spanish. Called up the front desk and their techs were out to help within five minutes. Took them a while to figure it out and eventually had to reboot all the channels, but they got it fixed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing the highlights of your trip with us. We’re certainly disappointed that we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. We make it a priority to provide all of our guests with exceptional accommodations and resort amenities and we’re sorry that you felt we fell short in these areas. We would very much like the opportunity to have you as a guest again at our resort but understand if you choose not to. Thank you again for your feedback as it does not go unnoticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
2.1 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
3.7 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.6 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Plantation Resort

Property: Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Address: 4870 Longhill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1571
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg, Virginia, a town synonymous with American history, is the perfect location for fun-filled family vacationing. At Williamsburg Plantation Resort you are just minutes from the historical sites of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Settlement, Yorktown Battlefield and Yorktown Victory center. Also nearby are two award-winning theme parks - Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA. Spread out over 78 acres, the Resort features indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools and a host of other amenities including an on-site Spa designed to enrich your stay in one of America's favorite vacation destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Williamsburg Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Plantation Resort Williamsburg
Plantation Williamsburg
Williamsburg Plantation Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing