We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice units and grounds, terrible "service"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our unit was fairly comfortable although only for 4, 6 would have been a nightmare. The grounds and facilities are very nice. However, service to the customers is abysmal---no maid service, except mid-week if you pay $25 and no clean towels unless you pay $6--we washed our own. Must be an American thing because timeshares we have stayed at in Asia, Africa, Europe, Mexico, and the Carribean all offer maid service. We had a long list of stuff we had to do when leaving. They say they have a concierge but this is a joke. If you go in for assistance, they'll hand you a list of numbers to call. WE had to go to the office for toilet paper or dish washing supplies. Couldn't use the spa cuz they wouldn't help, just had to phone but hours were terrible so no mani-pedi's for us. Worst of all, there is no internet service unless you pay $50. If someone asked me whether it is worth buying a timeshare I would say no, partly because of the internet issues. Gas stations, trains, coffee shops, everywhere else offers free WiFi but not these timeshares.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feds294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations during your stay. We’re dismayed to learn that you had an issue with some of our employees. We rarely receive anything but praise on our attentive and friendly staff and we’re sorry that we couldn’t provide you with the same level of hospitality. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future so that we may have another opportunity to prove that we are the best resort for a Williamsburg vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 941 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Booked a 2 Bedroom Condo for 4 Nights. Booking and check in was efficient and trouble free although the sole receptionist was rushed off her feet. The thing that did it for me the the quality of the accommodation which was everything I wanted. the only extra I would have desired was a conventional oven. Ideally placed for exploring the historic triangle. Parking plentiful and free. Wifi is available at extra cost. I had decent 3G coverage so did not need it. I did not use any of the on site facilities as I was too busy off site.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharkyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

We’re always happy to read our guest reviews because we do everything possible to insure that they have a great stay with us at Williamsburg Plantation Resort. We’re happy that you enjoyed our spacious rooms with all the comforts of home and our amazing location. We look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again the next time you’re in Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent a brilliant week at the Plantation at the start of our three week stay in the USA. We had a car and the Plantation is brilliantly located for an assault on all the outstanding attractions in Williamsburg. It really is a special place with Colonial Williamsburg at the heart. The accommodation at the Plantation is spacious and the staff are very helpful and friendly. There are numerous activities throughout the week and we were fortunate to be there on the weekend of the Annual Williamsburg Arts Festival. Outstanding arts and crafts and superb music. As a base the Plantation was perfect for our holiday and although it was not one of the best we have visited it met our needs at the time. We were drawn into a bit of a hard sell by deception but on the plus side we gained a free breakfast and little bit of spending money. After all such experiences are typical when you opt for timeshare accommodation. An enjoyable week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your favorable review and recognizing the value we offer our guests. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your time at Williamsburg Plantation Resort and that you appreciated our close proximity to Colonial Williamsburg. We hope that you return soon so that we may share our hospitality with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Chose this place as an exchange property in order to visit historical Williamsburg and the surrounding area. Upon checking in we were immediately bombarded with pressure to sign up for activities and the breakfast presentation. After numerous inquiries that the breakfast presentation was not a time share pitch we gave in. Billed as a preview of their new property with the completion of a short survey that should not take more than 45 minutes. Lies, lies lies.... From the time we checked in, we never received the full truth about anything. From the accommodations to the amenities in the room to the presentation to price for tours. It was just one lie after another.

As previously stated in other posts, the property has an apartment complex feel and the rooms are awkwardly designed. We stayed on the second floor, so no kitchen, even though we were told we would have one. Second bedroom is actually bigger than the master. Upon opening our back patio door we were greeted by freeway noise. The complex is large, so if you decide to stay make sure and do your homework. Front of property seems that it would be quieter and closer to the clubhouse and pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharkgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that we weren’t able to provide you with the exemplary customer service that we are usually known for by our guests. We never want anyone to be disappointed by our service so written confirmation of reserved room types are provided at the end of the reservation process. Since attendance is not mandatory, requirements and gift options are supplied in writing to those guests that choose to take advantage of the offered presentation. The resort features two and four bedroom floor plans. A Suites feature fully appointed kitchens that include a range. Companion B Suites have partial kitchens that include a portable electric burner in lieu of a range. Though normally purchased together by our owners, these suites are sometimes rented and exchanged separately depending on availability and price. We advise guests to upgrade their reservations to an A Suite if full kitchen amenities are desired. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and we hope you will consider staying with us again so that we may have another opportunity to exceed all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you are looking for an apartment type setting then this might be for you. The grounds are nice and covered with river birch and crepe myrtles. The indoor pool was decent and our grandchildren used up some extra energy that was very nice. The playground was helpful also. A three year old and a five year old are very energetic and getting some free play time in is always helpful between activities and outings. The grounds also have metal picnic tables and grills which I think are kinda cool for longer stays or slightly warmer weather and clearer sky's.

The "apartment/condo/timeshare" that we stayed in was the deluxe two bedroom. You will need to read the description carefully. Some of the deluxe rooms have kitchenettes; some have a microwave, frig, coffee maker, toaster, and a two burner hot plate. That was our own mistake to not pay complete attention and realize that there was not stove/oven and we managed ok without for the most part. Feeding little children that have small tummies that need feed more often in small portions is easiest with a kitchen.

The "master bedroom in the one we stayed in "183B" did have a private bath. What was odd was the second bedroom had twin beds (not expected and glad our original guest plans changed a little) however the bathroom for the second bedroom with the twin beds was what you would expect for the master bath. The fireplace was neat at first however being electric we found it was mostly for looks. The washer dryer was in the stairwell at the top for both the bottom rental and top rental to share. Everything seemed a little oddly appointed but nothing major wrong ... Just a bit weird.

The furniture, overall cleanliness, and decor were ok overall for a rental. No complaints as it was definitely in better shape then other places in this category of rentals. Deck was relaxing and I always love a deck or porch as I am one to sit read and relax a little bit.

There appeared to be several activities during the week and also a good outdoor pool for the summer and tennis courts. The activities if you were staying for a while actually looked pretty neat overall and had something for everyone who appreciate the extras when staying for a while.

I honestly like the Powhatan a little better however whichever one I get cheaper between the two will be my first choice but I will be looking for the superior two bedroom will be my choice and I will double check bed choices, fireplace, and kitchen setup.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hjpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation of Williamsburg Plantation Resort. Even though our rooms were not everything you expected, we’re happy that you were pleasantly surprised by the spacious accommodations and resort amenities. Our variety of floor plans and comforts of home we provide like washers & dryers and fireplaces help make us a favorite vacation destination for families. We hope that we may welcome you and your family back to Williamsburg the next time you’re in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice time. Morning run through the small hiking trail was great. Accommodations were far beyond what was paid. Great value. Beautiful view. Lots of room. Plenty of amenities. For $100.00 a night it was a steal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank koneil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad that you enjoyed the accommodations and beautiful resort views. We’re thankful that you appreciated the value that we offer and hope that you will think of Williamsburg Plantation Resort for all of your lodging needs the next time you visit Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I just came back from here. The grounds are beautifully kept and the rooms are very nice, giving you all you need while you are away from home. They are equipped with a living room with a fireplace for those nice romantic evenings, one or two bedrooms for others, a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi. I sometimes didn't want to leave the room. The area has plenty of things to see and do. I would definitely recommend this resort to others

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisamarie7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your recommendation of Williamsburg Plantation Resort here on tripadvisor! We’re happy that you enjoyed all the comforts of home that we offer in our spacious rooms. We’re very proud of our resort and we hope to share our hospitality with you again the next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.7 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
3.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.1 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Plantation Resort

Address: 4870 Longhill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1571
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: $131 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg, Virginia, a town synonymous with American history, is the perfect location for fun-filled family vacationing. At Williamsburg Plantation Resort you are just minutes from the historical sites of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Settlement, Yorktown Battlefield and Yorktown Victory center. Also nearby are two award-winning theme parks - Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA. Spread out over 78 acres, the Resort features indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools and a host of other amenities including an on-site Spa designed to enrich your stay in one of America's favorite vacation destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Williamsburg Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Plantation Resort Williamsburg
Plantation Williamsburg
Williamsburg Plantation Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing