We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort - Not So Lovely Internet Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family of 4 visited the Williamsburg Plantaion in March of 2013. This was our 2nd visit to the Plantation because we loved it the first time back in 2010. This time the only complaint we have is that we paid $50 for internet for the week and you are only allowed internet for one device at a time.

This was frustrating having two teens and two adults who had to take turns surfing. Also each time we switched devices, the login and password were locked and we had to spend half hour to an hour getting technical support to reset the password. For the price, the service was not up to par for internet service in our opinion at all.

Room Tip: Its a toss between weather you want a unit A to have a stove in your kitchen or unit B to have other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of your trip with us. We’re happy that you enjoyed our resort but are sorry that you found our in-room WiFi amenity lacking. We do offer complimentary internet service in the Clubhouse at the resort. We appreciate you sharing your experience and hope you stay with us again the next time you visit Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 950 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Williamsburg Plantation is well located by highway 199 at Longhill rd exit. It is a quiet area except that the room are noisy if there is someone staying below or above you. It has the very basic stuff that you would expect from a timeshare resort nothing more. The unit have old furniture and outdated. My room had a very old 50 inch TV rear projectors that must have been at the least 15 years old. ( you know the old rear projector that was about 2.5" wide ) The resort has a good gym, nice interior pool and a an extremely hot Jacuzzi. This is my second time at this resort and probably last. I usually sty at the Marriott Ford's Colony which is much nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montyofkanata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. Providing a great vacation is our top priority and we never want anyone to leave unhappy. We’re sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodations and amenities and we hope you have a better travel experience on your next trip to Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed during Spring Break and enjoyed the activities Williamsburg and the surrounding area provide. Our two-bedroom unit was spacious for 3, and we were lucky enough to not have any upstairs neighbor during our stay. The gas fireplace was a nice touch, especially since it snowed during our visit and we experienced relatively cold temperatures.
While we loved Williamsburg, Williamsburg Plantation was a disappointment. The indoor pool is tiny, not as expected from pictures. Our 8-year-old used it a couple of times in the evening after a long day out, every time the pool was packed and loud and there wasn't enough seating. WiFi is not free, rather over-the-top expensive. Activities are mediocre and fee-based. Activities room and gym did not meet expectations. The property is unsecured. All this could be overlooked, but was amplified by the terrible service. It started at check-in when we had to wait in line twice, once to check in and once to receive our parking pass. The parking pass pick up was actually the beginning of their sales pitch. Without my permission, they collected information that was used for a sales scheme. I had to tell them twice that I would not answer any more personal questions but would rather just have my parking pass so that we could retire after 10 hours on the road. My request was met rudely, with attitude and snide remarks. At this point we made it clear that we are not interested in any sales presentation and expressly requested not to be contacted. However, we received phone calls from someone inviting us to a "review." After, again, asking three times to not be contacted, we turned the phone off.

Room Tip: Down-stairs units have full kitchens. Avoid interaction with sales people, also disguised as "c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing the highlights of your Williamsburg trip with us. We’re certainly disappointed to read that our property didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. It is our priority to provide all of our guests with exceptional service and accommodations and we apologize that we fell short of these expectations during your vacation. We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back at Williamsburg Plantation Resort. Thank you again for your feedback as it does not go unnoticed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My family and I go here almost every year but for the last 2 or 3 we hadnt. this summer we went back and I wasnt impressed. even thogh the rooms are nice,You have to pay for wifi, the behavior at the pool is not well supervised and the salespeople are horrible. We have interval international and we were promised that this would only take 5 minutes in return of 100 dollars to go out to eat. We accepted. The consultation took 12 hours. And they lied to us. the new program we had were forced to get still doesnt let us go anywhere. Very dissapointed but that is interval internationals fault. however i still feel williamsburg plantation is part at fault for this.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your loyalty to our resort. From your comments it sounds like your tour was longer than usual because you decided to purchase. We realize that making a significant purchase such as timeshare can sometimes be overwhelming and easy to forget or miss important details discussed with the sales representative. Therefore all transactions are followed up in writing. After the presentation, a Verification Loan Officer will then sit with the customer to go through their paperwork and answer any questions. These contracts are given to customers at the end of the transaction before they leave. We’re disappointed that you are regretting your purchase but we believe we offer an exceptional product and many do appreciate all the benefits that vacation ownership has to offer. Owners have the opportunity to travel with their family all over the world and pay a fraction of the cost that most consumers would have to pay for these same standards in a hotel. Your exchange company Interval International offers the flexibility to choose how and where you vacation. We hope that you will contact them and familiarize yourself with the wide variety of valuable benefits that you have as an owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked this as an Interval International Exchange. We were pleased to get a unit that slept 12 (actually 2 units) so we had room for company. Check in was quick for us, It was nicely decorated and plenty of room and even a washer and dryer for the upstairs and downstairs units to share. We did not experience any problems with the indoor pool or hottub. We were disappointed that the outdoor pools weren't open. The one time there were some overactive kids in the indoor pool we we're about to leave any ways. We borrowed DVDs a couple nights. (The earlier in the day you choose, the better the selection) . We didn't use the exercise room because our 13 year old wasn't allowed in the room, even with adult supervision. We did have a broken electric can opener in our unit which was promptly replaced with a manual. Though there was not free wireless in the unit, in the clubhouse you could us a computer with internet access for 15 minutes at a time, if no one was waiting, you could log in for another 15 minutes. We never experienced any wait time for this while there. There were activities offered, but not free activities. We did not participate in any.

The only drawback was our "complimentary" welcome package. We had to pay $10 to reserve our free breakfast at a local pancake house (which was delicious), but in return we were told we had to take a 10 minute tour of the Colonies and do a survey with suggestions about the unit. This was very misleading - when we got the voucher paperwork it said it would take about 45 minutes, but we were there for at least 2 hours, even when we told them we had guests waiting for us at our unit, they did not speed things up and just kept up with a sales pitch. It really was not a free welcome breakfast. The $10 was returned to us in the form of an $85 prepaid credit card, for our time, but we wish they had just been honest with us about the time commitment and we would have skipped the breakfast and sales pitch! We would definitely go back, but would decline the welcome gift.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rifam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation of our resort. We’re glad that you enjoyed your accommodations but are sorry about the experience you had with members of our staff. We're disappointed that you didn't appreciate the value of the presentation but we look forward to welcoming you back to Williamsburg Plantation as a guest one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our check in took forever. There was only one person checking people in on a Saturday early evening during spring break. The line of people waiting to check-in extended out the door. Units were alright but starting to show their age a bit. However, the biggest complaint our family had was with the indoor pool. It isn't very big to begin with but was quickly overflowing with people every single day. I have been swimming in a lot of hotel/resort pools and I would not dare get in this pool. The water was murky and the tile surrounding the pool was filthy. It was covered with hair, dirt and food crumbs. There was no one securing the entrance to the resort or the pool area. I believe half of Williamsburg residents were swimming at this pool-not just resort guests. It was dangerously packed with people and most certainly not clean. This was a huge disappointment for our family. We will not return to this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. We were surprised to hear of the issues you experienced when you arrived during spring break so we reviewed the security tape for that evening. At 7:02 pm on March 30th you checked in with our front desk agent, David. Another agent, Erica was also at the front desk. At that time there were only 4- 5 guests in line, which ended at the Guest Services counter. We apologize if the pool wasn’t clean during your visit. The pool is cleaned every morning prior to opening and the pool house is cleaned nightly. Periodically through the day employees will service the area. We take pride in Williamsburg Plantation Resort and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short, we share your disappointment. We’re very sorry that we couldn’t provide you with the service you expected and we hope this experience doesn’t deter you from visiting the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My son, my husband and I had a 2BR, 2 bath unit the last week of March 2013. Very nice unit. Very helpful and accommodating staff. The unit had everything we needed and more! Very close to Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown. Great location!

Room Tip: We enjoyed being close to the clubhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of Williamsburg Plantation Resort! Many travelers choose us for our location and our comfortable rooms and we’re happy that you enjoyed your accommodations. We’re pleased that you appreciated our service and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again on your next trip to Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
3.7 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Plantation Resort

Address: 4870 Longhill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1571
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: $119 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg, Virginia, a town synonymous with American history, is the perfect location for fun-filled family vacationing. At Williamsburg Plantation Resort you are just minutes from the historical sites of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Settlement, Yorktown Battlefield and Yorktown Victory center. Also nearby are two award-winning theme parks - Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA. Spread out over 78 acres, the Resort features indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools and a host of other amenities including an on-site Spa designed to enrich your stay in one of America's favorite vacation destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Williamsburg Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Plantation Resort Williamsburg
Plantation Williamsburg
Williamsburg Plantation Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing