We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Williamsburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Wilmington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A week in Williamsburg”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A very nice property with pretty in and outdoor pools and nice tennis court. The unit was a 2 bedroom 2 bath located on the lower level with a small outdoor patio. It had a full kitchen dining room and 3 TV's one in each bedroom and the living room. Nearby were shopping malls and a great variety of restaurants. A great location to visit the star attraction for me the history of our country. Colonial Williamsburg is a living American history lesson. You could spend a day or days visiting. Make sure you get a chance to hear Patrick Henry speak, or make it to the auditorium to hear George Washington. Not far away is Yorktown and Jamestown, both worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation of Williamsburg Plantation Resort. We’re happy that you were pleased with your accommodations and our services. We are truly blessed with great amenities in a location rich in American history and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    317
    192
    84
    68
See reviews for
465
221
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed at Marriotts Ford Colony for the past 6 years. We love it. This year we decided to try something new. Bad choice! Grounds are well maintained, and outside appearances looked pleasing. Once inside everything changed. Furniture was scratched and damaged; ceramic tile on bathroom floor was cracked and busted in places; wallpaper pealing from walls in several places; carpet had burn marks; no oven, only a double burner counter top warmer and a microwave. There were black marks on the walls and the ceiling had been leaking and needed repairs. Could not use the disposal in the sink because it sounded like it was eating a spoon everytime you turned it on. Even though we turn the air/heat/fan off....there was something in a locked closet that we could not have access to that ran continually!!!! Very annoying. We've never had a surprise at Ford Colony and I WILL go back there next year. OH.....did I mention.....the unit they gave us was upstairs. No elevators. No forewarning or questions about our health ability to climb stairs. Needs better management!

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs let them know! There are no elevators and they do not advise you of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackieannbrisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share because your candid comments of Williamsburg Plantation Resort are appreciated. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short, we share your disappointment. We’re very sorry that we couldn’t provide you with a great vacation during your stay. We regret that now you have such a negative impression of us and we hope your next Williamsburg vacation is more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have a one bedroom, one bath.It is upstairs--that proved to be a hardship for us -- there were first floor units available but we didn't get one. Very nice room but amenities were not as advertised--pool was closed but no advance notice given--not even told about it at check in. We CAN drive to the neighboring time share but that isn't too wonderful to do. We did take one of the trips offered--that was great!

Dishwasher was really noisy. Room description was not accurate on-line. We were satisfied but not impressed--we would not stay here again--too many other options that may be nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsmom75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for writing about your experience at Williamsburg Plantation Resort. We’re sorry that we were unable to meet all of your expectations during your stay with us. We would’ve been happy to move you to a different unit when you were at the resort if we had known that you preferred a first floor room. We apologize that the indoor pool was closed. The pool heater malfunctioned and the parts needed were not locally available which caused the pool to be closed longer than expected. The pool heater has since been repaired and the amenity is available for guests. Though you were satisfied, we’re sorry that we couldn’t give you a better vacation experience and we hope you reconsider and stay with us again so that we may have a future opportunity to prove that we’re a great lodging choice in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

So Williamsburg Plantation is primarily a time-share item. However some of the suites are available for rental. Its not uncommon therefore to be offered a sales pitch in return for some special benefit. This review however will focus on just the grounds and rooms as such.

The room we stayed in was a 2-bedroom suite. Beds were Queen, although King + Queen was also available I think. Bed was quite comfortable. The master bath had a 2-person whirlpool tub, separate shower and a in-room sauna ! Quite a nice touch, although not all accommodations had the sauna I don't think.. There was a full kitchen, eating area (table for 6), and living room, along with an in-room washer/dryer. A real fireplace with wood provided in a common area outside. There are A & B units, depending on if they are down or up -stairs.

The grounds were nicely maintained, with tennis courts, indoor and outdoor pool. There was a equipment/workout room and common area for checking emails and such. DVDs were available for borrowing for in-room use on the DVD player.

Overall a great experience. As common with these type of locations, there was no daily maid service, which is the only reason for not rating a 5 Star.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 29, presumably one of the early build units, so if the suana is of interest, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacJoeFQV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the great comments about your recent stay at Williamsburg Plantation Resort. We’re very happy that you enjoyed all the comforts of your accommodations and that your found our resort amenities and grounds well maintained during your visit. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to Williamsburg someday soon, and in turn back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Was told we would get a 1 bedroom condo w/sleeper sofa; checked into a 2 bedroom w/Jacuzzi. Went for sales meeting (hated the 2 hour drive from MD), but worth it. Beautiful in Virginia this time of year..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank july099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your positive review! We’re pleased that you enjoyed your time at Williamsburg Plantation Resort and we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I came to the Williamsburg Plantation to enjoy a few days away with my girlfriends for some history and good dining out. My first impression was good upon checking in but after getting our key and driving to our building I wasn't happy to see we were on a second floor without elevators. We are in our sixties and carrying suitcases upstairs was not an easy task. All put aside this two bedroom two bath was lovely. It was clean and modern. I made a mistake getting a partial kitchen since there wasn't a stove but that was my fault. My main complaint was the sofa in 63B....it needs to be replaced. The cusions are almost completely flat. Overall I would recommend this resort. It is within 15 minutes to most attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxnsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we really appreciate your recommendation. We’re sorry that you were disappointed with your room location. In the future we ask that you notify the staff while you’re here for assistance. We would had gladly exchange your room for one on the first floor if available. Although we didn’t meet all of your expectations we’re glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that we have an opportunity to share our hospitality with you again the next time your travels bring you to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We travelled to this resort in September, while the weather was still warm and when the kids were back in school. The resort was quite quiet, and we found ourselves often alone in the indoor or outdoor pools or hot-tub, or with just a few people sharing with us. Our unit was very spacious. Large bedrooms. The main bathroom had a huge shower (could have fit about 6 people in it), a lovely jacuzzi corner tub and a double sink and mirror. The 2nd bathroom was very roomy also. A spacious living room, dining room and part kitchen. No full stove, but the double hot plate, electric frying pan and microwave worked out just fine. A full fridge and all the kitchen tools you needed. The covered balcony was perfect for morning coffee, or lunch. No mosquitoes or pesky bugs to be found. Yeah! There were many scheduled activities, mainly for kids, but the adults FREE wine and cheese party on Monday night was nice. There was a great fitness room with a good variety of equipment, and fitness DVD's you could get from the front desk. There were scheduled bus trip, like the great one we took to Washington D.C. We choose not to take the time share tour, just because we heard it was very lengthy. There were an unbelievable amount of restaurants near by to choose from. Many shopping malls. Downtown historical Williamsburg, was fabulous. We spend three days and could have seen more. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor. Stairs to go up, but much quieter I'm sure than the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for the great comments about Williamsburg Plantation Resort. We’re very happy to read that you enjoyed your room’s amenities and that you found our pools and activities fun. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Williamsburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
2.1 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
3.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.7 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
584 reviews
6.6 mi away
King's Creek Plantation Resort
King's Creek Plantation Resort
#15 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Plantation Resort

Property: Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Address: 4870 Longhill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1571
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg, Virginia, a town synonymous with American history, is the perfect location for fun-filled family vacationing. At Williamsburg Plantation Resort you are just minutes from the historical sites of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Settlement, Yorktown Battlefield and Yorktown Victory center. Also nearby are two award-winning theme parks - Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA. Spread out over 78 acres, the Resort features indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools and a host of other amenities including an on-site Spa designed to enrich your stay in one of America's favorite vacation destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Williamsburg Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Plantation Resort Williamsburg
Plantation Williamsburg
Williamsburg Plantation Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing