We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I came to the Williamsburg Plantation to enjoy a few days away with my girlfriends for some history and good dining out. My first impression was good upon checking in but after getting our key and driving to our building I wasn't happy to see we were on a second floor without elevators. We are in our sixties and carrying suitcases upstairs was not an easy task. All put aside this two bedroom two bath was lovely. It was clean and modern. I made a mistake getting a partial kitchen since there wasn't a stove but that was my fault. My main complaint was the sofa in 63B....it needs to be replaced. The cusions are almost completely flat. Overall I would recommend this resort. It is within 15 minutes to most attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxnsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we really appreciate your recommendation. We’re sorry that you were disappointed with your room location. In the future we ask that you notify the staff while you’re here for assistance. We would had gladly exchange your room for one on the first floor if available. Although we didn’t meet all of your expectations we’re glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that we have an opportunity to share our hospitality with you again the next time your travels bring you to Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 957 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We travelled to this resort in September, while the weather was still warm and when the kids were back in school. The resort was quite quiet, and we found ourselves often alone in the indoor or outdoor pools or hot-tub, or with just a few people sharing with us. Our unit was very spacious. Large bedrooms. The main bathroom had a huge shower (could have fit about 6 people in it), a lovely jacuzzi corner tub and a double sink and mirror. The 2nd bathroom was very roomy also. A spacious living room, dining room and part kitchen. No full stove, but the double hot plate, electric frying pan and microwave worked out just fine. A full fridge and all the kitchen tools you needed. The covered balcony was perfect for morning coffee, or lunch. No mosquitoes or pesky bugs to be found. Yeah! There were many scheduled activities, mainly for kids, but the adults FREE wine and cheese party on Monday night was nice. There was a great fitness room with a good variety of equipment, and fitness DVD's you could get from the front desk. There were scheduled bus trip, like the great one we took to Washington D.C. We choose not to take the time share tour, just because we heard it was very lengthy. There were an unbelievable amount of restaurants near by to choose from. Many shopping malls. Downtown historical Williamsburg, was fabulous. We spend three days and could have seen more. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor. Stairs to go up, but much quieter I'm sure than the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnitaS933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for the great comments about Williamsburg Plantation Resort. We’re very happy to read that you enjoyed your room’s amenities and that you found our pools and activities fun. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Williamsburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here as part of a time share presentation. I have done a few of these and this was the most pleasant. LA our presenter really knew Williamsburg. She showed us the town and gave valuable information about tours and great restaurants. She was not pushy and we felt like we almost got an extra treat by going to the presentation. The condo we stayed in had two rooms and it was immaculate. The staff at the front desk was plentiful and responsive to our needs. The bonus of great coffee and free movies was nice and we did take advantage of both. There were lots of events available but most took place Monday thru Thursday. Flat screen TVs in three rooms with DVD players help with entertainment. So many restaurants and things to do near here you just cannot lose. If you have teenage children that you do not want to share a space with then this is the place for you. Even at $200 hundred a night you save by cooking breakfast and lunch with your full sized, fully equipped kitchen and do not have to splurge for two rooms.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are convenient but if you have nosey neighbors ask for an upstairs room. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsFroggy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience with us here on Tripadvisor. We’re pleased to know that our property exceeded your expectations and that you appreciated the value of the timeshare tour. We hope that we may have a chance to welcome you back to Williamsburg Plantation Resort in the future so that we may exceed your expectations again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife, son and I stayed here for 6 days. We liked it very much. We exchanged we interval intl and were surprised how nice the room was after reading some of the negative comments left here. Thankfully we did not encounter any drunks as this is a family resort. If you want to drink go to a bar. Nowhere in their web page says they have a poolside bar so don't be surprised. we liked that aspect. It is also close to everything yet far enough to consider it away from the noise of cars and busy avenues. It takes 10 minutes to Richmond rd where you'll find lots of restaurants and things to do. The mall which is huge is 15 minutes or less away. The pool was nice and very clean. The grounds well kept. The room was equiped with everything but a stove but there is a hot burner. The beds? well who goes on vacation to sleep? We thought they were fine. The only minor issue is that there are no king size beds in the rooms. Other than that, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: This is a perfect location to have a little peace at the end of busy vacation day. Staying in? Go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post about your vacation at Williamsburg Plantation Resort. We’re happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and our service. The resort features units with king, queen and twin beds. If you choose to stay with us again (and we sincerely hope you do!) please request the bedding you want and the staff will be happy to accommodate your needs if available. We appreciate that you chose Williamsburg Plantation Resort as your destination for your family vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

OK, My wife and I (38 and 39) just returned from staying here. We exchanged our timeshare with interval international. When we arrived, Check-in was quick and painless. The room that we received was very nice and very clean. The employees were very nice as well. The grounds were kept up very well. We were not far from the pool which was nice. Bed was comfortable.

Now, for the things I didn't like....

1. When we checked in, we were asked if we wanted to fill out a survey for the new timeshares they are building. I told them I did not want to do a tour and the girl said it was a 90 minute showing and a survey. She said they know that we own already and that they just want our opinion on the newer models. I knew that it would not be the case but we went along with it. We had free breakfast a few miles away and went back for the "tour". We were there for 3 hours and 45 minutes. We had to say no at least 6 times before they let us go. They want you to buy the timeshare, and the price is actually not bad ( we were thinking of buying ) but after over 3 and 1/2 hours we just wanted to get out of there. That ruined a good portion of our day unfortunately.

2. The WiFi would not work for us and every time we called the company they kept saying we will call you back and they never did. We were charged for the WiFi but were unable to connect.

3. There is no poolside bar that serves alcohol but they do allow you to bring your own to the pool in plastic cups.

So, To sum it up, The place is very nice....Convenient for area attractions....Beware of the "Tour" / "survey". Bring alcohol if you want to have a drink by the pool. There is no grocery store or restaurant on site so plan accordingly....

Would I stay here again? I'm not sure...I would probably look around first...That being said, The place is nicer than others I've seen. Hope this helps...

Room Tip: Try to get near the Club house if you want to use the pools....they are not spread out over the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sf5rook5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you taking the time to comment. We apologize for the issues you experienced while vacationing with us. When a guest decides to take advantage of the promotion offered they agree to participate for an estimated 90 minutes. We try to take as much time as we can to present all the benefits of vacation ownership so the actual time spent can vary depending if a meal is included or on the attendee’s perceived level of interest. As in any sales environment, a sales person will try to overcome objectives if the attendee doesn’t ask to leave. We’re disappointed that you didn’t appreciate this process but are thankful that you recognized the value in our property that was presented. We’re very sorry for the WIFI reception being poor and the lack of customer service from the WIFI service provider. We’ve sent you a private message here on TripAdvisor to contact us so that we may refund the portion you paid for the WIFI service. Please know that we are working on updating equipment so that in the future guests will not experience the same issues. We’re thankful that you enjoyed your accommodations and our location and we hope that you will consider staying at our resort the next time you want a relaxing vacation in Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Where is our maintenance going? The beds are very uncomfortable(old) and noisy, the wallpaper is peeling in the bathroom,the outside bushes are overgrown,upon check-in we got moved 3 times because the unit they gave us still had maids in them. They have signs up but the kids are still in the workout room and the hot tub,we paid and went to a magic show with the family and it was the same as last year. very unhappy and will not go here again.It was a 5 star when we bought but I will give it a 2 now.

Room Tip: check out the room before you unload the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Each year we make a significant investment into Williamsburg Plantation Resort directed towards what we consider to be the priorities at any given time. Some of this investment is obvious and unfortunately others are not, but we are committed to providing great vacation experiences for all of our guests. We are truly sorry that we were not able to reach that goal during your stay. Check in begins at 4pm at the resort. You arrived before 1pm but our front desk staff tried to accommodate you by finding a room that had been cleaned from departures just a few hours prior. The first two rooms were clean but were still being inspected by our housekeeping staff. You were given a gift bag with wine and chocolates as a token of our apology for the inconvenience of moving rooms. We’re sorry that you did not find the bedding comfortable. The beds in the unit you occupied were installed in Spring 2011 so they are certainly not old. We are in the process of removing all wallpaper from the bathroom walls but unfortunately that is a time consuming year-round project. Shrubbery trimming for 78 acres is also an ongoing chore, which is tackled one section at a time. The magic show is one of our most popular kid programs with approximately 75 attendees each week. The show usually gets rave reviews but we’re sorry you were disappointed and found it similar to last year’s program. We regret that now you have such a negative impression of us, but we hope you reconsider and allow us another opportunity to host your next visit to Williamsburg so that we can deliver the type of vacation experience that you and other owners expect of all Vacation Village Resort properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Would have been a 4 if wireless internet were included as it is most hotels/motels these days. $25 for 3 days access is overpriced. Indoor/outdoor pools great with fun activities & events throughout the day. Accommodations clean and more than satisfactory. Great location, minutes from outlets, Colonial Williamsburg, Bush Gardens/Water Country. Would definitely stay here again. Staff friendly & helpful.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your recommendation of our resort. We’re very happy to read that you enjoyed your accommodations and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. To be frugal with our timeshare owner’s association fees, we do charge for wifi access in the guest rooms. However like many businesses we offer complimentary computer access for our guests in a public area in the Clubhouse. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.1 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
3.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Plantation Resort

Address: 4870 Longhill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1571
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: $120 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg, Virginia, a town synonymous with American history, is the perfect location for fun-filled family vacationing. At Williamsburg Plantation Resort you are just minutes from the historical sites of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Settlement, Yorktown Battlefield and Yorktown Victory center. Also nearby are two award-winning theme parks - Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA. Spread out over 78 acres, the Resort features indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools and a host of other amenities including an on-site Spa designed to enrich your stay in one of America's favorite vacation destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Williamsburg Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Plantation Resort Williamsburg
Plantation Williamsburg
Williamsburg Plantation Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing