We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sad owner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King's Creek Plantation Resort
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A sad owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Let me begin by telling those who trade into KCP or visit during a promotion that they will find a lovely property with fine amenities at a terrific location in Williamsburg.

That being said, I must share my utter disappointment with how an owner who has not upgraded to the "Club Explore" option is being treated. I bought into KCP a decade ago when the Townes were bring built. I have, until recently, gotten maximum enjoyment from staying there or trading the time for some other equally great location. Now that KCP has gone to the points system, dates are very hard to come by and, to add insult to injury, my family was placed in a unit (201B Jasmine Crescent) that would never be shown to a new "appointment."

When we arrived, the unit was still being "cleaned." When we got the okay to enter, it was dirty. Dried food was still on kitchen surfaces, the furniture was scratched and shabby, the carpet in the living/dining area was snagged and unraveling. Later that evening we found the entry way light out. Once a new bulb was placed, I can guess why it was left dark -- a nasty "welcome home." Additionally, the "security door" did not lock.

We had guests come, and I was ashamed to entertain there -- which we have done with great success in the past. I constantly get emails and postcards about the new this, the new that at KCP. I guess those things are just for the new folks. BEYOND SAD!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mrs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
As a long-time valued Owner of King’s Creek, you are surely aware that what you described was a rare occurrence and certainly not indicative of your past experiences here. Rare or not, we accept full responsibility with sincere regret for your recent unpleasant visit. Please accept our apology.
You noted that we have “a terrific location, a lovely property and plenty of amenities”, yet we know that can mean absolutely nothing if an Owner or Guest is unsatisfied. Please allow us an opportunity to speak with you personally. Our goal is that you feel and experience King’s Creek in the way you have come to expect and deserve. Our Guest Services management will contact you directly, if they haven’t done so already.
We can also assure you that our Legacy/Weeks Owners are the foundation of our success and that has not changed. Our Club Explore/Points program is a wonderful option with many benefits. But, it is simply that, an option. We appreciate your Ownership and the time you took to share your experience. Your comments will clearly make us even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    503
    268
    104
    93
See reviews for
790
454
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

In December we vacationed here as part of our timeshare for a week and it was a great experience. Some of the days we were there we spent inside our estate because it was a nice relaxing place to be. My daughter enjoyed the aquatic center and the fully equipped kitchen came in handy for meals. The only thing I would say I wish would have been different is the quality of the pots and pans they provided. You would not even begin to cook an egg in anything they provided! It also would have been nice to have activities for children that were offered for free since after all you are staying at the resort for a reasonable amount of time. Other than that, it was a nice relaxing vacation also had a wonderful view and we loved the balcony. The location of this estate was within perfect distance of stores and attractions such as Colonial Williamsburg. We highly recommend staying here if your in the area.

Room Tip: I know there are a couple different types of room that are offered at the Kings Creek Plantation. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for the kind recommendation of our resort. We are so glad you were able to take advantage of your ownership to vacation with us. Your feedback regarding the pots and pans will be noted and we will certainly look into this matter. King’s Creek Plantation looks forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights. We were very happy with the place. We travel to Williamsburg at least twice a year and stay in the Hampton Suites. This is the first time we stayed here and we plan to always stay at the Estates at Kings Creek from now on.
The grounds, pools, and fitness room were very clean and kept in resort quality. The accomodations we stayed in were brand new and we were the first people to stay in the one bedroom suite, The pictures online do not do the rooms justice. Very quiet and peaceful area.

Room Tip: The Estates of kings Creek Plantation are brand new, so ask to stay in that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
King’s Creek Plantation appreciates your generous and wonderful review of our Estates. Now that we have created a new destination for your future visits to Williamsburg, we look very forward to increased opportunities to fulfill your vacation expectations. Thanks again for the trust you have placed in our Resort and for sharing your experience. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Kings Creek Plantation is right around the corner from Water Country USA, and is within 5 miles of Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg, and right down the road from Jamestown and other historic landmarks. For a family-friendly location, it's great. We also found the Estates to be decently appointed and of a good size for two small families to vacation together.

As a place for families, however, you should be aware that Kings Creek puts a low value on their customer service and their staff isn't trained or managed in a way to prioritize your comfort or requests during your stay. For example, while this property is considered a premium/high end resort in the Interval system, Kings Creek does not clean or service the units during your 1-week stay. That would be fine if they informed you at check-in, or trained staff to respond to this kind of inquiry in a service-oriented way, showcasing that units have vacuum cleaners, dishwashers and washer and dryer for our convenience, and housekeeping can help with additional requests. However, it's more likely that a grumpy front desk or housekeeping operator will say, "we don't do that," and go on to chastise you in a condescending tone that guests are expected to wash all our own linens and keep our units clean. (Did they miss the definition of "guest" in Hotel Management 101?)

In any case, the place provides you with 3 dishwasher packets, 1 laundry packet and a vacuum, but no cleaning supplies beyond that - even though you're expected to keep the place clean. Unfortunately for us, both families came down with a GI virus while at Kings Creek, and while it was nice and convenient to have bathrooms for all, it did make the cleaning-thing that much more important to our visit. (It also made me wonder whether and how the toilets and showers were cleaned by their staff, and when and how often that cleanliness is inspected - mostly because it's something you think about while hugging a strange commode in the middle of the night.)

In general, Kings Creek is great if you're not expecting much and just want a place to stay. If you're expecting a high-end resort with resort amenities and service, consider someplace else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
King’s Creek Plantation is so sorry to hear that you became ill during your stay with us. Our housekeeping department cleans units prior to arrival and then upon departure. We unfortunately do not supply cleaning products due to safety precautions. Typically, if a guest needs their accommodations to be serviced during the week we will honor this request; however, there is a charge associated. In regards to your specific instance, we would have been more than happy to come over and offered any services necessary to make you more comfortable. King’s Creek apologizes if our staff came across in a manner less then accommodating, please be assured this has been addressed with our team members. Thank you for your feedback and we hope all of your family members had a successful recovery and are feeling better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We spent a week in the Estates section of the resort as a timeshare exchange, and were in a spacious two bedroom, 2.5 bedroom unit. The unit was quite nice. We had guests stay with us for two nights, and a large dinner with local friends one night, all easily accommodated with the large dining room table and full kitchen. The units are nice and clean, and the beds are cozy. The faux fireplace does add nice ambiance to the main living room. The resort's fitness center is also nice and updated.

The resort is conveniently located near major attractions, including Colonial Williamsburg, the Yorktown Battlefield, Busch Gardens and Water Town U.S.A. In short, it's a good place to spend a week with family.

Our big complaint is in regards to the customer service. When we were on our way from the west coast, we called to reserve two pack and plays for our unit. The agent on the phone seemed irritated to do it before hand, but said she could "make an exception for us". However, when we arrived, the pack and plays were in our unit, but weren't set up and didn't have bedding. We called for bedding, but no one came to drop any off. Our baby slept on a towel that night. The next morning, we called again, and sheets for an adult single bed were delivered. The second or third day, I called to request more dish soap, and it arrived 3 hours later delivered by a sheepish worker who apologized for not seeing the request on the board. The next day we called and asked when the mid-week service would occur, and were told we had to wash our own linens. In our experience, either there is one mid-week housekeeping service in timeshares, or they at least offer to bring over some fresh towels! Finally, we agreed to participate in a sales presentation to receive some free tickets locally, but the salesman was no enthusiastic about our family (perhaps because we were two moms?), and couldn't get away from us fast enough. After he asked us how we liked the resort, and we brought up our service complaints, he got defensive and told us we had to take it to the head of housekeeping. He couldn't get away from us fast enough (we did score a free breakfast though). When we asked if there was anything we could tell our friends about the resort (since they had seemed impressed when they visited), he said "no". Really?

All together, a mixed bag. Not the service we are used to in a premium resort, and their customer service is what needs an update.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and the amenities available at the Resort. And, considering all that you experienced, your comments showed balance and insight. With that said, we cannot apologize enough for what clearly sounds like unacceptable customer service on more than a single occasion. Without excellent customer service, our wonderful location, diverse accommodations and beautiful property means very little. I am sure you would agree. Every Owner and Guest deserves nothing less than great service. It remains our priority and when we miss the mark, we sincerely regret it. We will use your feedback as an opportunity to improve, re-train and increase our efficiency. Also, please be assured that King’s Creek welcomes all families to explore their options as Owners at King’s Creek Plantation. And, we would love an opportunity to serve your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at King's Creek for a long weekend from 12/12-12/15. We were a group of 6 who fit quite comfortably in one of the two-unit townhomes. (We stayed in one unit.) We had two bedrooms, each with flatscreen tv's, and 2.5 baths, one on the lower floor and one in each bedroom. The beds were comfortable, the linens clean.

I do wish we had an option to get clean towels, there were no extras - one per person - and we used the same towel for three days. I would have liked to know how to get new towels.

We had plenty of room and I appreciated the opportunity to store food in the full-size refrigerator and cook meals in the house instead of having to eat every meal out. The indoor pool was great and the kids utilized it a few times during our stay. Again, there was an issue with towels. Each swimmer was assigned one and only one towel. The pool was not busy while we were there and we would have liked to have a couple extra towels for the kids to use.

All in all, convenient, great place to stay, close to the historical sites.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chantelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
We appreciate your balanced feedback and useful insight. King’s Creek sincerely desires that all our Owners and Guests enjoy themselves while with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience of having to endure “limited linens”. That is not something King’s Creek is happy to hear and we are always appreciative of comments that leads to improvement. We look very forward to having you enjoy our great location, variety of amenities and even some enhancements on your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Swapped a timeshare in Portugal to stay here with 2 girlfriends. Booked a 3 bed/3bath property. On arrival check-in was easy - not busy and we were given keys a map of the property with directions to our building and tourist information plus some coupons.
The property turned out to be a detached house with a front door which led into a small vestibule which had 2 doors one to the main part of the house and one to a "granny flat" type area with a separate bedroom, bathroom, sitting area and kitchenette which was basically the third bedroom. In the main area there was a reasonable sized kitchen and a large sitting area with gas fire and comfortable sofas and chairs. The dining room table was big and would easily seat 6.
There was a welcome pack on arrival including coffee/tea and some condiments.
The 2 bedrooms upstairs were a double and a twin both with bathrooms. Both rooms were large and the bathrooms clean. All bedrooms had a TV in with plenty of channel choice.
The estate was very quiet - it was late October, I think in the summer it would be very popular and get quite busy and noisy.
The location is ideal - 10 minutes from the main Williamsburg areas & Busch Gardens and 2 minutes off the freeway. There is a big Target Store 1 minute's drive away which has plenty of groceries and there are many other grocery stores nearby.
We had a couple of maintenance problems but a phonecall to the front desk brought a maintenance man over within minutes to sort them out.
An excellent place to stay especially out of season as it so nice and quiet, we even had a family of deer wandering around outside the house.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Yes, King’s Creek is happy to “boast” an excellent location. A great advantage of coming to Williamsburg is regardless of the time of year you choose to vacation, there is always plenty to see and a lot to do! The fall season here in Williamsburg is especially beautiful and we are so pleased to know that you and friends enjoyed our 3 Bedroom Estate accommodation. Hosting our “Exchange Guests” and hearing about their memorable experiences makes us even happier. We await your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
8.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Historic Powhatan Resort
The Historic Powhatan Resort
#22 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
6.6 mi away
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Property: King's Creek Plantation Resort
Address: 191 Cottage Cove Ln, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5811
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing