We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King's Creek Plantation Resort
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in the older part of the area. The condo was quite large with a full kitchen and fireplace. Bedrooms upstairs were spacious and quiet. Staff was very friendly. Maintenance was responsive when called for small problems-ice maker and improving upstairs and downstairs vents. Good location for visiting area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gathp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for so much for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback from your recent visit to King’s Creek. We promise not to take it for granted since we are always striving to be even better. Great service starts with great Guests and we are only satisfied when you are. We happily await your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,654 - 1,660 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I are owners at King's Creek and thoroughly enjoyed our recent week's vacation. We stayed in a recently upgraded three bedroom cottage and enjoyed the benefits of new carpet, furniture and pillowtop mattresses. Check-in was a breeze this time and when asked to schedule an owner's update meeting we notified the staff we were not looking to upgrade or change our contract. In previous visits we've endured three and four hour presentations, but this time we remained firm and the salesman was very gracious and accepted the fact that we had no intentions of upgrading. Our preschooler daughter loved the pool area and playground, and we enjoyed relaxing on the front porch sitting in the rocking chairs. This was our fourth trip to Kings Creek and the best one yet!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

It is fantastic to hear our Owners express such wonderful sentiments as those you just mentioned. We appreciate having you as part of our Resort family; your shared experience will benefit us all! Now that you’ve told us that your fourth visit to King’s Creek was the “best one yet”…we can’t wait to see you on visit number five!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We are owners here with every other year access.Recently we received a Promotional offer from King's Creek Plantation Resort for a 4 day/3 night stay for $79.00. It sounded good and we decided this would work for us. This unit was indeed small, similar to a studio apt with a condensed kitchen. To keep costs down we had brought along a few groceries, Sun am we baked some sausage, onions and potatoes-this set off the 2 smoke alarms and we could not even see any smoke. Thank goodness we had lovely neighbors who were already up. The bed was a kingsize (no fitted sheet), but, unless you like pillows that have the feel and give of a rolled up blanket, bring your own. The stackable w/d was nice, the unit was clean and very simple-no frills, it was basic accomodations. I was a little disappointed to be the recipient of less than the expected "standard" for time share owners. The phone and the alarm clock did not work, we reported this to the staff at the desk, but neither was replaced. Oh, the ice-cube maker was really, really slow in maiking ice.
The presentation was lengthy, about 2 and a half hours. I am going to learn to say " you have 90 minutes and then we are leaving", and mean it. Of course the cure-all is to buy more points, from us they wanted $10,500-upgrading to a 2 bedroom. No way!

Room Tip: Request something that is not bare bones basic, we had Unit 304B. Did not realize that they have min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redcatcec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Kings Creek Plantation appreciates and values all of our Owners. Our promotional offers, such as the one you chose (4 days/3 nights for $79), are an attempt to host our Owners for spontaneous visits at very reasonable rates. We would never take our Owners for granted and the quality of any visit with us should be satisfying and enjoyable. We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet or exceed your vacation expectations. We acknowledge that the 1 Bedroom Cottage- Suite is the smallest of our units. As you know, our variety of accommodations (Cottages, Townes and Estates) feature different amenities, from 1-4 bedrooms, some with jetted tubs and our larger units with 3.5 baths. We certainly look forward to your next visit and accommodating you in a much larger unit. We appreciate your comments; shared experiences will serve to make us even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Used an accommodation certificate from II. Total cost was $214. That is all this place is worth. First, after reading many of the reviews and talking to one couple who actually purchased a two bedroom unit we skipped the sales presentation. The couple started at over $20,000 and ended up paying 3,800! What reputable organization does tricks like that. We own two Marriotts and have attended over fifteen sales presentations and the price never changes. You take it or leave it.
As far as our one bedroom:
(1) Very small. Kitchen does not have dishwasher.
(2) The back porch doors have rot on them that needs to be fixed.
(3) The back door is rusting at the bottom. Needs to be fixed.
(4) Flooring in kitchen is coming up. Needs to be fixed.
(5) Toaster is very difficult to use. Wife couldn't use it.
(6) Couldn't sleep because people overhead kept walking around. Very poor sound proofing. Fixed problem by putting heater fan to "on" all night.
(7) Banging noise from heater, or something, also kept us up.
(8) WORST PROBLEM WAS THAT THEY FORGOT TO LOCK THE DOOR TO THE ADJOINING UNIT AND SOMEONE FROM THE OTHER UNIT ACTUALLY OPENED THE DOOR JUST AS MY WIFE WAS COMPLETING HER SHOWER. SHE SCREAMED AND THE PERSON CLOSED THE DOOR. WE CALLED THE OFFICE ON THIS ONE. MAINTENANCE CAME AND LOCKED THE DOOR. HE SAID HE WAS SORRY.
We are amazed that there have been so many positive reviews. We think it is because their units are bigger. Bottom line, don't stay in a one bedroom. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

King’s Creek does enjoy many positive reviews due to an excellent location, a beautiful property and a variety of accommodations to meet the diverse needs of our Owners and Guests. It sounds like your experience fell far short of the high standards and expectations we strive to maintain. And, we sincerely apologize for that. While it is true our 1 Bedroom unit has the least square footage of any of the other accommodations on property, many request it for the “value” of being at King’s Creek. Also, the Cottages do have the “lock out feature” which should be locked from both sides, unless the full Condo-Suite is in use by one Guest. The idea that your privacy was affected concerns us greatly and we will take additional steps to assure that does not occur again. If we are fortunate enough to accommodate you again, we would highly recommend you upgrading to either our 2 Bedroom Cottage Suite or our 2 Bedroom Townes unit-with Sunroom. Thank you again for being our Guest and for offering your useful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

One of the worst vacation experiences ever! We were promised a wheelchair accessible condo, but were given one with stairs to the front porch, and stairs to the bedrooms. We asked to be moved but were told there are no handicapped units in the entire complex. Therefore, this vacation included a lot of humiliating crawling. The floors were filthy with crumbs and the bathrooms were nasty. The kitchen was clean. The pipes made LOUD knocking and groaning noises any time anyone in the building (4 units to a building) ran water or flushed. When the heating system kicked in it sounded like an airplane engine. Our gas fireplace was missing the safety glass. All the heat when up to the bedrooms which were like an inferno when the first floor was cold enough that we wore out jackets indoors. Sales staff were overbearing. The indoor swimming pool was the best part of the resort. The first day it was clean and the water was warm. The other four days the water was cool, floors dirty, and trash cans overflowing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

King’s Creek Plantation makes every effort to accommodate any and all “special requests”, though at times it simply isn’t possible to do so in every case. We are certain that a need such as yours (a handicap accessible unit) is important and did affect the quality of your vacation. The other conditions mentioned here are as far removed from the standards we strive to maintain as we can imagine. And, since we do not know all the circumstances of this particular situation, we urge you to contact the Vacations Reservations Supervisor immediately at 877-557-3529. Please accept our sincerest apology and our urgent invitation to contact us. The time you took to share your comments is appreciated and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The place is nice, rooms are nice, an indoor pool is huge (though too much chlorine makes it difficult to stay there too long), the location is excellent for a visit to Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown.

But all the positive aspects are ruined once you get their mandatory timeshare lecture when you arrive. We purchased their 3-night package for $285 with a 90-minute lecture. It lasted almost 4 hours with 4 salesmen trying to convince us to purchase a plan that they perfectly knew would be impossible for us to use. The price of their offer - "only" $48,900!!! They were pushing us very aggressively to sign the check, and it was so unpleasant that by the time we finally were able to leave them 4 hours later, it ruined our mood for the rest of our stay there.

Our advice - find another place to stay even if you end up paying a little more for your room.

Room Tip: Only go there if you don't have to attend their timeshare lecture. Otherwise - stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexm262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Kings Creek Plantation would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your comments concerning our “nice rooms and excellent location” were especially appreciated. It is unfortunate that you endured an unpleasant and unusually long “preview of our Resort”. Your time and your opinion is very important to us and we truly apologize for that. Please be assured that these great vacation packages are excellent opportunities to visit and explore the possibility of ownership. They are not designed to force an undesired decision, nor would we want our highly trained sales team to be perceived that way. We will certainly take the time to reinforce our mission to all of our staff. We are very passionate about the product we present and we do try to keep our previews between 90-120 minutes. We appreciate your feedback and are hopeful that you will visit with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Estates at King’s Creek Plantation

By

Dr. Ronald G. Helms

King’s Creek Plantation is located one mile from I-64, and is very easy to locate. King’s Creek Plantation is a development of modern “colonial homes” with all the comforts of the 21st century. King’s Creek Plantation has taken care to replicate the smaller homes of Colonial Williamsburg with fire places, several porches, in-unit washers and dryers. Using OnStar GPS, all Williamsburg attractions are minutes away.

The reception area is in extreme need of professional training. Check-in is efficient; however, the girls seem to be trained NOT to answer questions. Our check-in girl professed total ignorance of the WI-FI system and was "Hell-bent" on dismissing us to the “sales counter.” The sales girls are equally unhelpful, and pushed a set of materials, and replied the materials held all of our answers. The purpose of the sales counter was to schedule a 9:30AM Sunday Tour, which has been set by “Sharon,” the telemarketer. Sharon refused to return our call the previous day.

In addition, a second sales girl was screeching instructions to a second set of guests, and her screeching is very annoying. We were told there were few available time slots, “and these slots” were rapidly filing.

The experience is a huge turn off, and while saying NO, we were nagged to accept a sales presentation. Note to King’s Creek Plantation: Knock off this annoying behavior. We own 12 weeks of timeshare, and trading into Williamsburg is very easy. Our holiday time is much to valuable to include a "sales pitch!"

We own five Marriott weeks, and are fans of Westin and Hyatt. King’s Creek Plantation offers very similar quality to all three of these properties, and King’s Creek Plantation cottages are extremely pleasant. Actually, a professional decorator given a minimum budget might work wonders with this property.

King’s Creek Plantation cottages may be larger than the Marriott, Westin and Hyatt properties. King’s Creek Plantation cottages are nicely decorated, and insist of a three-bedroom cottage. The three-bedroom cottage offers two decks, and a front porch. In addition the lockoff unit really is a nicely equipped condo with a full kitchen and independent A/C. The lockoff also has a built in washer and dryer as does the master condo.

Once one survives the “crudeness” of the check-in experience, expect to enjoy a first rate Williamsburg Holiday. We recommend highly the King’s Creek Plantation cottages.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

King’s Creek Plantation appreciates your feedback and we thank you for staying with us. Our goal is to maintain a high standard of customer service; a level that would surely parallel our accommodations and amenities. It sounds like we may have missed the mark during your check-in process and in our insistence to offer you an opportunity to preview our Resort. We sincerely apologize and can assure you that your insightful comments will surely help us to improve and re-train where needed. We are confident in our product and the privileges of Ownership here at King’s Creek. And, we are always pleased to hear our Guests enjoyed “ a first rate Williamsburg Holiday” while staying with us. We invite you to visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
8.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.4 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
3.3 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
622 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Ln, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: $122 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing