We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not prepared for Mother Nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King's Creek Plantation Resort
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not prepared for Mother Nature”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed during Hurricane Irene. Resort should of been closed No electricity for 3 days. Stayed opened even though they could not provide decent accommodations. Refused to give any compensation. With all the money they saved on electric, etc. they could have offered a free or discounted stay for future use. With that said, the place seemed to be a nice place, Good location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
King’s Creek Plantation understands your frustration during that time. In times of inclement weather we try our best to accommodate our guests. Hurricane Irene of 2012, came with severe damage. We had guests who had already arrived and could not leave the resort, therefore we did not want to close and leave our guests. As a result from the debris and storm we had no control over the excess amount of power outages in Williamsburg, we were left to accommodate to the best of our abilities. However, since Hurricane Irene we have implemented immediate warning and notification alerts for our guests arriving during times of inclement weather. We continue to keep our guests notified as the weather approaches, arrives, and departs. Thank you for your feedback, we were able to build a high functioning alert system because of comments like yours and others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    598
    315
    117
    109
See reviews for
949
543
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in the Cottages area of Kings Creek. I loved this resort. Everything was perfect, so perfect I maybe going back in March, 2013. The condo was very clean, I loved the jacuzzi in the room.
The only problem I had was wasting some time trying to take the tour they were very unorganized so we wind up leaving.
I am very particular about my vacationing. This resort met all my expectations, kitchen stocked very well, very close to all the restaurants, prime outlet, target, walmart. I loved it!!! and I recommend it. My husband and I went as our children are grown but I definitely plan to take the grandchildren and visit water country while there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We hope you do come back this March! Our resort previews can become quite busy during times many of our guests want to explore ownership with King’s Creek Plantation. We work very hard to stay organized for both you and other guests to experience our preview in a quick and efficient manner. We apologize that you were unable to partake in one of our previews. We hope you are able to take advantage of this experience for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashvillle
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We swapped an Interval International week to spend a long weekend in the area. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo was in the Towns Area of the resort. The condo was a nice size with a well stocked kitchen; however, the decor was somewhat dated (carpets, draperies and bedspreads). We understood from management that the flat screen tvs were new.
The front desk is very accomodating and gave us a list of the local restaurants participating in Restaurant Week which we used and found to be very helpful and full of value for higher end venues.
There were several pools on the property as well as a recyling center which we had not seen before on a property.
Overall, a nice place to bring the family as it's next door to the water park and easy access to I-64 as well as downtown Williamsburg and Yorktown.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs until as the Towns section does not have elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family I booked through II. We stayed in the Cottages. The place was nice and comfortable. The activities led by Nelson was awesome for the family. We loved the chocolate making activity. Great place!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank No-Powhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Nelson is a valued part of the King’s Creek Plantation team and he enjoys making your experience with us fun for everyone in the family. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family stayed at this resort and loved EVERYTHING about it! The space was a 2-bedroom townhouse style and a lock-off 1-bedroom. It felt like home! The space was so large and spacious! There was a large dining room table for the whole family, a huge kitchen, living room with fireplace, 3 larger master bedrooms with 2 jacuzzi tubs and a large deck! There was a outside grill, playground, miniature golf, tennis, basketball, inside/outside pool, sauna, steam room and tons of activities! We went during the winter season when there is not much going on in Williamsburg. But this resort filled in a lot of blanks! We had a great time... And will definitely say that this is the best resort there!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carterfamily06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D. C.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Quality cottage (called duplexes yesteryear), two-story units on lovely winding roads. Enchanting, homey. But as noted elsewhere, poor soundproofing, Extremely noisy plumbing in our unit, bathroom fan from hell, refrigerator hum to drown out a Dylan harmonica. Abundant parking, balcony, woods are plusses. But amenities like pool, spa, exercise facility are a hike from most units. Attractions, however, are very convenient. Price to buy ratchets down quickly if you resist. It's up to you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank nocostcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are pleased to hear you found our location and grounds to be enjoyable. Our staff works very hard to maintain a homey feel both in our accommodations and throughout the resort. We are in the process of updating all of our units replacing carpet, repairing appliances and any other items needing assistance. We appreciate your feedback, we are able to address issues at our resort because of your help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom unit off of Dakota drive. The kitchen was updated with new stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. It was clean and stocked nicely with glasses, plates, pots & pans of all kinds. The living room area was nice and cozy. The electric fireplace was a nice surprise (since interval told us that it wouldn't have one); However the blower was broken on it and it didn't actually blow the heat out. The dishwasher was broken, maintenance quickly came out to fix it. The bedroom was very nice and included a nice sized jacuzzi hot tub and doors to a balcony. The balcony however was very small. The bed was horrible. Mattresses were very worn and included dips and lumps. Sleep did not come easy and my back was in pain the next day. When we told the front desk about this, and asked for at least egg crate, it took them all day & into the night to bring it out.
The grounds were nice however didn't really include any amenities and activities outside of a pool. (Not much off a pleasure in the winter , even if heated). There is no real restaurant on site. There is a BBQ food truck that was stationed by the clubhouse that included a tent covered dusty area of picnic tables. I had no desire to eat there.
Also, we were there on an exchange (not a promo tour free stay). Yet the front desk called us and pretty much bamboozled us into a tour. They actually said in the call that as a thank you for staying with them, they wanted us to come up for light refreshments where they "will explain what's available on the premises, explain any changes being made within interval and offer us a free gift". No where in the entire conversation did she say a tour presentation. We get to the front desk and they say, go to the clubhouse, when we walked in, I knew what it was right away and was a bit upset. I asked the man that was assigned to us if this was indeed a tour presentation and he replied "that's what u signed up for, that's what it is". That was so troubling. Do they believe we would have even considered buying with a company who wasn't even upfront about a tour? Integrity clearly wasn't at the top if their list. Oh and for the free gift.....a gift card that could only be used at the outlets. Unfortunately, we had already spent a nice amount of time and money at the coach, izod, converse and north face stores.....day late dollar short. The other gift was a restaurant.com gift card. :( there were only about 5 participating restaurants..and two of them were closed down. I mean really guys!
Service, beds and lack of amenities and events lead me to give this community less than a poorer average. I do believe they have potential though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irevueu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We always are happy to see our Exchange guests visiting Williamsburg, Va. We apologize that our front desk was not clear with their intentions to come to the Clubhouse. King’s Creek Plantation does not commend misleading our guests, your experience is troubling and we will address this with our sales team. Our sales team truly believes that our resort is the best vacationing spot in Williamsburg and sometimes their excitement gets lost in translation and the message is not best conveyed. One of the things we pride ourselves on is the different experience our guests have with us during a resort preview. We hope you come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
8.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.7 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
3.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Property: King's Creek Plantation Resort
Address: 191 Cottage Cove Ln, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5811
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing