We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was very pleased with the assistance of the staff. When we first arrived there was a monor problem with the room, but the assistant manager (I believe her name was Pam) and her staff went above and beyond to switch us to an upgraded room that was outstanding. On top of that she discounted our stay for our troubles. I really must say thank you very much for making our experince a good one. The breakfast was also good. I will definitely return when it comes to great customer service as we experinced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express. I am very happy to here that the staff made you feel welcomed and exceeded your expectations. I look forward to your next visit to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    109
    38
    19
    25
See reviews for
136
70
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we had a good 3 nights stay in this hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious, the beds were very ok but my only problem was the bathrom shower curtains were too small. Breakfast area and the breakfast itself were very good. the staff were very nice and helpful special mention to the very nice lady in the front desk ,PATRA who was very helpful and nice the other lady too in the front desk who i forgot to ask her name. It is also near to everything shopping , restaurants, attractions and the church. Our overall experience has been very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cieloquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for visiting us at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure I let Patra know about your comments. I look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

As a platinum member of IHG I am a huge fan of the IHG family bit this place is terrible. Filthy doesn't even begin to describe it. Piles of hair in the bathroom upon arrival. All that takes is sweeping to remove. Obviously this bathroom hasn't seen a broom in a while.

Customer service is nonexistent.

Obvious maintenance issues that have been ignored. All the walls are scuffed up and wallpaper torn, again easy fixes of someone cared but it has been ignored.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I would like to thank you for letting me know about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg. We are currently in the process of updating the property to include replacing the torn and marked wall paper in the guest hallways. I will be speaking with my staff about your concerns so that we may continue to strive to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe NJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Decent hotel. Clean. Pretty good free breakfast. Small Indoor pool. Queen suite is good sized room with small fridge and microwave. Bathroom had no exhaust fan which was a inconvenience. Fitness center a bit tiny and inadequate with no weight machine(only had 2 treadmills & a bike and no tv) Hotel management had work done on the elevators at night with lots of noise one night and the workers setting off the hotel fire alarm on another night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NJ-TRAVELS-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for visiting with us at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg. I am very sorry for the fire alarm that sounded, we have finished the elevator work that was taking place during your stay. We are happy to say that we have replaced the TV that was missing from the fitness center so that on your next visit you will be able to watch your favorite show or news cast. On your next visit you will see some addtional chagnes that have happened. We now have updated our furniture in the breakfast area, along with the additional feature of the community table that has power and wired internet access. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in this location. Our overall experience was great. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff in the front desk and the breakfast area were good. The breakfast buffet was good. The hotel is close to the area attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for visit us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very late for check in and were greeted by a friendly, helpful employee. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. There were fresh baked cookies in the lobby on Thursday night but none Friday night. The hotel is in a great location, close to shopping and the historic area. The pool was a bit cloudy but that was our only complaint. Overall is was a great stay in a perfect location!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank clevelandm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg. I do appologize for the pool. I look forward to being able to service you the next time you find yourself in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A decent value for the price. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly, the bed was comfortable and -best of all- the room was quiet. Wasn't in town to spend much time in the hotel, so it was all perfectly adequate.
A couple of small annoyances however, like there wasn't any soap in the bathroom upon our very late night arrival. Husband went to front desk where they scrounged up a small bar. No new soap was left by housekeeping the next day either and then on the last day, they left a full-size bar. Kind of strange.
Also strange was that the light blocking drapes were barely wide enough to cover the windows and on the one window, it hung down over the air conditioning unit, so air flow was restricted.
If you're used to eating breakfast at fast food restaurants, the free breakfast here will be fine for you. Another option is to eat at one of the many pancake houses around here or the Manhattan Bagel across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZenRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your experience at the Holiday Inn Express. You will be happy to know that we have replaced all the draperies in our guest rooms so on your next visit, you will not have that morning light shinning into the room until you are ready. I look forward to your next visit to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
Address: 1452 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg has won a 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence! The hotel completed a renovation in Summer 2013. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East in Historic Williamsburg Virginia provides a sensible choice for travelers to Virginias historic triangle of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown Located in the heart of the historic district, nearby attractions include Busch Gardens, home of the new roller coaster The Griffon, Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William & Mary, Merchants Square, Premium Outlets, NewTown Shopping and Entertainment, Yankee Candle, Ripley s Believe it or Not,Mariners Museum, Virginia Living Museum, Williamsburg Winery and The Williamsburg Pottery. Golfers can experience 15 championship golf courses such as Kingsmill, Stonehouse, Royal New Kent and Golden Horse Shoe. Local corporations include Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Sentara, Ball Metal, Surry Power Plant and Riverside Health Systems. Nearby government facilities include National Center for State Courts, Camp Perry, Cheatham Annex, Yorktown Naval Weapons Depot, West Point Armor Group International Training and Fort Eustis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing