We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIE Saves the day!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HIE Saves the day!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Jan the desk manager is wonderful! After an UNBELIEVABLY BAD experience at the Quality Inn across the street we had to find a place to stay and every room in the town was booked. Did I mention it was my wife and I's 1st anniversary? Jan was wonderful and was able to find us a room. Not only did she go above and beyond a hotel front desk worker's normal job, she made it a point to get to know us. We felt like she cared about us and not just getting the room rented. All in all it was a great experience. I would recommend this to everyone. Don't stay at the Quality Inn! To hear about that experience, look at their ratings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PIBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    119
    48
    23
    28
See reviews for
165
83
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Let me start off by saying this is one of the cleaner hotels I've been in and it has a TERRIFIC free breakfast which I will get more into later. Check-in was quick, no complains about staff, smelled clean and looked super clean. There's an elevator right in the lobby that took us to the 2nd floor and you never had to wait on it long. Me and a co worker stayed for one night for business purposes and she booked this motel; having been there before and was happy with it. There was a mini fridge and microwave in the room and a flat screen TV. Everything was up to date and attractive. I'm a picky person so the few "complaints" I do have are petty but here they are: The room was humid hot when we came in, no one had the air on for us and I prefer checking into a comfortable room (we had made reservations so they knew we were coming). The smoke detector has a non-stop flashing light on it that resembles a small strobe light when you're trying to sleep at night, very annoying! At about 5:30 this morning i was woken up to a thump-thump-thump for over an hour. It honestly sounded like a clothes dryer was up above me with a few pairs of sneakers or tennis balls rumbling around in it. I guess it could have been a car down in the parking lot listening to loud music but the "beat" never did change. The beds were only semi-comfortable but this could be because I'm used to sleeping on memory foam at home. The linens on the bed were all very nice, fresh, comfortable and 4 pillows per queen (i like a lot of pillows so i was pleased). The towels in the bathroom were also plush and nice and they offer bath and body works shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. However, there is no fan to turn on in the bathroom so it holds a lot of steam and beads up on the ceiling, it's terrible hot to try to dry your hair in a bathroom that has no exhaust (and do bring your own hair dryer, theirs was crappy as they usually are. An Iron and ironing board was provided though and worked well) Breakfast was absolutely amazing...anything you can think of. A nifty pancake machine where you press a button and it spits out a fresh pancake within a minute, REAL butter, jams and syrups, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, canadian bacon/ham, waffles, bagels, sweet like cinnamon rolls, several juices and coffees, toast, cereals, oatmeals, fresh fruits like apples and bananas, etc. It was a humongous spread and all of it was tasty and kept full. So, in short, I would return but would want a room either away from the parking lot or away from whatever "dryer" was making that God-awful noise at 5am and i would also bring a piece of black tape to cover up that ridiculous bright blinking light on the smoke detector.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recently renovated, the Holiday Inn Express was clean, reasonable and easily accessible to all local attractions. Our suite on the 4th floor was quiet and spacious. Doris, our housekeeper took extra special care of us. The breakfasts were filling but a not great. That was a minor drawback to an excellent experience. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a suite on the 4th floor, facing the vacant lot (even numbered rooms) for a quiet night's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. I look forward to your next visit to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I/We normally stay at Marriott Properties But since this was Memorial Day weekend It was a Last Minute trip and everything had Booked up quickly. If you are looking to stay not as close to Colonial Side this is a Good Value Hotel. when the Hotel is Packed expect Parking to be Tight. The Breakfast was better than expected when you travel with little Children. And you are really Close to all the restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucky7point0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The building appearance, cleanliness, comfort, and professional staff are at the top of the game here.
The price here was a little higher than I like to pay, but “getting what you pay for” shined at this location.
This place is close to Williamsburg attractions, and is also a good base to access Jamestown and Yorktown.
Our questions about area activities were answered with directions, maps, and phone calls made to get additional info for us... wow!
The place was invaded by 3-4 busloads of teens on trips, and that was a little inconvenient as they didn’t seem to have fully developed their courtesy skills, but the staff handled the heavy load well, especially during the breakfast invasion.

Be warned that the beautiful glazed ceramic tile around the pool, and the outside pool area makes for very slippery and dangerous conditions when wet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AverageNiceGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Williamsburg. I look forward to your next visit with us here a the Holiday Inn and Express Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have been a travel agent since 1987. There are certain hotels that we get to know and love in different cities based upon our clients experiences there. This is a property that we will never hesitate to recommend as long as their current standards are maintained, and they seem to have been for quite some time. We love to sell this hotel because our clients love it. Just recently, on May 12, 2013, we had a group of college students with chaperones traveling by bus on a music tour in the Virginia area. They stayed at this Holiday Inn Express and couldn't say enough good things about it, including friendly and professional service, fast check in and out, clean and comfortable rooms and a great breakfast. They also loved the location as it was walking distance to restaurants and a movie theatre and has free bus parking available. We will keep putting clients here... it is good for our business when we have happy travelers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsmart51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting your group at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Williamsburg VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The place was really nice. The rooms were very clean, the staff were professional and friendly, the room amenities were top of the line. The food that they cooked us for breakfast was very good and the waiters were very attentive. I am very glad our trip planner for the school chose this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Williamsburg
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg
Address: 1452 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter what brings you to Williamsburg, Virginia, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg has the accommodations and amenities you seek. We offer 93 guestrooms and suites, complete with in-room features like a mini-fridge, coffeemaker, and flat-screen TV. Our hotel features include a Business Center, free Wi-Fi access, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, snack and sundry store, and indoor heated pool. Plus, we treat our guests to a hot and free Express Start Breakfast Bar with healthy options every morning of their stay. In addition to all these great amenities, our hotel’s location cannot be beat. We’re just minutes away from top attractions like Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens® Williamsburg, Water Country USA®, the Jamestown Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center, Warhill Sports Complex, and the Williamsburg Premium Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing