We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“really disappointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“really disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whar a bad experience, they couldn't handle the breakfast rush, need more than 1 lady wroking, and the lady that was working really mean too the kids. Also had a clogged drainb in the shower, when they c;leaned it, they left the hair in the commode. I notified the hotel of my poor service, never heard back from anyone, I guess they really don't care.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlw17504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I am sorry to hear about your dissapointment with your stay with us. We strive everyday to be the best and we never like to hear we were not. Your comments will be brought up and our next management meeting in hopes that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    112
    39
    20
    27
See reviews for
148
72
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We travel to Williamsburg 3-4 times a year and have stayed in various hotels including the Williamsburg hotels. This is a little gem. The rooms are spacious, clean and I am not sure I have received better hospitality from the staff. I use to travel 3-4 months out of the year for 10 years throughout the country - so this says a lot. They were helpful, courteous, and always smiling. For a budget conscious family, you cannot go wrong.

We traveled with an 8 and 12 year-old to visit Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg at Christmas and had a great time. We love Williamsburg and will be staying here again. 5 stars. Kudos to your staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. It is always nice to hear when our guests have had a nice stay with us and write about it. This will be shared with all of our staff. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is ideally located - easy to get to Colonial Williamsburg, the Williamsburg Pottery (totally new buildings on main road), etc. Hotel front desk service was excellent and also great breakfast. Nice indoor pool. Stayrd from December 21 -26, 2012. Stayed previously here Nov 1 & 2, 2012..

Room Tip: Rooms are basically sound proof, you can here sounds out in the hallway but not room-to-room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are always happy to hear our guest enjoyed their stay with us. Look forward to having you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

From the moment we walked in the staff was extremely helpful, giving directions and suggestions for a great place for dinner. Room and pool were great. Great location to all attractions and plenty of dining. Breakfast buffet was great although we skipped it Sunday because there were no tables.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. It is always great to hear good comments about our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Let's start with the most amazing positive: This hotel had the best free breakfast that I've had at a hotel ever. There were eggs, bacon, pancakes, cereals, breads of all kinds, yogurt, fruit -- and it was all hot and free. Pair that with the tastefully decorated dining area and it was a good morning.

The rooms, on the other hand, were simply average. The furniture and linens were dated and the towels were comfortably numb.

It was a huge room, though -- with a pull-out sofa. A family could really spread out in this space comfortably. There was also a microwave and a good sized fridge with freezer in the room too.

All in all, I'd probably stay here again if I were traveling with my family because I can't afford much more! If I'm traveling on the company's dime, though, I'm probably picking another location.

Room Tip: Look out for the Turkey Vultures on the Roof! (Seriously, there were like 40. Didn't disturb o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wferriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments, first just to let you know we are going to be under a renovation here in the next few months, please come back and see us then, I'm sure you will like what you see. And yes we are working on the turkey issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed overnight here this past weekend. The hotel room and common areas were clean and very well maintained. Staff was friendly and easily available. The breakfast buffet has hot options along with the usual breads, cereals and yogurt, not the same as the many pancake houses down the street, but adequate and included in your stay. The pool room was nice and warm on a cold, dreary day, pool decent but small. I was the only one in there so it hardly mattered. They also did a great job with my request to be as close to the lobby/elevator as possible, to make things easier on my mother after a long day of outlet shopping. I'll be choosing this hotel again for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your great comments about your stay. We are always happy to hear about our guests having a wonderful stay and plan to come back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I found this hotel to be very clean, with all the amenities you would expect in a price point of 110/night hotel. The pool was well kept. The breakfast buffet was adequate for a free buffet. I am into more quality food so I ate down the road. VERY centrally located amongst a bunch of other hotels and food places.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank palmer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
Address: 1452 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg has won a 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence! The hotel completed a renovation in Summer 2013. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East in Historic Williamsburg Virginia provides a sensible choice for travelers to Virginias historic triangle of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown Located in the heart of the historic district, nearby attractions include Busch Gardens, home of the new roller coaster The Griffon, Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William & Mary, Merchants Square, Premium Outlets, NewTown Shopping and Entertainment, Yankee Candle, Ripley s Believe it or Not,Mariners Museum, Virginia Living Museum, Williamsburg Winery and The Williamsburg Pottery. Golfers can experience 15 championship golf courses such as Kingsmill, Stonehouse, Royal New Kent and Golden Horse Shoe. Local corporations include Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Sentara, Ball Metal, Surry Power Plant and Riverside Health Systems. Nearby government facilities include National Center for State Courts, Camp Perry, Cheatham Annex, Yorktown Naval Weapons Depot, West Point Armor Group International Training and Fort Eustis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing