We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dirty, musty, wouldn't recommend” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Williamsburg Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Williamsburg Central
Ranked #72 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty, musty, wouldn't recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Overrun by minorities that enjoyed hanging out on the porches until 10-11 pm at night. The room felt dirty and musty. Its ok if you're looking for a cheap room, but I wouldn't recommend. Also, even though I had already paid for my room through a 3rd party website, they took my credit card number and said it was if I didn't return the key (it was a standard slide in door card key that hotels typically don't care if they get back)... a week later I had an unauthorized charge on my card for $900 at Home Depot in Atlanta, GA (I live in PA). I don't know for sure if this was connected, but I have a bad feeling it was.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camper427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    8
    13
    42
See reviews for
31
20
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randallstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel seemed nice on the website, As soon as you enter the room you are hit with this musty smell. The furniture is out dated and my AC would not cool down the room. The maintenance man came to look a the unit and said everything was fine and that it was simply too hot outside. Well let me tell you, when I am at home and it is too hot, I crank the air and the house cools down. They need to upgrade the décor, furniture, televisions (because who really has tube TV's anymore) and the other appliances in the room. I left at the crack of dawn. This was not a good stay at all.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were pleased with our room. The property was clean and taken care of by the staff. The front desk was helpful and friendly. Yes, the property could use a facelift, but for the price it was nice. As far as the trains passing by...they were noticeable when awake, but did not interfere with my rest. The shower had plenty of Hot water. We will choose this property again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Pictures on the website made it look nice. When we got there, the place was a TOTAL dump. It looked run down and ghetto. Which was shocking for the great location it is in. Walked in to our room & there was evidence of bedbugs, the blankets on the bed had hard stains, the A/C did not work (even after giving it a good 20 min), & it smelled bad. The owner was nice to my face & told us we would have to call the website to get a refund. The website called him & he did not want to do so. I called him back & he was extremely rude & did not want to refund us the money & hung up on me. And good luck sleeping, for when we were there, there is a train track right behind it & is very loud!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kacie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel a lot of times in the past few years. We have always had a clean and safe place to stay while visiting Williamsburg. Good places to eat all this location. Yes, if you're a lite sleeper know that there is trains passing behind the hotel, but that is true of every hotel on this side of Richmond Rd. for miles. The staff has always made us feel at home here.

Room Tip: We like staying in the smaller building which is located near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel really is located in the middle of everything. Right across the street from Yankee Candle, plenty of places to dine located all around. We were greeted warmly by the very friendly front desk staff & check in was easy. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable with lots of pillows available. The bathroom was clean also & the towels are good, the soap & shampoo provided are very nice. Yes, the train runs by at different intervals all day long but it's not loud (Think My Cousin Vinny) or obtrusive - no whistle blowing or loud rumbling. Breakfast is served (Continental style) every morning but we slept in & missed it this time. Checkout was a breeze & again, the staff was personable and friendly. We will be staying there again in the future as it fits our needs perfectly! You can't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask for a second floor room for less foot traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripGirl2Busy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGeneralManager, Manager at Travelodge Williamsburg Central, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
thank's to put review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very affordable (the most affordable in the area), clean rooms, and friendly staff. It's a quiet area of Williamsburg, and close to Historic Williamsburg (just drive up Richmond Road for three minutes, and you're there). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLGeneralManager, Manager at Travelodge Williamsburg Central, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
your review help other customer, Thank's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#53 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Williamsburg Historic
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area
4.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Pottery
Econo Lodge Pottery
#65 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Williamsburg Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Williamsburg Central

Property: Travelodge Williamsburg Central
Address: 2225 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2762 (Formerly Captain John Smith Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Williamsburg Central 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Travelodge Williamsburg Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Williamsburg Central Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Travel Lodge
Williamsburg Travelodge
Travel Lodge Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing