We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying $30 a night...what more can you ask for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capt. John Smith Inn
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The staff was friendly. The room wasn't the cleanest but I think it needed an update and was more old than dirty. I always travel with my own bed set and towels so that was not an issue. The ac was a little loud but cooled the room to an amazing temperature. Great location and good value for the money you pay. If your not planning on living on your hotel room during vacation this would be a good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gettysburggal126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2011

The guy on the desk said ' give us a good review', and its easy enough to do so. This place is what you want it to be - clean, cheap and comfortable, with a friendly welcome.

The area is a road full of eating-places, and its not far from Williamsburg's centre.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Older property, but rooms have been updated and are relatively clean (drink stain on nightstand may have been from maintenance visit after I checked in). Heat lamp in bathroom, as well as window with frosted glass. Windows that actually open to get fresh air. No remote control in room. Linens (towels/sheets) are thin, inexpensive variety.

Biggest drawback -- train tracks RIGHT behind room Trains run several times per hour. This impacts EVERY hotel on the west side of route 60/Richmond Road.

For the price ($25/night), I can't complain. It's a bed, a roof over my head, a bathroom and a heater.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The good:
1. It was extremely cheap for those on a budget! This is one of the most important things to us so this is always a plus. It was 32 dollars (including tax) on hotels.com for a night.
2. Location is excellent. It is right in the center of tons of shoppes and restaurants. Locally centralized between Jamestown and Yorktown also.
3. Staff at front desk were very nice and helpful.

The bad:
1. Literally RIGHT NEXT to train tracks that carry passenger trains. It seemed that the train ran every couple of hours. This can be very annoying and loud.
2. Rooms are dated/old/look dirty. I didn't dare go near the comforter (old/dirty). Mold on the bottom of the shower curtain. Refridgerator made bubbly noices. Very used and old room.
3. Matress is very hard/uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I enjoyed my stay and was given excellent tips on directions and food in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YORKFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We booked this hotel spur of the moment because of the price and location. Let's just say, it would have been worth the money to stay ANYWHERE else. This hotel was absolutely HORRIBLE. First we got to our room and immediately found not one but TWO cockroaches on the floor. Disgusting. The room was hot and muggy and the A/C was unplugged! The bed felt like plastic and was horribly uncomfortable, as were the pillows. We felt we had to wear shoes around the entire place and were nervous and apprehensive about sleeping on the bed. As if that wasn't bad enough, it's close to a train station where a train goes by every 30 minutes throughout the day and night and you can hear it...very loudly from the rooms. Absolutely one of the worst places we've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolphinchick014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed in the Travel lodge Williamsburg Central on Richmond road for two nights this last weekend while visiting Bush Gardens. The hotel had what looked like to be a nice pool, but we didnt get a chance to use it because we spent most of our time out on the town. The Manager was very helpful and friendly, the room was clean, and the location was great. We ate dinner two different nights at nice resturants litterally right across the street from the hotel. The Outlet stores are less that 2 miles up the road. We drove to Bush Gardens and arrived in just a few minutes from the Hotel. Overall, I would say this is a great stay for the money and I will deffinately stay again on my next trip to VA.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blm008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Williamsburg/Lightfoot Area
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#53 of 73 in Williamsburg
423 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capt. John Smith Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt. John Smith Inn

Address: 2225 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2762 (Formerly Travelodge Williamsburg Central)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: $43 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Capt. John Smith Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capt. John Smith Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Williamsburg Central Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Travel Lodge
Williamsburg Travelodge
Travel Lodge Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing