We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped in person prior to my overnight trip. It was very unwelcoming and the front desk person was not interested in assisting me at all nor answering any of my questions. I was very close to calling the hotel manager and reporting this, but decided against it. Surely he/she must know how poor the front desk service is. I travel a lot and come in contact with many different persons. I chose to find another place to make my future reservations since this set the tone for the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TravelUSAToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Good Evening TravelUSAToday,

It alarms me that this situation has happened due to the previous reviews rave about the staff's great service, front desk gave great suggestions, and on and on...even using the names of the staff member. We do pride ourselves on service here at the Quality Inn Historic East. I would have definitely appreciated a call as I do have my cell phone number on my business cards to give the guest 100% accessibility to me at any time. I am unsure if you didn't mean the Quality Inn Historic Area here in Williamsburg also. If you do happen to see this response, please feel free to call me at any time or via email at gm.va222@choicehotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 279 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

3 miles from Bush Gardens the hotel was a great location. Tracey at the front desk was very helpful. Decent rates, indoor pool and an awesome breakfast before going to the park made our day! We stayed in room 129 right off the lobby and pool. The room was very spacious and exactly what we needed for our visit to Bush Gardens Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Good Evening christopher1,

We thank you for choosing the Quality Inn for your lodging needs. I will be sure to give Tracy a "High 5" on your behalf. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My boyfriend booked us 2 rooms & luckily they were connecting rooms(if you choose to open the door). That worked out great especially for my 3 yr old. The guy at the desk that checked us in was very polite as was everyone else that I spoke with at the desk. We checked in on Aug 20th & left the 26th. The location of the hotel is convenient to everything we needed. The room I stayed in could have been better though. The size of the room was fine but the cleanliness could have been better. The tub needs some cleaning or needs to be replaced & the bathroom always smelled like pee even after house keeping cleaned our room. There spots on the bedspread so I did not use it at all. I never checked out the pool so I don't know if it was clean or not. Overall my stay was ok but I feel they need to clean the rooms, sheets & towels better. Also redo the bathroom(At least the one in the room I stayed in). I probably would not stay again mainly because I have no desire to visit Williamsburg again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Tasha0000,

I thank you for your feedback and concerns. We have recently contracted out our linen to ensure that we provide crisp, clean, and now pressed linen to our guests! We have also revamped our housekeeping department to ensure our staff provides a clean atmosphere for our guests. I will be sure to give our front desk staff a pat on the back! If you do travel to the Williamsburg area, by all means give us a call!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is close to both Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg -- so it is very convenient if you plan to see most of the attractions in the area. We stayed there during the week of the 4th of July and the hotel was still quiet. The staff was very nice, the hotel is neat and clean; a continental breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Good Evening Maria V,

We are located very convenient to Busch Gardens & Colonial Williamsburg! We do pride ourselves on our service...I will be sure to give the staff a pat on the back! I am glad you have a great visit and we could accommodate you and your family! Look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

we stayed there for one night, tues, aug 21, 2013, and ended up staying 3 more nights. price was great, front staff great. Clean for the most part. Saw management inspecting the place. That was reassuring. Stayed in room 323. Room had 2 doubles, tv LCD, lots of tv channels. Shower good. Ac was ok, turned on and off every 20 mins, maybe that's the way it was. Breakfast was decent, had eggs, sausage, toast, cereal, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal. Juice was good. Yogurt was light kind, so disappointed there, wanted no sweetener type. Breakfast staff was efficient but seemed to be in a hurray, not the talking type. They stopped breakfast right at 9. Computer in lobby slow. The indoor pool stayed open till 11.00 pm, great. Too bad we never made it. Would stay again

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Product-Patrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Good Evening burntberry21,

We thank you for your feedback and I will definitely look into getting regular yogurt and the light yogurt also. We look forward to your return and hope you will return for Christmas in Williamsburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

For the past 6 years my family & I have gone to Busch Gardens for the 4th July. We have stayed at various hotels in Williamsburg before, but the Quality Inn Historic East was absolutely horrible!!!! From check-in to our final departure 2 days later, our stay seemed like a scene from a low budget horror movie. The door to the room was broke, we asked to be switched to another room....bad idea! The room we were switched to was a lot smaller, it smell of stale smoke, and we had a train whizzing by at almost midnight and 4:20am. As if dealing with this wasn't bad enough, we returned from Busch Gardens and thought we would take a swim - not!!! The pool had a film of God knows what floating on top of the water (needless to say we decided to go mini golfing instead). After being out in the heat we wanted to shower before going out to dinner, that was a no go as well. Our towels had been taken but not replaced. When I called down to the front desk the young lady informed me that the "guy who does the laundry decided not to come to work and that there were no towels available". What the heck!!! 15 minutes later the same young lady I called "managed to find me some towels" and brought them up to our room. Her name was Stephania, and she was the only saving grace throughout this whole ordeal. She apologized profusely but I explained to her that as much as I appreciated her efforts to "find" us some towels I would not set foot back into that hotel!

Please don't view this write up as some bitter free-loader being hateful. I give compliments and kudos when they are due, but the Quality Inn Historic East will never have to worry about me or my family returning again!!!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ijeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Good Morning ijeffers,

I do apologize about the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. Unfortunately there is a train that runs by ALL the hotels on busch gardens side of route 60. I do see on your reservation 74 - 7/6 that you were moved, but moved into the same room type and which all of our standard rooms are the same size. As the interior corridor rooms are larger but they are consistently the same size and the exterior corridor, where your reservation was booked, are smaller but they are consistently the same size. As the film on the pool, it most likely was from the baking soda that the pool company applies to the pool to bring up the pH to an acceptable level...as it does make the pool cloudy and put a film on top until the pool begins to be used and it can take up to several hours for it to dissipate. As we do pride ourselves on the great customer service here at the Quality Inn, there is no such excuse that should be told to a guest. However, we have changed our housekeeping staff since your departure on 7/6/2013 and I do apologize for the towel issue. Also, I would have loved to hear these issue prior to your departure in order to resolve them and you leave with a smile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Initially I got a good vibe off the lobby. Checked in at 1am and had a very receptionist. Got to our room and was not pleased. First off, don't plan on charging your phone in your room, chargers just fall right out of the wall. Wearing laying in bed, and the 12 year old tells me there is something sticky on her blankets. She comes and sleeps with me for the night but I don't what it was but it was looking like syrup in the morning and was clearly visible. Housekeeping came that morning but it never got changed. The bathroom tub looked disgusting. I made her wear shoes in the shower. Even worse there was tons of mold on the shower curtain, looked like it should have been replaced months ago.So we decided to relax but the pool the next evening. First off the pool had wayyyy too much chlorine in it. Second, the hot tub I was counting on relaxing in after a long day in the park, wasn't working! Had i known that I would've left after the first night.Was not pleased and would not return again. Great location terrible motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Good Morning Holly P,

We are currently going through all rooms and changing out the electrical outlets as we are finishing up with the main building on the 3rd floor and then we will begin the exterior building. I have investigated the blanket issue, as it was syrup, and we used your comments in training purposes for the housekeeping staff. We have the pool serviced 3 times per week and the local health department inspects all pools monthly and they have found no extreme amounts of chlorine in the pool. However, I did learn from our pool company that the chlorine gas does hover over the top of the water. As for the hot tub, the heater exchange assembly did crack therefore letting water flow directly into the heater itself. We did purchase a new heater and it is currently being shipped from California and should be here any day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Williamsburg Historic District
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#53 of 73 in Williamsburg
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#47 of 73 in Williamsburg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#48 of 73 in Williamsburg
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Magruder Hotel
Fort Magruder Hotel
#64 of 73 in Williamsburg
414 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area

Address: 505 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: $43 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing