We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonies at Williamsburg - meh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Colonies at Williamsburg - meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very spacious unit, lots of supplies for cooking and eating. Good location for outlet mall and Williamsburg. Clean, but the entry hallways to the apartments had a very strong scent of dog. Wet dog. Same odor observed in the closet of one of the bedrooms, where the vacuum cleaner was stored. Suspect a change of vacuum cleaner bag should be done. View off back deck ( we were in an upper unit) was of trees, and a broken down rusting double wide trailer observed through the trees. I would think this would be the prominent feature in the winter months. Foot high weeds growing in the gutters of the units. Workout facility sparse. There are better options in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmom221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
First impressions are everything and we’re disappointed to learn that we didn’t make a good impression on you. We’re sorry that we failed to meet your expectations because we normally receive many compliments on our beautiful accommodations and housekeeping services. We hope that our spacious units and prime location to attractions in Williamsburg will entice you to return so that we may have another opportunity to provide you with a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    125
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
256
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The room was amazing! With two bedrooms there was plenty of room for our party to spread out. With three TVs there was mo fighting over what to watch. The kitchen was well stocked and the money we saved by cooking was worth it. The kids loved the pool after a day of walking around. I would recommend staying here to anyone coming to Williamsberg.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5WIRams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The rooms we had 64A and 64B were wonderful. Very clean and obviously pretty new. Each unit had 2 bedrooms each with it's own bathroom. The master bath was wonderful with a huge shower. Small balcony off each room, but there really wasn't a view of anything. We had both units on the second floor and it was super private, like having an entire hotel floor to yourselves. Both units also each had their own washer/dryer which is always great for wet bathing suits. It was about 7 - 8 miles to Busch Gardens and Water Country. Only about 3 - 4 miles to Colonial Williamsburg. Both granddaughters really enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor pools. Less than 1 mile away is a main street with lots of restuarants, shopping mall, and a Food Lion grocery store. Only problem we had the first night was a lack of parking. Each unit is supposed to get 1 parking pass with other vehicles having to park in an overflow lot. When we got to our units, all spaces were already taken. My husband counted units and spaces available and there actually are enough spaces alloted for the number of units. My guess is there were people without passes parking where they shouldn't have been. There aren't elevators but there are only 2 floors to each building.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havesuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Overall, we had a very nice stay at the Colonies. The room was clean and very nice. We felt comfortable and at home. Our main complaint, and one that may keep us from staying there in the future, is that the Colonies have a "Voluntary Non-Smoking Policy"...which means we could stay there in the future and get a room that someone has or has not smoked in...just a matter of chance. If smoking is allowed, hotels normally have specifically assigned smoking and non-smoking rooms. We don't understand this voluntary thing, but we got lucky and got a room that nobody had smoked in.

A couple of days that we had gone to the pool, the crowd was a bit rowdy, but they seemed to have left after a few days. The outdoor pool area is pretty fun for the kids and adults, too. The indoor pool isn't that great, but it rained a bit while we were there so we used it once. There are grills in the outdoor pool area which is nice, too.

There are no elevators, so if you are staying on an upper floor, plan on stairs. It actually wasn't bad, other than the unpacking part.

Overall, we had a nice stay. We wouldn't return, though, unless they changed their smoking policy, but if the policy doesn't bother you, then I would recommend the Colonies to you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caribbean528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlstadt, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in July 2013 at The Colonies at Williamsburg. The place is very clean and spacious, but we went to have a nice vacation and ended up with a big dent to our minivan. Some one hit our van while it was in the parking space in the property and left without calling about it. But there was a lady who saw the accident and went to the front disk to report it. when we saw our minivan we called the security guard who called the office and one of the manager came to the scene and told us about the lady who saw the accident, and when we went to report it to the office (front disk), they acted like they did not know anything about it. They were not cooperative in trying to find out who hit our van, there is no security cameras. They did not offer any type of compensations or accommodations. we're back with a very badly dented vehicle. Not happy at all with that, and they do not want to take care of that. Their manager said consider like it was a hit in a mall or a grocery store parking lot, can you believe that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ydemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, Pa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently stayed that The Colonies at Williamsburg. The units were clean, nicely furnished and spacious. The resort is new and there is some construction , but we were not disturbed by it. The staff was friendly. Upon arrival we were pressured a bit to attend a free lunch with gifts to give our feedback about the resort. We declined to do so and the person at the front desk was not pleased. We were not approached at any other time which was great. Overall we really enjoyed our time there and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy6049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was one of the nicest places I have stayed room wise. I stayed in a 2BR upstairs unit 8A. The master bathroom is amazing with a huge shower. The rooms are Clean modern and spacious. The grounds are very nice not much scenery. The outdoor pool area is really nice and great fun for the kids. The indoor pool is also really nice. They have good daily activities for the kids and a nice little game room. They also have a really nice tennis court and a few other outdoor activities. Its around the corner from RT.60 which has a ton of restaurants and pancake houses lol. Virginia is the capital of pancake houses. There are some other things to do near the resort minigolf, bowling alley etc. It is also very easy easy to get to busch gardens and water country usa from here its a 12 min. drive. I went from august 2-9 and even though the resort was booked up it was not crowded at all near the pools and activity areas. I will definetly stay here again. BTW if your an owner at another timeshare dont do the 45min survey even though they give you a free breakfast and a gift card. I really took 2 hours and there just trying to sell you a timeshare for the williamsburg plantation which is around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanmanreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
King's Creek Plantation Resort
King's Creek Plantation Resort
#17 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort

Property: The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Address: 5380 Olde Towne Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1922
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for your next family vacation, The Colonies at Williamsburg boasts residential-style accommodations consisting of two- and four-bedroom condominiums with full kitchens and electric fireplaces designed for maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room areas in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Resort amenities include indoor & outdoor heated pools with water features, an outdoor hot tub and tennis courts. The resort is just minutes from the most popular attractions in the area including Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and popular retail outlet stores. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing