We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our family(2 adults, 4 kids ages 17, 13, 12, 6) had a fantastic mini vacation at your resort!! After I booked and realized it was a time share, I panicked. I've heard horror stories about staying at a timeshare. Not one time were we approached or pressured into listening to a speech or buying anything. The condo was perfect for us. The washer/dryer in the unit was great and it was fully stocked with all necessary amenities. The kids loved the pool. Saw some remarks about high chlorine and yes, it was high but there were a lot of ppl in the water and I've never been at a public facility where the chlorine wasn't high. Check in was listed as 4:00. We arrived at 3:00 and were given access to all amenities until room was ready. It wasn't ready until 5:15 but we enjoyed the pool until then. Although we had no issue with it, I guEss I can see how some would be annoyed with the limited parking. Checkout literally took seconds and staff was friendly. The Internet with printer access was awesome for printing our eticket for cabana rental at water country and also printing our directions home. It was a nice convenience. I would definitely stay at this resort again. Recommend asking for a 2nd floor unit for the private w/d if you have no issue with steps. Thank you for making our family vacation a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 441 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

I'm staying now at The Colonies and just after arriving, my husband and I were already excited about planning next users vacation! I can't say enough great things about the suite. It's upscale and is equipped with EVERYTHING you need to prepare meals for a large family. The bathrooms and bedrooms are spacious and beautiful. Other surprises were the washer and dryer (which have already came in use on day 1) and the in room safe for valuables. There are 2 DVD players which was also a pleasant surprise. The staff have been wonderful. We visited the pool yesterday and had a blast! I'm so excited I get to enjoy 4 more days here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rhobbs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your lovely post on The Colonies at Williamsburg We’re very fortunate to have such a great location, beautiful rooms, great amenities and an awesome staff to deliver service day in and day out. We appreciate you sharing your experience with others on tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is my third time staying here with my family of 10 each time has gotten better ! LOVED the pool liked how there were benches in the water that allowed me to watch over the kids ! And the whirlpool was amazing.the condo in itself was awesome ! Fully furnished kitchen was awesome loved to cook there one downside was the grill was around the corner of the condo and made it difficult to carry food in and out. Very spacious rooms and bathrooms nice, neat and organized one other thing was that tgere was construction going on was not very bothersome at all but may be for oyhers very nice snd understanable staff very welcoming too ! The wrist bands tgat are given at check in also make for a great souvenir ! We had planned to leave early morining (2 am) to checkout so we could miss out traffic and get a head start on our 7 hour ride homre but we hac to get our condo checkef which did not alow us to do so but the lady was very fast and detailed while checkjng she also took note for the comments we had ... overall had an excellent week here and will be back again next year

Room Tip: Bottom floor !!! And try to stay away from ponds if you dont like frogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you, what nice things you have to say! We’re thrilled to know that we have continued to provide you with great vacations at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We really appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you and your family again the next time you visit our lovely city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just got home from the Colonies and I can't wait to try and book this place again, but I'll bet it will be hard to do! I almost hate to share such a good review because everyone will want to go here, and then they'll be sold out. This is definitely a family resort, if you want quiet romance, don't go here.

First, the condo was first class! Large, well decorated and with every ammenity. Big bedrooms and comfy beds. Super large master bath with a walk-in shower big enough to fit six people, if you wanted. The kitchen was well supplied and there was a large dining table and six, full size fridge with ice maker, lots of dishes and appliances. Big screen TV in every room and DVD players. Just top notch. Everything was new.

The pool area with the slide, waterfalls and play area was a huge hit with the kids. They had a blast every day. If you get there before the first half of the day you will get a table and umbrella and be able to hang out and have lunch pool side. It never seemed too crowded, though much more busy on the weekends. Only draw back is that there is no lifeguard and very, very little supervision. So you need to watch and police your own kids closely. Do not send your kids to the pool alone.

They have activities every day for the kids. Glitter tattoos, art projects, contests, etc. They range from free to $10 we paid for the kids to learn to write with a real quill pen with a Ben Franklin look a like, they loved it! We also took advatage of the discounted Haunted Tour, saved $5 bucks, and saw a little history. Free board games and DVD's to use and a video game room with ping pong. They have a nice little gym with treads.

Only draw backs were, no life guard or monitor made for a few kids being rowdy. Mostly parents took care of that. There are only charcoal, no gas grills at the condos. Parking is limited to one vehicle in the space provided and any other car goes to the overflow lot, not really a big deal, but some guests were rude and didn't play fair.

Oh, and of course, hard core sales for the time share. If you choose to go for the free $75 bucks (I did, I'm an owner already) get ready to be drilled for and hour at least. Or just pass and save yourself the pain.

Go to the small, close-by beach at Jamestown, perfect for little kids, no wake, clean, lots of shade in the tree line. Virginia Beach is a 45 minute drive, and well worth it if you've never been and like the beach scene. Fun boardwalk and shops, plenty of dining and sight seeing. Don't even attempt this at rush hour, you will be sorry.

Right down the street are "Oceans and Ale" restaurant (seafood, yum), Food Lion grocery and Rite Aid. Lots of outlet and antique shopping close and a ton of restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LucyBrownlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We love to hear from all our guests, but we especially love it when they tell us they’ve enjoyed their stay! We’re thrilled to know that we provided you with an exceptional vacation at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We take great pride in our service and sharing this type of feedback with our team will surely boost moral through the summer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others on tripadvisor and we can’t wait to welcome you back to Williamsburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was excited for our family trip to The Colonies after seeing the resort pictures. First impressions: the villas are amazing. Not too many details were overlooked inside. Very nice amenities: bedrooms, showers, jetted tubs, and beds.

However, with that said, we were disappointed with the rest. Checking in was not pleasant. Friendliness was lacking when checked in. The playground is toddler sized. Not something for even 5 & 6 year olds to slide down on. Another reviewer stated that most things were geared toward younger children. We had a difficult time finding anything for our kids, other than the pool.

The outdoor pool was much of a disappointment as well. As others have said, it was extremely overcrowded. The only thing my kids could do was go down the slide. We risked bringing our kids through a water dodgeball game to get to the "lazy river" - nothing available to float on. My kids couldn't reach the bottom for most of the pool, so the only thing they could do was go down the slide. The indoor pool can become very overcrowded as well.

We sat down to listen to their "talk" which was a waste of a day. It started with a free lunch. We went to the restaurant and waited 1.5 hours for the food, that never came. Sweet old gentleman, they could definitely use some more help. We were told it was a 45 minute presentation. We were stuck in there for almost 5 hours! I told the gentleman that they could use more pools, things for kids, etc, especially if they were still building. He told me that maintenance fees would prevent that from happening. He was much more excited about the golf course.

If you enjoy all the villa amenities, this place is great. If you are looking for more than that, it's lacking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. You will get your own washer and dryer. Rooms on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kokua5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your overall positive review but we’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations. Unfortunately no one resort can be everything to everyone, but we do try to make all of our guests happy at The Colonies. Most of the time we’re quite successful and our guests return to vacation with us again and again. We hope that our suite amenities will entice you to return the next time you’re in Williamsburg so that we may have another chance to exceed all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

After reading the reviews here and also on another site, we felt it was the best bet in Williamsburg.
While the unit we had was spacious, well appointed, and appeared clean it is in a sprawling setting of individual units, and there was always a drive to get to the main area with pool, etc. The pool was overcrowded and WAY smaller than the photos make it look. The chlorine smell was overwhelming in the hotel lobby and kids game room.
The good points are the staff, VERY nice and generous with their time, and help. Beyond that, we were UNDER whelmed. Why? welll....
the workout room is minimal and small.The pool is small, heavily chlorinated, and the waterslide geared for little kids only. The kitchen is stocked okay. The activities for kids are geared to little ones, and the only teen night was a disaster. They did nothing to make it interesting or special for the kids, not only mine who reported this but our neighbors in our unit who had their two kids attend also.
Worst, there was a roach in my bathroom the last day of our stay. I know that this happens in multi shared unit living but ugh...really?
Despite all of this, we enjoyed the area and had alot of fun. I mean, it still is far better than any hotel room could be.

Room Tip: The lower the room number the closer it is to the clubhouse and pool. Some units are upstairs, so wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamela2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re disappointed to learn that our resort didn’t meet all of your expectations. Our Activities Department offers an array of activities for every age. Every week we have a different Activities Calendar that feature arts and crafts projects that every guest can participate in like ceramic painting, making body scrubs, finger painting, and creating beaded bracelets and souvenir canvas bags. We also encourage guests to participate in resort activities like ping pong tournaments, couples trivia games, ice cream socials, BBQ bingo and Karaoke. We're thankful that you appreciated our well-appointed suites and our friendly hospitality and we hope that you return soon so that we may continue to prove that we are always the best choice for lodging in Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice well managed resort. The staff at the front desk are exceptionally nice and helpful especially Kalvin. The outside pool at first glance looks like is caters to kids but offers something for everyone even our family which consists of a 20 & 16 year old. The units are very spacious and offer all the amenities. Some people do not like the fact that they do not clean your units without a charge - but I prefer to have no one entering my unit at all. The resort is very well secured which I appreciated as well. The only cons were construction which only looked unsightly but did not bother us - there was no added noise from it and due to the newness of the resort I missed the mature trees.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your five star review! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed all the comforts of home and the attentive service that we provide at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor and we hope to share our hospitality with you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
4 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort

Address: 5380 Olde Towne Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1922
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: $156 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for your next family vacation, The Colonies at Williamsburg boasts residential-style accommodations consisting of two- and four-bedroom condominiums with full kitchens and electric fireplaces designed for maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room areas in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Resort amenities include indoor & outdoor heated pools with water features, an outdoor hot tub and tennis courts. The resort is just minutes from the most popular attractions in the area including Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and popular retail outlet stores. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing