We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vacation Yet !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Yet !”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is my third time staying here with my family of 10 each time has gotten better ! LOVED the pool liked how there were benches in the water that allowed me to watch over the kids ! And the whirlpool was amazing.the condo in itself was awesome ! Fully furnished kitchen was awesome loved to cook there one downside was the grill was around the corner of the condo and made it difficult to carry food in and out. Very spacious rooms and bathrooms nice, neat and organized one other thing was that tgere was construction going on was not very bothersome at all but may be for oyhers very nice snd understanable staff very welcoming too ! The wrist bands tgat are given at check in also make for a great souvenir ! We had planned to leave early morining (2 am) to checkout so we could miss out traffic and get a head start on our 7 hour ride homre but we hac to get our condo checkef which did not alow us to do so but the lady was very fast and detailed while checkjng she also took note for the comments we had ... overall had an excellent week here and will be back again next year

Room Tip: Bottom floor !!! And try to stay away from ponds if you dont like frogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you, what nice things you have to say! We’re thrilled to know that we have continued to provide you with great vacations at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We really appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you and your family again the next time you visit our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    124
    36
    14
    3
See reviews for
254
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just got home from the Colonies and I can't wait to try and book this place again, but I'll bet it will be hard to do! I almost hate to share such a good review because everyone will want to go here, and then they'll be sold out. This is definitely a family resort, if you want quiet romance, don't go here.

First, the condo was first class! Large, well decorated and with every ammenity. Big bedrooms and comfy beds. Super large master bath with a walk-in shower big enough to fit six people, if you wanted. The kitchen was well supplied and there was a large dining table and six, full size fridge with ice maker, lots of dishes and appliances. Big screen TV in every room and DVD players. Just top notch. Everything was new.

The pool area with the slide, waterfalls and play area was a huge hit with the kids. They had a blast every day. If you get there before the first half of the day you will get a table and umbrella and be able to hang out and have lunch pool side. It never seemed too crowded, though much more busy on the weekends. Only draw back is that there is no lifeguard and very, very little supervision. So you need to watch and police your own kids closely. Do not send your kids to the pool alone.

They have activities every day for the kids. Glitter tattoos, art projects, contests, etc. They range from free to $10 we paid for the kids to learn to write with a real quill pen with a Ben Franklin look a like, they loved it! We also took advatage of the discounted Haunted Tour, saved $5 bucks, and saw a little history. Free board games and DVD's to use and a video game room with ping pong. They have a nice little gym with treads.

Only draw backs were, no life guard or monitor made for a few kids being rowdy. Mostly parents took care of that. There are only charcoal, no gas grills at the condos. Parking is limited to one vehicle in the space provided and any other car goes to the overflow lot, not really a big deal, but some guests were rude and didn't play fair.

Oh, and of course, hard core sales for the time share. If you choose to go for the free $75 bucks (I did, I'm an owner already) get ready to be drilled for and hour at least. Or just pass and save yourself the pain.

Go to the small, close-by beach at Jamestown, perfect for little kids, no wake, clean, lots of shade in the tree line. Virginia Beach is a 45 minute drive, and well worth it if you've never been and like the beach scene. Fun boardwalk and shops, plenty of dining and sight seeing. Don't even attempt this at rush hour, you will be sorry.

Right down the street are "Oceans and Ale" restaurant (seafood, yum), Food Lion grocery and Rite Aid. Lots of outlet and antique shopping close and a ton of restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LucyBrownlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We love to hear from all our guests, but we especially love it when they tell us they’ve enjoyed their stay! We’re thrilled to know that we provided you with an exceptional vacation at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We take great pride in our service and sharing this type of feedback with our team will surely boost moral through the summer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others on tripadvisor and we can’t wait to welcome you back to Williamsburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was excited for our family trip to The Colonies after seeing the resort pictures. First impressions: the villas are amazing. Not too many details were overlooked inside. Very nice amenities: bedrooms, showers, jetted tubs, and beds.

However, with that said, we were disappointed with the rest. Checking in was not pleasant. Friendliness was lacking when checked in. The playground is toddler sized. Not something for even 5 & 6 year olds to slide down on. Another reviewer stated that most things were geared toward younger children. We had a difficult time finding anything for our kids, other than the pool.

The outdoor pool was much of a disappointment as well. As others have said, it was extremely overcrowded. The only thing my kids could do was go down the slide. We risked bringing our kids through a water dodgeball game to get to the "lazy river" - nothing available to float on. My kids couldn't reach the bottom for most of the pool, so the only thing they could do was go down the slide. The indoor pool can become very overcrowded as well.

We sat down to listen to their "talk" which was a waste of a day. It started with a free lunch. We went to the restaurant and waited 1.5 hours for the food, that never came. Sweet old gentleman, they could definitely use some more help. We were told it was a 45 minute presentation. We were stuck in there for almost 5 hours! I told the gentleman that they could use more pools, things for kids, etc, especially if they were still building. He told me that maintenance fees would prevent that from happening. He was much more excited about the golf course.

If you enjoy all the villa amenities, this place is great. If you are looking for more than that, it's lacking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. You will get your own washer and dryer. Rooms on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kokua5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your overall positive review but we’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations. Unfortunately no one resort can be everything to everyone, but we do try to make all of our guests happy at The Colonies. Most of the time we’re quite successful and our guests return to vacation with us again and again. We hope that our suite amenities will entice you to return the next time you’re in Williamsburg so that we may have another chance to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

After reading the reviews here and also on another site, we felt it was the best bet in Williamsburg.
While the unit we had was spacious, well appointed, and appeared clean it is in a sprawling setting of individual units, and there was always a drive to get to the main area with pool, etc. The pool was overcrowded and WAY smaller than the photos make it look. The chlorine smell was overwhelming in the hotel lobby and kids game room.
The good points are the staff, VERY nice and generous with their time, and help. Beyond that, we were UNDER whelmed. Why? welll....
the workout room is minimal and small.The pool is small, heavily chlorinated, and the waterslide geared for little kids only. The kitchen is stocked okay. The activities for kids are geared to little ones, and the only teen night was a disaster. They did nothing to make it interesting or special for the kids, not only mine who reported this but our neighbors in our unit who had their two kids attend also.
Worst, there was a roach in my bathroom the last day of our stay. I know that this happens in multi shared unit living but ugh...really?
Despite all of this, we enjoyed the area and had alot of fun. I mean, it still is far better than any hotel room could be.

Room Tip: The lower the room number the closer it is to the clubhouse and pool. Some units are upstairs, so wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamela2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re disappointed to learn that our resort didn’t meet all of your expectations. Our Activities Department offers an array of activities for every age. Every week we have a different Activities Calendar that feature arts and crafts projects that every guest can participate in like ceramic painting, making body scrubs, finger painting, and creating beaded bracelets and souvenir canvas bags. We also encourage guests to participate in resort activities like ping pong tournaments, couples trivia games, ice cream socials, BBQ bingo and Karaoke. We're thankful that you appreciated our well-appointed suites and our friendly hospitality and we hope that you return soon so that we may continue to prove that we are always the best choice for lodging in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owego, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice well managed resort. The staff at the front desk are exceptionally nice and helpful especially Kalvin. The outside pool at first glance looks like is caters to kids but offers something for everyone even our family which consists of a 20 & 16 year old. The units are very spacious and offer all the amenities. Some people do not like the fact that they do not clean your units without a charge - but I prefer to have no one entering my unit at all. The resort is very well secured which I appreciated as well. The only cons were construction which only looked unsightly but did not bother us - there was no added noise from it and due to the newness of the resort I missed the mature trees.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your five star review! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed all the comforts of home and the attentive service that we provide at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor and we hope to share our hospitality with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, WI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We are timeshare owners at Sheraton's Vistana - Orlando and Sheraton's Broadway Plantation in Myrtle Beach. These are amazing resorts and have spoiled us. So my expectations of a non-Sheraton/non-Westin resort were not terribly high. But we were surprised.

Pros:
Plenty of room for our family of four. We had a two bedroom with a king bed in the master and a queen bed in the other room. We would have preferred two double beds or even two twins for our son and daughter, but they survived.

Well stocked kitchen.

Clean. No bugs, no maintenance issues.

Nice pool area - even though there's just one indoor and one outdoor pool for a fairly sizable complex, we never had a problem getting a table with an umbrella, which is surprising.

Staff was friendly.

Cons:
Another pool geared for older kids and adults would be great (preferably with a bar!). The ones they have, especially the outdoor one, are really more for small children.

Our living room TV remote didn't work to change the channels. Not a big deal. Just a minor annoyance.

Any time we wanted to participate in something (buy ice cream bars or sundaes by the pool, or join in the wine tasting group) we were unable to charge it to the room. I've never encountered this at our other resorts. It's so much easier for the guests to charge things to the room and I'd think they'd be more inclined to spend more money that way.

They could use a concierge. Perhaps they have one but we never saw one. The staff was a little sparse for such a sizable resort.


Final thoughts:
We probably won't return to Williamsburg. Once was good for us. But if we ever did, we would definitely stay at the Colonies again. We were very comfortable here and the place seems to be growing. I would expect within a few years they will have at least one more pool to accommodate their size.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor so you can have your own washer and dryer. First floor people hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We’re thrilled that you were pleasantly surprised by our resort and service while you were at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We work very hard to ensure that everyone has a great vacation with us and we’re always happy to hear when we’ve succeeded. The resort does offer concierge service. Your thoughtful suggestions on how we can improve our service have been forwarded to management for further review. We hope that you do return to our wonderful city again and in turn stay with us at The Colonies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My family stayed at the Colonies this past week and had ag great stay. There were 5 of us and can spdefibitely say there was ample room and you couldn't rent to hotel rooms as cheap as we had here. The units are very secure and well maintained. The staff was very friendly, fast and accommodating. The kitchen is well stocked so you can safe and cook meals here if you prefer. There is also a grill and picnic table at each unit. The units are very clean and nicely decorated...there are flat screen TVs in the living area and each bedroom. There is a washer/dryer available in between two units to share. WiFi is available for free and there are quite a number of recreational activities on-site including 2 pools, game room and tennis courts. Here you are within 15 minutes of Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens and within a few miles of an outlet mall and several restaurants.

The only possible negative I could find is the lack of linen change without a fee. Towels are provide for 6 and if you want fresh, you can either wash yourself or pay a $6.00 exchange fee.

All in all, this was one of the nicest places we have stayed and would definitely stay again when visiting this area.

Room Tip: They do have ground units and 2nd story units. Request a ground unit if you have trouble with stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheila0866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
WOW! We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful comments about your stay at The Colonies at Williamsburg! It’s truly a pleasure to know that our staff was attentive to your needs and that you enjoyed the spacious accommodations offered. Your detailed comments will help future guests get the most out of their own vacation and we thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor for others for see. We hope to welcome you back to your home away from home in Williamsburg soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
6.8 mi away
King's Creek Plantation Resort
King's Creek Plantation Resort
#17 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort

Property: The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Address: 5380 Olde Towne Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1922
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for your next family vacation, The Colonies at Williamsburg boasts residential-style accommodations consisting of two- and four-bedroom condominiums with full kitchens and electric fireplaces designed for maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room areas in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Resort amenities include indoor & outdoor heated pools with water features, an outdoor hot tub and tennis courts. The resort is just minutes from the most popular attractions in the area including Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and popular retail outlet stores. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing