We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I picked this resort, among others in the area, based on the pictures uploaded and the reviews on TripAdvisor - still, expecting nothing out of the ordinary; but it was. The room was exceptionally well-taken care of - well-equiped with everything you needed. Free HBO and WIFI kept us busy in the evenings. The indoor pool was a great alternative on windy days, but with good sun, the out door was just perfect - lots of fun. Limited options to buy food at the pool, but you can take your own.

Supermarket and a big outlet within a mile - really convenient. Really close to all the area attractions, Busch Gardens, Colonial Jamestown and a beautiful drive to the Yorktown and Jamestown area.

Must say, the best time share exchange ever for us.

Room Tip: First floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely 5-star recommendation of The Colonies at Williamsburg! We’re fortunate to have such a beautiful resort and a great staff to deliver service day in and day out. We love knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    138
    38
    16
    4
See reviews for
273
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We exchanged our time share in Orlando, FL for a week at The Colonies at Williamsburg. The property is fairly new and it is very nicely appointed. Our unit was 26B and it was a two-bedroom-two bath. It was HUGE. The furniture was not top of the line, but it was very nice, unlike the lower end furniture in some vacation rentals. The kitchen had everything you would want a kitchen to have, including granite counter tops, which were also in the bathrooms. In the master bathroom, there is a dressing table area with padded stool and lighted makeup mirror. That was such a plus! I could spread out all of my items, leaving the vanity space for my husband. Plus, there was the other bathroom! This unit would easily fit four adults comfortably! There are flat screen televisions in the two bedrooms, as well as one in the living room area, above the gas fireplace! Everything is so comfortable. We were on the second floor, so we had a balcony with table and chairs. The only reason this property does not get a five is the view. There was no view! Still, the location is good. It is about 2.5 miles from the congested area of Williamsburg, and close to a shopping area with grocery store and an outlet mall. There are many good local restuarants nearby, as well as the chains. The unit also has a washer/dryer, which was wonderful. It was so easy to do the laundry before going on to the Outer Banks.

My husband and I did not use the indoor or outdoor swimming area. It was quite cool while we were there, and we were busy during the day with visiting Colonial Williamsburg, Newport, etc. Day trips are easy from this location.

If you have children, they have a great water play area and there are grills to BBQ. Book it! You will enjoy it!

Room Tip: If you want a first floor room, be sure to request that ahead of time. Security doors require your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely recommendation. We take a lot of pride in The Colonies at Williamsburg and are so excited when our guests are pleased with our efforts. You really shared all that we feel is so wonderful about our resort and we’re happy to know that you have enjoyed our service. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again the next time you’re in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent vacation resort! We used this resort as a result of a time share exchange. The unit was spotless, fully equipped with everything you can think of, and it ended up being one of our best exchanges in over 30+ years of time share exchanges. We had a ground level unit and heard very little noise from other units. We were able to take our dog to this resort, which was great for us. The staff are super friendly and accommodating. We had a 2 bedroom unit, one bedroom had a queen size bed and the other had a king size bed. Both were very spacious. One of the 2 bathroom had a huge walk in shower, which was wonderful. Each bedroom as well as the living space had flat screen TV's. The furniture was very comfortable as were the beds. We definitely plan to go back to this resort. Also, there is an excellent Italian restaurant 1/2 mile away that we visited multiple times, called Old Towne Pizza and Pasta.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 79kmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you, because you have made the whole resort buzz with your TripAdvisor comments! The morale boost will last for us because we know that we were successful in providing you with a good vacation experience. Thanks for taking the time to share your review on The Colonies at Williamsburg and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The units at the Colonies are quite new, some even under construction. All have 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms along with a full kitchen and living/patio area. The kitchen is completely supplied with full-sized appliances, and we appreciated the in-unit washer and dryer. The units must be insulated well as we did not hear any noise from other guests. Too early for the outdoor pool, but the indoor pool was wonderful. The staff was friendly and efficient. The easy access to area shopping and attractions is a real plus!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroleirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Wow, thank you for the amazing review! We appreciate you pointing out our amenities and location that set us apart from other resorts in Williamsburg. Thank you for choosing The Colonies at Williamsburg for your vacation and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A group of six of us stayed in a two bedroom unit that sleeps 8 and there was plenty of room for us. The units are fairly new, nicely decorated, and spacious with a large kitchen, dining room, and two large bathrooms. Some of the views from the balconies look out into wooded areas. The clubhouse had indoor and outdoor pools and a hot tub outside. The outdoor pools were still closed for the season when we were there, but appeared to have a water playground for the kids. There are also group tours, classes, and activities available through the front desk. The complex is several miles outside of the main part of Williamsburg where Colonial Willaimsburg and William and Mary are, but that can also be a plus given the traffic around those historic areas. We've stayed in williamsburg several times and this was one of the best places we stayed. Would recommend day trips to Jamestown, Yorktown, and Hoggs Island via the Jamestown ferry (free).

Room Tip: Might be best to get a second or third level room. Ground floor rooms can be a little noisy as all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripprf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your detailed description of your stay at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We’re sure your comments will help future guests get the most out of their own vacation. We’re so happy that you enjoy your time with us and the time spent exploring Williamsburg. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stumbled upon this location via my time share. The member ratings very good so I decided to visit. The kids jaws dropped from the moment the walked in. they loved the accommodations. Appliances and televisions are new. Rooms well appointed and spacious. Room was inviting and immediately felt like home away from home. The location is in great proximity of all the area attractions, Busch Gardens, Ripley's Believe it or Not, Jamestown, etc. Lots of restaurants nearby to choose from, and a Outlet shopping mall which was a bonus.
The kids loved the swimming pool indoor, as well as the play area, and my wife enjoyed the outdoor hot tub.
It was my first trip to Williamsburg, VA and I will be sure to return.
The one downside that I noticed was the sound of a train, the premise is not to far from a train track. although it didn't run late at night or sound the horn (whilst I was there) I did hear it on a couple of occasions. Bar that, everything else is spot on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TriniReveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
First impressions are lasting and we’re glad to know that our resort made a great impression on you! Thank you for your 5-star recommendation of The Colonies at Williamsburg and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you and your family again the next time you’re in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, MA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Don't know how to describe perfect. Quiet, upscale amenities and large units, Friendly Staff, pool was large and Fun, and location was great. Easy ride to all attractions. This complex is still in the process of being built but in our unit we didn't hear any construction. Would love to go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you, we think you did a lovely job describing our resort! We’re so happy to know that you enjoyed our service at The Colonies at Williamsburg and we really appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.4 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort

Property: The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Address: 5380 Olde Towne Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1922
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for your next family vacation, The Colonies at Williamsburg boasts residential-style accommodations consisting of two- and four-bedroom condominiums with full kitchens and electric fireplaces designed for maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room areas in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Resort amenities include indoor & outdoor heated pools with water features, an outdoor hot tub and tennis courts. The resort is just minutes from the most popular attractions in the area including Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and popular retail outlet stores. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing