We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good customer service. Best pool area we've seen @ any timeshare.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good customer service. Best pool area we've seen @ any timeshare.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Strange layout. We thought they were conventional townhouses. But there are 4 apts in each section. 2 upstairs 2 downstairs. Parking is awful. Too many handicap places,never used. Not enough room per unit. We only had 1 car. We were rarely able to park outside our unit. There should be # places for each unit. Beds are VERY hard. Like a brick with a pillowtop cover. I never got a good nights rest! Nicely decorated. But not top quality. Edges of tables & chairs showing wear. Not sure they will stand up to the wear & tear of a timeshare. Customer Service great! Very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DreamingNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    119
    34
    12
    3
See reviews for
239
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was unsure what to expect with so many postings asking about the construction. I recommend you disregard these references. The reality is that this is a new resort that has been and will continue to be under construction for some time. None of the construction affected our stay. We were very, very impressed with the accommodations. We are owners at the Palm Springs Tennis Club and visited this location on an exchange. We had a two bedroom, two bath unit on the second floor. Our unit was well appointed, elegantly decorated and well stocked. Our unit had a washer/dryer which came in very handy. I learned about the Vacation Village sales schtick when we stayed at one of their places in Florida and knew to tell them to put us on the "do not call list". I'm very, very thankful that they respected my wishes and were very gracious when I made the request. This is a huge difference from their Weston, Fla location. I would stay here again without any hesitation and highly recommend it if you are looking for a place close to all the Williamsburg attractions. BTW, one of the locals told me that the Richmond airport is the best airport to use. Not having been to Williamsburg before we had a tough time figuring out which airport to pick, Newport News, Norfolk or Richmond. We went with Norfolk because it had the most flight options and made the 1.5 hour drive (in heavy traffic). If you fly in and out of Norfolk give yourself lots of time to get to and from because the beach bound traffic during the summer will slow you down. Finally, if you have a chance to visit their day spa (located at their sister property, the Williamsburg Plantation) make sure you do so. Kim provided a great hot stone massage.

Room Tip: They do not have elevators so if you have any special mobility needs or are traveling with small chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabby92399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in one the newer units which we were told just opened a month prior. I'll begin with the room. Nice, clean, spacious. Very basic, not very luxurious. Seems like a 'cheaper" quality construction. I have to say Nice glass shower in master bedroom which was the most luxurious part of the room. The beds were not all that comfortable considering the unit was supposedly opened just a month ago. The King bed sagged on either side and 'up' like a hump in the middle. I felt like a valley on either side and a mountain in the middle. Shocking considering not many people slept on the bed yet if its only a month old. We paid 229 per night for the unit rental. They charged a $2 per night bed tax plus the basic room tax. There is no daily 'maid' service in the unit unless you pay extra. This includes towel exchange. We were told the maximum they could give our family of 4 would be 6 "sets" of towels (so 6 bath, 6 hand, 6 wash). They charge $6 for a "towel exchange". I totally minded washing towels everyday being that i was on vacation but oh well $6 was just a bit steep in my opinion.
As for the 2 pools: The outdoor pool is fabulous!! The best feature of this place with great areas for all ages. They do provide towels which is a very strict (alittle annoying) sign out and sign back on return policy but at least there were towels provided and plenty of chairs and tables with umbrellas.The pool is very nice and very clean! Totally great outdoor pool area!! The indoor pool area also very nice with basketball hoops in the pool and nice entries and depths. Very clean too. Then, There's a very very small little slide play thing for kids just off the pool area.

As for the activities: Well.....they don't have activities running on the weekends. Only the weekdays. They also nickel and dime you for the activities they offer. There's crafts (they charge for), other things. We did the magic show $10. It was cute but very short. We did the BBQ bingo night---- OMG. The food was horrible! Don't waste your money or time. You get one roll with a certain amount of pulled pork or pulled chicken and don't expect to ask for a second.... not allowed and don't expect it to be quality or tasty. And, the kids are allowed either chips OR a brownie with their one hot dog...... (If you're child wants chips and a brownie---- you're child can only pick one or the other and they can't have a second hot dog either.) Then the bag of chips had an old date on it besides....come on!. Can we at least have a fresh bag of chips! And, don't bother wasting you're time with management- they really don't want to be bothered. They are in need of major customer service training here in many areas. Oh.... and the bingo--- well, it's bingo and that's it. The charge is $7 for kids and $10 for adults. I recommend Eating somewhere else and play bingo as a family in the room.

The Front Desk staff and other staff- they helped and responded to an issue i had on the very first night there but the majority of staff needs major customer service and relations training. Mostly a very young staff and would be great with some training.

Units SHARE a washer /dryer. Fortunately, no one was in the unit next to us but this can be annoying and inconvenient, i would imagine if there is another family in the unit next to you. If you're used to having your own washer/dryer at home like i am... it would have been annoying i imagine.

There are no elevators in the building we were in. So, you must be strong enough with no back issues or anything else if you are assigned to a second floor unit...it's quite a few stairs up and the stairs turn half way up. There's no baggage /luggage assistance. I must say The first floor units are very convenient for luggage in and out.

The patio is cute but our chairs and table had cob-webs all over (yuck!) so we never sat out on it.

Oh-- on check-out day: at 8am in the morning, Housekeeping rang the doorbell, then knocked on our door and extremely loudly kept saying "housekeeping" until I finally opened the door. and I told them to go away. I tried to tell the front desk that we have until 10am and It's 8am and they are waking up my kids and in general disturbing us when we have until 10am. Well..... the front desk person calls us back 10 minutes later ---- to tell me housekeeping must have gotten rooms mixed up and she apologizes.... Hello--- the loud phones have officially now woken up all 3 kids. Now all 3 kids are up, not just me and 1 kid from housekeeping. I've never had this issue at any other place we've stayed and we vacation alot! Thank goodness we were renting and are not vacation owners here.

Oh-- and the construction. 8am sharp! (Kinda like housekeeping on check-out day. (no rest for the vacationer i guess.... keeps the vacationer on a work-schedule or something i guess)

Well the pool was great!! I stayed for the pool i guess but i should have gone back to marriott ford colony and forfeited the slides in the pool for a regular pool.

There are many places to stay in williamsburg that are condo/home-like atmosphere. For one, Marriott Ford Colony! Luxurious and such great care all-around. Plus they make up your room everyday at no charge with fresh towels and everything. They also have such a wonderful , very well-run activities line-up and staff, nice activies each day too to add to your williamsburg vacation..... and most of it is no extra charge. Ok.... there's no fancy slides or spray things in their pools (alittle downfall but that's the only downfall if i can even call it a downfall) --- but just so much nicer and all-around enjoyable. You feel like you are a valued guest and makes for an enjoyable vacation at marriott ford colony and its around the same price per night as the Colonies at Williamburg.

Room Tip: First floor -- no elevators if you are 2nd or 3rd floor (you'll be doing stairs with your own lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJerzeyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here the first week of June. I called ahead to make sure that we would be placed near the pool area.. I have arthritis and a walking problem. They placed us in a unit that was impossible for me to walk from, so we had to take the car to the pool. The units were beautiful and very clean. The afternoon staff was outstanding and very helpful and the morning staff was fair.. The afternoon staff provided us with a highchair for the baby, superior. The outside pool was unuseable because the water was freezing!!!! they had to close the inside pool because of an accident from a child but it was open the next day. The photo man was great and took a very nice family photo. All-in-all, a good vacation but definately not the Marriott Manor Club. We usually stay there and will be back to the Marriot next year. We own at both timeshares so we can decide from year to year.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the pool. The upstairs units are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in a two-bed room there for a week. It was a very nice unit with a balcony facing the woods, which was nice and cool, and was perfect to have afternoon tea there.

The place was well equipped with everything. However, the place has no elevator and we had to climb up and down the third floor everyday, which could be tiring for us old folks after running around all day.

The pools were nice. The outdoor pool has a slide for the kids. The interesting thing was that their "Jacuzzi" is actually a part of the indoor pool with the jets. The jets were nice, but with the water temperature of 84 degree, which was a bit cold for the jacuzzi for us from California. We prefer something like 98 degree. :)

The location of this place is also perfect for everything. There's a plaza about half block away with an outlet store, grocery store, different shops, and a couple restaurants. It is very convenient. It is also very close to down town Williamsburg, York Town, and James Town, where you can have a piece of history. The Waller Mill Park is only a few blocks away on Airport Road. There are boat/kayak rentals on site that allow you to enjoy the reservoir. There are also hiking and biking trails in the shady peaceful woods. For the animal lovers, the Virginia's Living Museum in Newport News, about 25 miles away, would be a nice place to spend a couple hours in the afternoon.

Overall, it was a nice place and the staff were great! We enjoyed our week of vacation there.

Room Tip: Make sure to call ahead if you cannot climb the stairs and need to have a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floatingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My family stayed at the Colonies at Williamsburg from May 26, 2012 to June 2, 2012. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The accommodations are first class. Very modern, clean and comfortable. The beds are wonderful. The pool is amazing. The kids had so much fun, even the adults took advantage of the water park and slid down the slide (when the pool wasn't crowded that is). The only DOWNFALL to our trip was the sales pitch. We were told that because we were owners that had exchanged into Williamsburg that they were instructed to give us tips on Interval that would help us in the future with exchanges. LIES, LIES, LIES. As owners you do not have to listen to anything they tell you. Walk away and as the saying goes, "If it's too good to be true, there is a catch." As far as the resort, ACES all the way.

Room Tip: Rooms on Delaware Court are very nice. Walking distance to the pool and clubhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NanaLC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Individual appointments in unit were very good (particularly well equipped kitchen). We had a problem with the DVR, but staff were very good about responding, providing a workaround for a day, and then replacing the unit so that it worked correctly. They have a ways to go on the landscaping (some units are still under construction), and the new units to be constructed will be quite a far walk from the main building. I personally would recommend having two beds in one bedroom to allow greater flexibility (instead of one bed in each bedroom), and I miss the large jacuzzi that the sister property has (Williamsburg Plantation). Would definitely return, however, for overall amenities and close-in location. I like the fact that most of the units back onto woodland. Outdoor and indoor pools looked nice, but I didn't use them (or the fitness center), so can't comment on those. Activity list was short, but there's so much to do in Williamsburg that I don't think on-site activities are very much needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwhiteva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
6.7 mi away
King's Creek Plantation Resort
King's Creek Plantation Resort
#17 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort

Property: The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Address: 5380 Olde Towne Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for your next family vacation, The Colonies at Williamsburg boasts residential-style accommodations consisting of two- and four-bedroom condominiums with full kitchens and electric fireplaces designed for maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room areas in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Resort amenities include indoor & outdoor heated pools with water features, an outdoor hot tub and tennis courts. The resort is just minutes from the most popular attractions in the area including Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and popular retail outlet stores. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing