We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“family reunion”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here the first week of June. I called ahead to make sure that we would be placed near the pool area.. I have arthritis and a walking problem. They placed us in a unit that was impossible for me to walk from, so we had to take the car to the pool. The units were beautiful and very clean. The afternoon staff was outstanding and very helpful and the morning staff was fair.. The afternoon staff provided us with a highchair for the baby, superior. The outside pool was unuseable because the water was freezing!!!! they had to close the inside pool because of an accident from a child but it was open the next day. The photo man was great and took a very nice family photo. All-in-all, a good vacation but definately not the Marriott Manor Club. We usually stay there and will be back to the Marriot next year. We own at both timeshares so we can decide from year to year.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the pool. The upstairs units are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    128
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
257
63
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in a two-bed room there for a week. It was a very nice unit with a balcony facing the woods, which was nice and cool, and was perfect to have afternoon tea there.

The place was well equipped with everything. However, the place has no elevator and we had to climb up and down the third floor everyday, which could be tiring for us old folks after running around all day.

The pools were nice. The outdoor pool has a slide for the kids. The interesting thing was that their "Jacuzzi" is actually a part of the indoor pool with the jets. The jets were nice, but with the water temperature of 84 degree, which was a bit cold for the jacuzzi for us from California. We prefer something like 98 degree. :)

The location of this place is also perfect for everything. There's a plaza about half block away with an outlet store, grocery store, different shops, and a couple restaurants. It is very convenient. It is also very close to down town Williamsburg, York Town, and James Town, where you can have a piece of history. The Waller Mill Park is only a few blocks away on Airport Road. There are boat/kayak rentals on site that allow you to enjoy the reservoir. There are also hiking and biking trails in the shady peaceful woods. For the animal lovers, the Virginia's Living Museum in Newport News, about 25 miles away, would be a nice place to spend a couple hours in the afternoon.

Overall, it was a nice place and the staff were great! We enjoyed our week of vacation there.

Room Tip: Make sure to call ahead if you cannot climb the stairs and need to have a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floatingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My family stayed at the Colonies at Williamsburg from May 26, 2012 to June 2, 2012. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The accommodations are first class. Very modern, clean and comfortable. The beds are wonderful. The pool is amazing. The kids had so much fun, even the adults took advantage of the water park and slid down the slide (when the pool wasn't crowded that is). The only DOWNFALL to our trip was the sales pitch. We were told that because we were owners that had exchanged into Williamsburg that they were instructed to give us tips on Interval that would help us in the future with exchanges. LIES, LIES, LIES. As owners you do not have to listen to anything they tell you. Walk away and as the saying goes, "If it's too good to be true, there is a catch." As far as the resort, ACES all the way.

Room Tip: Rooms on Delaware Court are very nice. Walking distance to the pool and clubhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NanaLC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Individual appointments in unit were very good (particularly well equipped kitchen). We had a problem with the DVR, but staff were very good about responding, providing a workaround for a day, and then replacing the unit so that it worked correctly. They have a ways to go on the landscaping (some units are still under construction), and the new units to be constructed will be quite a far walk from the main building. I personally would recommend having two beds in one bedroom to allow greater flexibility (instead of one bed in each bedroom), and I miss the large jacuzzi that the sister property has (Williamsburg Plantation). Would definitely return, however, for overall amenities and close-in location. I like the fact that most of the units back onto woodland. Outdoor and indoor pools looked nice, but I didn't use them (or the fitness center), so can't comment on those. Activity list was short, but there's so much to do in Williamsburg that I don't think on-site activities are very much needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwhiteva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband, two teenaged boys and my two yorkies went the Colonies for Spring Break. Yes, they are pet friendly (little dogs) for an added fee. The place was immaculalte when we arrived there. We have been swapping timeshares for years and are a little skeptical of "Luxury Condos", so we packed extra pillows, a few kitchen things, extra towels etc. We didn't need any of it, the kitchen was well appointed with a dishwasher as well, plenty of pillows, bedding and towels. The outside pool area was was unusable because the heater was brolen, but it looked like it will be a lot of fun when its operational. The indoor pool was great and we had fun there. The staff was great and we checked in quickly and effortlessly. This is close to all the area attractions, we enjoyed Colonial WIllamsburg and Busch Gardens. There was lots to do, but didn't feel overwhelming or rushed at all.

The cleaning service did an outstanding job. The landscapers were very busy all week with spring clean up.

The dog friendly units are toward the back. The unit we were in was on the ground floor. I will say the hill going down to the 'dog walk area' was VERY steep and hard to climb up and down. There wasn't a grill or picnic area by our unit, but all the other units had picnic areas available. The indoor pool was very heavy on the chlorine, it took a little getting used to. I am sure once they complete the construction a little more attention will be paid to the grass. Where we were walking the dogs was a bit sparse on grass and very dusty. Except for these few minor complaints, we really enjoyed our time there and will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank knappT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

New property so everything is new...loved the vanity and lighted magnifying miror in the master bath...still under construction but we did not hear any construction noise during the week long stay...property desperately needs a fence...our unit was literally beside a very icky neighborhood and it definitely did not feel like we were at a resort beside these 2 awful houses...heated pool was cold, hot tub broke all week; finally drove to another one of their properties nearby to use their hot tub; housekeeping very loud when cleaning the unit next to us and housekeeping also walked into our unit a day early thinking we had checked out; also sheets were very cheap with lots of pilling

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tolbert89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
King's Creek Plantation Resort
King's Creek Plantation Resort
#16 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort

Property: The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Address: 5380 Olde Towne Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1922
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for your next family vacation, The Colonies at Williamsburg boasts residential-style accommodations consisting of two- and four-bedroom condominiums with full kitchens and electric fireplaces designed for maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room areas in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Resort amenities include indoor & outdoor heated pools with water features, an outdoor hot tub and tennis courts. The resort is just minutes from the most popular attractions in the area including Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and popular retail outlet stores. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing