We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic property, 21st century convenience and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We stayed in the Chiswell-Bucktrout house just behind the Kings Head Tavern for two nights at the beginning of Memorial Day weekend. The building is wonderfully historic, as is the furniture although there are all the mod cons - A/C, TV etc. The location is extremely convenient, being just steps away from the Duke of Gloucester Street and the Capitol, and we found it very quiet, although being there on a weekend may have helped.

As well as the accommodation, we had the use of the concierge service at the Williamsburg Inn and I would definitely recommend visiting them - we got cut-price all-access passes as hotel guests and the concierge has tables on hold at all the historic restaurants which enabled us to get into Christianna Campbells and the Kings Head even though both were fully-booked. The concierge can also get tickets to the evening activities - we went to the witch trial which was very interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKExpatNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 353 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2009

The furthest thing from the Holiday Inn, the colonial homes provide you with a romantic but true view of how it might have been to live in the 18th century but with the modern upgrades today's traveler expects. Located right in Colonial Williamsburg, you can walk out the front door of the home or tavern in which you're staying and into the hustle-bustle of colonial America. Watch the re-enactors drive by in their carriages, or on horseback, go to the troop's muster, stroll through the gardens, saunter to Christiana Campbell's for cocktails and a great dinner (and fascinating tales of the day stirringly related by the Tavern's proprietress). Be sure to treat yourself to breakfast at the Williamsburg Inn -- a gorgeous dining room in which you can relive the good life while enjoying views of the impeccably maintained grounds, delectable food, and perfect/attentive service. The colonial rooms are simple but very comfortable and true to the historical sources, there are no jacuzzis in the bathroom but that is not necessarily a bad thing when the real world of colonial America is beckoning from right outside your door.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Provence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We visited Colonial Williamsburg and stayed in the Orrell House for 3 nights. To get the most experience out of your stay here, the Colonial Houses are the best option. You can park right outside of your house, which was nice. You check in at the registration building in front of the Williamsburg Inn, then you follow the concierge in your car to the house. He takes your bags, unlocks the house, shows you around, and answers your questions. I suggest viewing a map of the houses before you go so you can request the location you would want to be. The historic area is so large, and these house are all throughout. We were lucky that our house was 1 block from both the Williamsburg Inn and the Lodge. We were able to walk to both to eat.

I suggest saving money and driving about a mile outside of the complex to eat at local restaurants. But, it all depends on how long you are staying. The Friday night Seafood Buffet at the Lodge and Sunday Brunch at the Inn were great, but expensive. The Merchant Square shopping area also has a selection of restaurants, but they are pricey as well.

Our house came with alot of history and it showed. It kind of had a musty smell, and there were large gaps around the doors (which would have been an issue if it were winter). The bathroom needed some repairs, but overall the house was very large and charming. We had a large living room with fireplace and TV, a bedroom with a fireplace and back porch, a pantry area with refridgerator, and the bathroom had a tub/shower. The one issue we had was there were very little power outlets, and the one in the bathroom was not condusive to a curling iron/hair dryer, and no room to put beauty items. I ended up doing my hair in the reflection of the glass cabinet out in the pantry area. The house had an entry way with a private entrance to our section and the upstairs room, but could hear the neighbors whenever they entered and exited.

What is nice about the Colonial Houses is they blend with the historic area. Not all are alike, and they are not marked as a hotel, so when you stay in one you feel like you are part of the history.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SavageTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

My husband and I spent four days recently in the Lightfoot Tenement, a Williamsburg, Virginia, colonial rental home. A perfect place for a couple, it is located behind the Magazine and just steps away from a CW bus stop. The house consists of a living room, a bedroom with a canopy bed, a small kitchenette, a dressing area and a bathroom. There is a fireplace in the living room which was especially nice on the rainy nights we were there. Amenities such as the pool and fitness area in the spa are available free of charge.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

The staff was more than friendly to us through the duration of our stay. It didn't seem to matter to them that we were a couple of college kids on spring break - they treated us like we were the only customers they had. We had a room in the Brick House Tavern and had a door that led right out onto Duke of Gloucester Street. It was a comfortable room and a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MoonliteMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

I surprised my husband with a New Year's Eve stay at the Colonial Houses of Williamsburg. We stayed in room 3046 in the Market Square Tavern right on Duke of Gloucester St. in the middle of everything! Check-in was efficient and gracious at the off-site registration desk. We asked to be called on our cell phone when the room was ready. (Check-in is officially at 4 pm, but they called us at about 2 pm.) There was limited parking behind the tavern, but we squeezed into a space. (Proportionally there are more handicapped spaces than non.) Our nice-sized room was in the front of the building with a small bath. Walls were white with burgundy woodwork. Wide pine board floors. Big doors with period locks--your key opened the outside and room door. The canopy bed was beautiful and comfortable. The furniture (Queen Anne's chair, chest and 2-sided chair) accurately reflected the historical period. There was a fireplace in the room, but it was closed off with a painted panel. A small TV was hidden in a poorer quality chest. You had to sort of zig-zag your way between the sink and toilet--if you bent over too far to the right as you sat, you could hit your head on sink. The delightfully-scented toiletries were from the Williamsburg Spa. (I made sure to bring the left-overs home!) The only noise we heard was the creaking of the floors above us. There is a large sitting room with a fireplace that got lit at night by staff. The only staff you see are a few maids in the morning. It was a wonderful time to go to Williamsburg because the buildings were decorated for the holidays and the crowds were thin. Unfortunately our New Year’s festivities were disappointing at the Williamsburg Lodge—see my separate review of their restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

This past weekend, my husband and I stayed at one of the houses in the Colonial Houses hotel rooms in Williamsburg, VA. Everything about the experience was wonderful.... from check-in through check-out.

Our room had a fireplace that was lit for us at our request. How romantic!

Check out the choices online or call the 800 # they give you at history.org. If you want your privacy and like to feel as if you've gone back in time this is a vacation you need to take,

Take the Amtrak - from Philly it was only 6 hours. For those of you with Amtrak miles to spend, it's a wonderful way to thank your non-commuting loved one with a "gift" of train travel.

Birdwatchers... don't bother to bring your binoculars - you'll want them but you don't need them... the hawks and turkey vultures make frequent and low fly-bys. Since we were right on the Duke of Gloucester Street, we never carried a purse or wallet with us. Pockets carried all we needed and we stopped "home" easily often.

Listen for the mockingbirds who do a fabulous imitiation of a creaking gate.

The resort will pick you up and drop you off at the train station which is literally minutes from the historic area.

Make sure to pack a "pick-a-nic" basket for the trip down and for wine and cheese in the back-yard. The back-yard of our house included a formal garden with benches deeply hidden in a circular row of boxwood.

Enjoy

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank ashaf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: $189 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic reproductions of colonial houses with 18th century antique furnishings, set in historic area. Authentic period reproductions such as a canopy bed and a crackling fire in the hearth. Stay in the heart of the Revolutionary City with all the comforts of home. Enjoy access to dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing