We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Nearby Hotels
$120
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Williamsburg Inn(Williamsburg)
$499
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$74
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Powhatan Resort(Williamsburg)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$132
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$109
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$119
$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmill Resort(Williamsburg)
$180
$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Williamsburg)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveler rating
346
134
26
18
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
346
134
26
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduke of gloucester streetthe brick house taverncanopy bedewing housecolonial williamsburgjones kitchenhistoric areamodern conveniencesthomas jeffersondog streetcolonial experiencemarket squaretwin bedslove historycarriage ridere enactorskeurig coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 529 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2008

An incredible lodging experience in this , one of Colonial Williamsburg's 88 Original Buildings. This Inn was built by my 4th Great Uncle in the 1760's. This was our first opportunity to stay here, and we flew from Texas to do so. Yes, that makes me predjudiced, but i will try to contain my euphoria for the truth about the room. We requested the room where a young T. Jefferson studied law while tutored by Geo. Wythe in the 1770's. It was amazing to look out of the windows Jefferson did--he had requested the front corner room looking out on the Square.(Same Uncle guarded the Magazine during the Revolution). Mr. J also rented at least one other room there during his stay. The Wmsburg Inn offered us superb room service, and the food was brought with a lovely pink rose ea time. we gave these to the maid who did an excellent job of keeping the room beautifully clean ea day. We found the bath to be roomy and totally 21st Century -- Kohler sink was lovely. elegant painted colors graced the walls as did a lovely queen 4 poster bed. Wood plantation blinds gave the windows(4 in all) total privacy. Flooring was wood plank in charming room furnished in period antiques. We were told a steward will light your fire (fire in the Great Room fireplace, that is) . Well, Enjoy! And thanks, Uncle Gabe--(Gabriel Maupin III)!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank texasdubl-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed in the Colonial Houses June, 2007, because it seemed the best way to immerse ourselves in the period. My 7 year old is history obsessed, and her love of the American Girl Felicity makes her a sucker for all things colonial. The best thing about the Colonial House (we stayed in Orlando Jones' kitchen) was the location. We were able to walk out our door and be literally in the middle of the historic section/attraction. We were able to park our car right there (they have a little place right near where you stay where you park your car but it is hidden from onlookers so that it doesn't mar the experience for those looking for historical accuracy). This was perfect because at the time our kids were <1, 4, and 6 1/2. Another plus about the Colonial Houses is that staying in them gives the kids yet another tangible link to history. (This went for the adults, too, as Orlando Jones was a real person that we read about in the room, and, although the space we were in was no longer a kitchen, it was kind of neat to be staying in a piece of history. Also, the loft upstairs where the kids stayed was likely inhabited by the cooks back in the day, I think.) Yet another plus is that staying in the Colonial Williamsburg hotels gives you access to the historical sights for your entire stay. If you stay for one night, you get access to the historical area for the day you check in as well as the day you check out. This made the whole thing relatively affordable (we used our budget to stay at the Colonial Houses for one night instead of another hotel for two nights. We still got two days to see the Colonial Williamsburg attractions, and we didn't have to pay for tickets).

My three biggest complaints about the room were that 1) since there was either no a/c or no working a/c and it was summer, the staff or we opened the windows for air and the screen was so badly damaged that mosquitos got in the room and bit us all over while we slept 2) the room reeked of these really strong, cheap smelling air freshener things, the smell of which was nauseating 3) the bathroom was in bad need of repair which might have been okay if it looked like old-timey bathroom fixtures that were worn with age but was not okay as they were disgusting, dirty falling apart seventies fixtures. I know it sounds picky, but it was the most odd, out of place renovation, and the rooms were really expensive. To fit, it should either be new, neutral, or period.

I took my daughter to tea in the main inn, which had a harpist playing. They made my daughter feel special, and that was nice for her (and me).

We really enjoyed the attraction, particularly how they gave the kids specific tasks (a specific to-do list /letter thing, which might have come with the rental costume). The kids really enjoyed dressing up in the period rental costumes. You have to buy the hats with the rental, but you get a discount and they make great souvenirs.

The bottomless rootbeer cup was nice. We also liked lunch at the cafe (don't remember which one it was, but it was a nice, sitdown place with reasonably good food) when the character came and talked to us and the crowd. We also liked how the actors engaged the children and how there was something special at each spot for the kids to see or do. The kids enjoyed the carriage ride. We did not do any of the night activities not only because of the baby but also because the trip wore out our older ones.

All in all, this was probably the best place we could have stayed for our purpose of seeing the historic three block or so section of Colonial Williamsburg. It was super easy to rest in our room and go right back out and see the rooms. This worked out for us since this section of CW was all that we wanted to see on this weekend vaction.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vacationer1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Stayed three nights at Chiswell-Bucktrout Kitchen. The room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Not the most luxurious accomodations, but a very nice way to experience Williamsburg. Since this Chiswell-Bucktrout House is located on Francis Street there is some traffic noise and at abouit six a.m. trucks arrive accross the street to service the taverns. A minor anonoyance compared to the convenience and privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

My husband and I decided to stay in a Colonial House during our visit to Williamsburg. The room was not a five star rating but it was clean, comfortable and decorated in period style. We had dinner at the Williamsburg Inn which was a short walk from our house. Some people my feel out of place because it is very upscale, but the staff is friendly and the food is phenomenal. We also had dinner at the Kings Arms Tavern. The food was great and the building was beautiful. We had a very relaxing stay in Williamsburg and we hope to do it again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rholdridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We spent five great nights at one of the colonial houses, booked through the Williamsburg Inn directly. Pricey but very worth it. We are a family of four, kids age 8 and 10, and chose the Isham Goddin house, near the Capital, at the end of Duke of Gloucester Street and next door to C. Campbell's tavern. It was adorable. The kids had their own room, which included two twin beds. One bathroom, but that was fine. Stocked with LOTS of towels. Maid service was quick and efficient. Husband and I had a private downstairs bedroom with a lovely four poster canopy bed. Adorable living room area with fire place. Squeaky floors, so if you like things "NEW," dont stay here. Perfect if you like some character! there were some chilly nights, and we called for room service to light a fire (a real one!) in the fireplace. amenities were modern, heat worked great, small fridge included, adorable garden outside the property. the kids pretended we were really living in colonia times. As everyone says, the best thing about the Williamsburg Inn is simple -- the location! Revolutionary CIty literally was outside our door step.

We ate in every single tavern in colonial williamsburg and really enjoyed them all. Went to the evening programs, such as the Gun Powder incident, where it is interactive and you are part of the action. Again, kids ate it up! there is an additional fee for the evening programs (above your daily pass fee), but worth the price. if you stay at the Inn, or the colonial houses, four nights or more, which we did, the Rev. City pass is included in the cost.

On the historical front, they do it right in williamsburg. my husband is an early american history professor, and vouched for the historical accuracy. No disney-fication going on in the historical re-enactments.

Only dislikes -- the lunch at the Terrace in the Williamsburg Inn took forever (two hours, not good with kids!), over priced, and to make it worse, beer not even cold (on a hot day). I know, small complaint, but Terrace not worth the price. We love a nice long sit down lunch, to rest mid-day, but this was too much. Also, we did not care for the sea food buffet at the Lodge. But with these small exceptions, we LOVED the colonial houses...and williamsburg over all. So much to do! Five nights not enough!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank mgoblue1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews