We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fourth of July!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Market Square Tavern in Colonial Williamsburg on July 4th, 2013. This whole experience was remarkable and one trip that will rate one of the top trips of our lifetime. If you are a history buff and patriotic, this is an incredible place to spend several days. Market Square Tavern is located right in the middle of the historic village and when we walked out our door, we were transported, back to the 18th century. The tavern we stayed at was also used by Thomas Jefferson while he studied law. Our room was cozy, even with two twin beds, and the fixtures were authentic reproductions, right down to the locks on the doors. The authentic dramas that took place in the town and the fireworks across the street from us on the green were fantastic. The staff and service were excellent and we were able to park right behind our tavern. Looking forward to returning during the Christmas season!

Room Tip: Plan early and look at website map to choose the perfect lodging for you. By staying on property, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank garrymoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 376 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our experience echoed those of most of the other reviewers. Staying in one of these homes or tavern rooms immerses you in the ambience of Colonial Williamsburg. Our room in the Market Square Tavern was very spacious, clean and tidy, with a modern bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, and the tavern was very quiet. The central location is excellent. And you can't avoid the history - Thomas Jefferson lived in this very building while studying law.

Contrary to a previous review, you can choose your room, I think you just have to do so well in advance (almost a year ahead for us). After studying the floor plans and reading TripAdvisor reviews, I requested and received an upstairs room overlooking Duke of Gloucester Street. If you get a chance, don't pass up the opportunity to stay in one of these homes or tavern rooms.

Room Tip: Reserve as far in advance as possible, and make it very clear what room you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank baytravelinduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The Robert Carter Kitchen is right on the Palace Green! We would stop back throughout the day for a cold drink and a restroom break! What a luxury to be able to do that on a hot summer day! 3 words! Location, location, location!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KathyJ461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Brick House Tavern for a couple of nights in May 2013. The location on the main boulevard is fantastic: walk out the front door and you're in the heart of colonial Williamsburg. Staying here adds to the feeling of stepping back in time.

The room was quite small, but for the most part we didn't mind. The room would be a bit too small and lacked a seating area, so I wouldn't want to spend a lot of time inside. We were in an upper room, and the shower was wedged in under the roofline. I'm not the largest person, but I was still pretty cramped in the shower. But, we didn't expect a large, modern room, so we can't really complain.

We checked in at the Williamsburg Inn, which is about a quarter mile away from where our room was. The Williamsburg Inn is a very upscale resort, but they didn't have their act together.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank va_trailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited Williamsburg in June 2013 as part of a tour of Virginia.

It was our second time staying in the Colonial Houses, and I had requested and been allocated the Robert Orell Kitchen, which is a charming little cottage with a living room, bedroom and two bathrooms in its own grounds. It also has the benefit of being right at the bottom of the Williamsburg Inn drive, which makes it handy for breakfast!

I find the call centre of Historic Williamsburg (with whom I booked a house) a little hit and miss as they refuse to tell you in advance what property you will be staying in, but I did get my request. Thankfully, once I’d booked, people who stay in the Colonial Houses have the same privileges as guests at the Williamsburg Inn (the poshest hotel in the group), so you benefit from the concierge service, room service, housekeeping, breakfasts etc. I can’t emphasise how helpful the inn staff and the concierge in particular is. We were so impressed by Dora Lynn Hornatt, who facilitated our entire trip via emails between the UK and the US and my requirements were not simple – in addition to restaurant reservations, I also wanted theatre tickets, concert tickets, carriage rides and a spa trip. All done perfectly.

We love Colonial Williamsburg and love to immerse ourselves in the historic atmosphere there. We were a five minute walk from Duke of Gloucester street, which meant we were quiet at night. I love walking through the streets and taking in the atmosphere.

We had good meals at all four of the taverns, although my favourite was the Kings Head. Make sure you try one of their punches! We also had a good meal at the Regency Room in the Williamsburg Inn, which is excellent fine dining and a knowledgeable sommelier!

There is so much to see in the historic triangle, but perhaps my favourite trip was to Berkley Plantation up the James River Road, where we had a picnic on our last day in beautiful British style country gardens.

My only complaint was that the aircon in the cottage is rather old and was certainly noisy and ineffective in the upstairs room. It could do with replacing. It wasn't helped by a radiator going full blast in the upstairs bathroom when it was 35c outside, but maintinence sorted it out on the same day.

Overall, the experience has to be done rather than described. We can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Robert Orell kitchen is a nice private cottage for a couple. If you want privacy, be sure to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Colonial Houses accommodations in Williamsburg are great for special occasions! It's like stepping back in time with colonial furnishings with modern conveniences! Go between Jan. 2 and middle of march for cheaper rates!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brensnonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were so thrilled to be able to stay in an original colonial home on our spring break trip with our teenage boys. We stayed at the Brick House Shop just off the main road of Colonial Williamsburg. About 10 minutes after we checked in, we could hear the fife and drums coming down the street! We loved being so close to the main street and all that it has to offer, and it was quiet at night. This is an experience my kids will never forget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: $196 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic reproductions of colonial houses with 18th century antique furnishings, set in historic area. Authentic period reproductions such as a canopy bed and a crackling fire in the hearth. Stay in the heart of the Revolutionary City with all the comforts of home. Enjoy access to dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing