We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sad News”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was sorry to read, in Senior Reviewer's statement, that this hotel is going to be torn down. I have stayed at this property, several times over the years, and was SO pleased to find lodgings that were reasonable, allowed dogs, had polite staff, AND was close to Colonial Williamsburg. Hotels that offer all of this are VERY hard to find anywhere.

I hope whatever they replace this property with, has the same amenities. But newer properties seldom do. I guess we all just have to wait and see.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
52
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
203 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have been Bluegreen owners for many years, but have never been as disappointed with one of their properties as this. We were there for two weeks. We had conversation and emails from/with them prior to arriving. The emails stated that there were all kinds of activities available for adults and children on site, and the phone conversation said the outdoor pool would remain open until the first of October. After arriving, we find out that they stopped doing the activities for the rest of the season and the pool was closed! The pool is in the middle courtyard of the Old Patrick Henry Inn next door. It is not heated, but we only were interested in sitting outside next to it to enjoy the lovely weather, as there are no room balconies or other outdoor spaces in which to sit. The only outdoor seating is next to the entrance doors. This is where the smokers sit - makes you gag when going in or out the doors. The pool WAS open our first day there. The next day we went over there and there was a sign that said CLOSED, the gates were all locked and the outdoor furniture taken away! They are tearing down that hotel (Patrick Henry Inn) soon, so apparently were no longer interested in their guests' wishes. Since there were no activities and no pool, thank goodness we did not have children with us to keep entertained! We (two adults) were in a studio. It was quite confining for two weeks, but we knew ahead of time it would be small. The furniture was fairly comfortable, but the placement of it was terrible. The bed was placed directly in front of a small corner window (the ONLY window) and was right up against the wall. You had to stand or crawl over the bed to open/close the blinds or to make the bed - getting up during the night was a trick! We thought of several other ways the room could have been arranged to be much more "user friendly" and comfortable - wish they would too. There was also a sofa-bed, though I can't imagine more than two people in the room. The kitchenette was small, but well-stocked. The full-sized refridgerator, dishwasher, stove top, and the micro/convection oven were very nice. The bathroom was also nice. We had a problem with our ice-maker and the housekeeping/maintenance staff fixed it within minutes. Most of the front desk staff were great, but a couple of them didn't seem too sure of some things. Jeri B. and Celeste were outstanding. The location is wonderful - almost across the street from Colonial Williamsburg and only a couple of miles from Busch Gardens. Others have complained of the train noise behind the building. We were not bothered by it even though it was day & night. If we return, it will definitely depend on what they do with the property, etc. after razing Patrick Henry Inn. At this point, it was hardly better than a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel was nice and very clean. I arrived at night so it was very dark.. once the sun came up i realized just how beautiful williamsburg was.. the resort is across the street from a ranch or something.. lol. i know i saw horses..

had a studio apt rm, so it was cozy..

i just couldn't stand the leaking in the shower.. i had to put a towel in the tub so i wouldn't hear the dripping..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dvine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Some friends of ours were not using some of their BlueGreen vacation points and gave us a few nights as a gift, so I can't speak as to value. The hotel is a little hard to find and isn't particularly impressive from the front. Williamsburg in general is difficult to follow at first. The location is good, with Colonial Williamsburg within walking distance and Busch Gardens 3 miles away (about 5 minutes by car).
We were very warmly welcomed and the staff was very pleasant to ensure our experience was good. The room was in the Square, not the Inn and apparently that makes a difference, based on the reviews here. You check in to the hotel via the Inn and then walk or drive over to the other building, which is the Square, which also houses the BlueGreen vacation sales center. We were invited to participate in a sales presentation, but declined. It did not appear to have affected anything and they were very friendly about it.
The bed itself was on the small side and pretty darn firm, but the studio had a foldaway couch and kitchenette. The ice maker didn't work but that was not an issue for us as were were gone most of the days we were there.
The Inn side of things appeared to be older and worn, but the square was clean and bright.
Overall, we were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Book at the Square, not the Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnSColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here through our Bluegreen membership. Very close to Williamsburg. Nice unit- we had a 2 bedroom. Was a little cramped in front room with the big dining room table. The bedrooms were fine. Did find hair bows on floor by kids beds but otherwise seemed clean. We would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenBenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went to Bluegreen's Patrick Henry Square for a quick getaway to Williamsburg and Busch Garden. You are centrally located to nice resturants and fun activities. The resort was nice and the employees were FANTASTIC!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank partners1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Wonderful location to hit all the historic spots. Associates are super and the rooms are grand.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has better views. Watch the notices at the doors for some exciting projects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#41 of 76 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
0.0 mi away
Williamsburg Hotel Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 249 York Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing