We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A Williamsburg White House is a wonderful B&B, especially if you're a history buff. The house has so much character, including an extensive library to enjoy. The accommodations are excellent and the location is ideal for the historical area. Breakfast was superb, homemade parfait and George Washington's Belgian waffles, simply delicious! The owners are very welcoming, accommodating, and knowledgeable in area activities. I highly recommend this very memorable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 569 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

The house was so beautiful. The location of the house was just a tad hard to find because it was tucked away behind beautiful large trees, but that's no complaint. It's across from William and Mary, minutes to Colonial Williamsburg and Jamestown Island, and not much further are the Williamsburg outlets and Yankee Candle outlet. Sarah and John are spectacular hosts and the breakfast they serve is top notch! On a scale of 1 to 10, ten being best, the cleanliness of the house was 10. Overall feel and visit of the house was 10. I had never stayed at a B&B before so I had my doubts but, after that wonderful experience I will never stay at a hotel again! I can't wait to go back! I highly recommend The White House!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelticFyre89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Williamsburg White House is a warm, traditionally appointed respite for travelers. The rooms are lovely and historically appointed with beautiful bedding, furniture and decorations. Delicious breakfasts are served in the main dining room with other guests and/or in the library at private tables. The caretakers are gracious and genuinely friendly with plenty of knowledge of the area's best eating and historical venues. The location is a pleasant walk to the Colonial center and directly across the street from William and Mary College. We are looking forward to returning soon and grateful to have found such a perfect B & B! I missed it before we even reached the airport!

Room Tip: The Elanor and Franklin Roosevelt suites are off the main house, quiet and large with a small vestib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This B&B is classically and elegantly decorated, with well-appointed rooms. The breakfasts are very filling and the location is but ashort walk to the Colonial attractions. Would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: The FRD room in the West Wing (a rear addition to the original home) is very roomy and offers good p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This property is well managed and clean, generally in excellent condition, and is within easy walking distance to/fr Colonial Williamsburg (for most). The following review is about the Teddy Roosevelt Suite only.

Pros - comfortable bed, quiet, nice furnishings, clean, nice bedding

Cons - foam pillows, one terry cloth robe (vs. two), louvered bathroom doors (visual privacy, other senses not so much), TV had an annoying hum.

Breakfast - well presented with obvious attention to quality and detail. Unfortunately, as early risers, 9:00 AM (yes, we were aware of the time) was just too late for us. First morning my breakfast arrived almost cold (wife's was fine)...did not complain because I was so hungry. Skipped the next day in order to get an earlier start.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Missiledriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
retiredrnvirginia, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Missledriver,
Thank you so much for the "almost" 4....I am sorry you did not bring these issues to our attention while you were here. We beg our guests to "please" tell us if there is something we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We do not stay in our guest rooms so we have no idea when a TV has a "hum" unless you tell us...
All of our breakfasts come out at the same time so I don't understand why yours was cold but I wish you had told me!!!
And lastly, you should have had 2 robes in your room. Obviously one must have still been in the laundry when you arrived and never replaced in your room...Again, why didn't you ask us??
I have begged for years for all of our guests to tell us while they are here. When you go home and complain on the internet, I guess it makes you feel better, but it never gives us the chance to fix the issues.
I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay but we could have made it a 4 star experience for you if you just asked!
We hope we get the opportunity to see you again in the future, if you give us another chance!
Have a wonderful holiday season!
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This B&B was a value in every way: a very comfortable room with Williamsburg-appropriate décor relating to its presidential namesake; a delicious and satisfying, well-presented meal in an atmosphere that encouraged easy and unrushed conversation with the other guests as well as with the congenial, informative, and interesting innkeepers; and, a central location that made all of the sights and restaurants conveniently close.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This inn is a true jewel. Run by a very kind, welcoming, and eager to please couple, and perfectly situated near the College of William and Mary campus and within easy walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg, this inn is perfect for a romantic getaway in Virginia's historic triangle. We loved it from the first moment and plan to return when we can.

Room Tip: Visit the web site, pick the room that appeals most ( great photos), and book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WM1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.2 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 718 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3914
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: $139 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Century Old Estate is now an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast in Williamsburg Virginia. This Romantic Inn is one of Williamsburg's most significant historic homes and is the oldest home currently operating as an elegant B&B in the City of Williamsburg. Enjoy unique suites, beautiful sitting rooms, manicured grounds and just a 4 block walk to Colonial Williamsburg. Historic and Romance Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Williamsburg White House b&b
a Williamsburg White House Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing