We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B is a Real Jewel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 2, 2013

From the moment we opened the front door and stepped inside the main house, we felt this was a special place!

After a warm greeting from Debbie, our hostess, we were led through the lovely garden to the John Adams Chambers. The room was impeccably clean and tastefully furnished with period pieces and a large, comfortable canopied bed. Toile fabrications completed its historic theme. The living room, library and dining room in the main house are decorated in a colonial style with a mix of historical and entertaining accoutrements. A gourmet breakfast prepared each morning by Debbie and served in the dining room by John kept us well fueled for sightseeing and provided opportunities to chat with other guests. At the end of each day, wine and snacks were available for our pleasure in the library. The Inn’s proximity to Richmond, Jamestown Settlement, Yorktown and Monticello make travel to area sights easy.

The attention paid to all details made our 3-night stay at A Williamsburg White House relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: We recommend the John Adams Bed Chambers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 559 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

This B&B is well placed for exploring Colonial Williamsburg as well as Jamestown and Yorktown. Our spacious room and en suite were delightfully furnished with many amusing pictures and decorations on the theme of the American Presidents. We were well looked after with a filling and tasty home cooked breakfast. We were especially grateful for the time and trouble that Debbie had taken to make restaurant reservations for us in advance of our stay. We would have no hesitation in recommending The White House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Let me preface this by saying that I can't compare A Williamsburg White House to any other B&B. This has been the only B&B we have ever stayed in. That being said, our extended 3 day weekend was an absolute pleasure. The "hosts" John and Debbie could not have been more friendly or attentive. They tended to the needs of their guests and talking a bit of history with John made our "relaxing time" quite interesting. The rooms were clean (a major factor wherever one must stay), the beds were comfortable (we stayed in the FDR) and the breakfasts were delicious. Wine and of baked goods were set out for the guests-I'm not a wine drinker but Debbie did a good job with the baking. The proximity of the White House to Colonial Williamsburg could not be better...a calm walk got ya their in about 15 minutes. The house itself is set back a bit from the roadway and it was always quiet. (I actually expected it to be a bit "loud" due to the fact it is right next to a college.) Here's the bottom line..I will be going back to A Williamsburg White House again. I just hope any other B&B I may go to in the future will be as good as this one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Comfortable accomodations, delicious breakfasts and the opportunity to meet other travelers during the morning meal made our stay that much more enjoyable. The B&B was charming and clean with a presidential flair inside and out. Our room(FDR suite) was quiet and tastefully decorated with a private entrace so we never felt like our frequent comings/goings where affecting the others guest. Convienently located across from the College of William and Mary and within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg (weather permitting). We thoroughly enjoyed our getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a delightful time we had! This was the first time visiting this particular b&b and we were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed, shown around the inn and then taken to our room. The Lincoln Room was beautiful. The furnishings were in keeping with the era, pictures and other accessories added to the appeal. And, can you believe it, TWO bathrooms. Wine and goodies were served in the afternoon and a delightful breakfast was shared with the other guests the next morning. Colonial Wiliamsburg is only a mile or two away and the College of William and Mary is literally across the street. If you're looking for a quick overnight from Richmond or a longer stay, this is the place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherryM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Such a great B & B! We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was part of the FDR set (the Eleanor) tastefully decorated and spotless! The king size bed was very comfortable and our bathroom was met our needs. The atmosphere of the common areas was welcoming, comfortable and interesting. We enjoyed all the presidential memorabilia and decor. Every evening there was beverage and snacks waiting for us. Breakfast was wonderful too! We sat at the group table and enjoyed meeting new folks while dining on gourmet style breakfasts: Baked oatmeal, stuffed French toast with blueberry sauce one morning and eggs Benedict the next. So delicious! The Keanes were wonderful hosts and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWilliamsoninVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
retiredrnvirginia, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We find that our guests benefit from dining together for breakfast as they share their experiences about their Williamsburg trip and helps everyone navigate the area. We are so glad you enjoy our entrees! We hope you get to visit Williamsburg again, and hope you choose to stay with us again!
Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Especially these days. Would that some occupants of that one could make their stay as short as ours unfortunately had to be at this White House!

This was our second stay here. We thoroughly enjoyed the first one a couple of years ago as George and Martha. This time we were John and Abigail, despite that when arriving I looked more like Teddy Roosevelt.

I have stayed in a couple of the Colonial Williamsburg guest houses over the years as well as the Inn; this is the alternative that we choose otherwise. The theme is well executed, with humorous parking spot markers denoting political loyalties (apparently a few people have no sense of humor; guess which affiliation? ), nice furnishings, amenities for the guests, and an inspiring and extensive collection of artifacts, pictures and memorabilia of White House occupants over the history of the US. The location provides easy access to Colonial Williamsburg, and a short drive away are Jamestown and Yorktown.

It is always a balance when staying as a guest in someone else's house such as a B&B to feel comfortable as one would in one's own home without undue boorishness or intrusiveness on the guest's part, but also to enjoy some of the comforts expected in a less personal hotel environment. They balance this very well. The innkeepers manage to advise guests about the rules of the house in an amusing manner, which one would certainly agree with in your own house. Access is very open for the most part; privacy areas for the host family are both expected and well delineated. The house itself is well maintained, and appointed with comfortable seating and gathering areas both inside and out.

There was opportunity to converse with other guests in the evening over a glass of port (or wine, or water) with snacks in a comfortable setting. Breakfast was well executed with a yogurt/granola/fruit parfait, eggs Benedict (not Arnold!) with perfectly poached eggs, juice, coffee and tea. There are two breakfast areas options, one a table for six in the dining room and the other with accommodation for 3 pairs in the library. I was dressed in colonial attire for the day at Williamsburg and with our seating in the library felt perfectly at home. The setting provided opportunity for conversation with hostess Debbie, even a brief discussion with other guests about a possible humorous "haunting" experience for them in the Lincoln bedroom.

I would certainly visit here again when the opportunity presents itself. Despite living nearby in Richmond where a drive home would be a short hour away, this stay adds much to an area visit. I recommend it if you like the B&B experience.

Room Tip: The Adams bedroom was spacious with a large canopy bed and large bathroom. You will need to walk up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
retiredrnvirginia, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Steve,
Thank you for your detailed review. You certainly have a way with words. I am glad you enjoyed your vacation and your sense of humor was right on target! We try hard to provide the best experience for all of our guests and you seemed to wrap it up in a nutshell. We hope you get back to see us soon. Make sure you have your appropriate attire!!! Thanks again,
Debbie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
628 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.2 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 718 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: $161 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Century Old Estate is now an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast in Williamsburg Virginia. This Romantic Inn is one of Williamsburg's most significant historic homes and is the oldest home currently operating as an elegant B&B in the City of Williamsburg. Enjoy unique suites, beautiful sitting rooms, manicured grounds and just a 4 block walk to Colonial Williamsburg. Historic and Romance Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Williamsburg White House b&b
a Williamsburg White House Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing