We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed accommodations, great food & a fun theme”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kennett Square, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Well appointed accommodations, great food & a fun theme”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our room was well appointed, clean and roomy. Only challenge was there is a beautiful sleigh bed with foot board that blocks a view of the TV which is stored in the corner armoire. This was overcome by sitting while we watched the debates.

The breakfast, afternoon snacks & wine were wonderful. We felt, and were treated like guests in the home of a close friend, rather than guests in a B&B. Very hospitable innkeepers who are verbally non-partisan in their political views but really enjoy building their theme into all aspects of the B&B rooms, grounds and even the parking space markers.

Located very close to the shops and Colonial Williamsburg, and the innkeepers offered excellent suggestions on restaurants and shops we should visit, based on our expressed tastes.
We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We saw only 2 rooms, but based on comments at breakfast from other couples, they are all nicely appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEPLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    55
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
60
341
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband I and recently spent our honeymoon at A Williamsburg White House B & B. It was lovely! Our room was very private and well maintained. On our first morning there, we arranged for a cozy little breakfast in the library complete with champagne and hand painted/personalized flutes. The food was just wonderful….homemade Belgian waffles with fresh fruit and bacon, a warm apple and oat compote with fresh whipped cream, juice, and our own pot of freshly brewed coffee…perfect from beginning to end! Each day, promptly at 8:30am, we were treated to equally delicious meals ranging from cream cheese stuffed French Toast to Eggs Benedict.

The B & B is only minutes from downtown Williamsburg, shopping, excellent restaurants and all the local sites. We will most certainly recommend the B & B to family and friends. Thank you to Debbie and John for a most relaxing, warm and memorable stay in your home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLaFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is truly a lovely place to stay when you are in Williamsburg, Va. The breakfasts are delicious too. Afternoons a little snack is set out for guests. The rooms are very beautifully appointed . There is a slight musty smell in the foyer, that was obvious every day. The hosts are very nice and helpful to their guests. The husband is very, very politically partisan. If you lean to the far right or right you will be delighted with his comments. However, if you are moderate to liberal you could be offended. I realize this is a presidential election year and people can be very outspoken but a host should be sure not to offend any guests.

Room Tip: AC unit can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cabotpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper718, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Anita and Michael,
Well, thank you for your compliments regarding our Inn. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We certainly try to maintain the Inn so our guests find it comfortable, clean and well appointed. I was a bit taken back by your political comments. Unfortunately, the theme of our Inn leads to political conversation on a normal day, but given the political climate right now, most of our guests at some point bring up the political conversation. The fact that you found my husband to be outspoken regarding his feelings, is unfortunate. I think every American has a view, that does not mean we all agree and we certainly never intend to offend, but that is what make America what it is today. No one requires that you engage in politcal discussion. Since you obviously did not agree with his views you felt it appropriate to voice your opinion in a public forum. Again, it certainly would have been better if you voiced it during you 3 day stay here instead of pretending everything was wonderful. I think political discussions are helpful and enlightening but there is always a handful of guests who should avoid them.
In regards to the air conditioner being loud, you were in a free standing room that when the temperature requires air conditioning, the central air is on. The window unit( I don't know of many window units that are quiet) is a back up for very steamy days when you just can't cool the room down. To the best of my knowledge the temperatures were cool during your stay and the rest of our guests enjoyed opening their windows.
We wish you the best and thank you for chosing us.
P.S. Make sure you get out and vote in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent a weekend in Colonial Williamsburg, staying at this lovely B&B. It is located conveniently approx 15 min from the main square of Williamsburg - add another 10 minutes and you can walk to the Amtrak trainstation with trains to DC and New York. Very good for us traveling without a car.

The rooms are named after American presidents, and feel pretty grand! The downstairs commonroom is worth spending some time in - there are lots of old political books, decorations, portraits and other stuff on display - a find for history buffs :) There is complimentary wine and cakes served in the afternoons, which is a nice touch. There is also free wifi, although the connection varies, at least in the upper rooms (we stayed in the Rooseveldt suite on the top floor, and could not get reception).

Be aware there is a short check-out time (3-6pm), and that breakfast is served only at 08:30. Great for the first day out, but felt a little early still for us. It is also served on a common table for all the guest together, which we enjoyed as there was good conversation, but might not be for everyone. Think there is an option of having breakfast in the library though, but did not check that out.

All in all; a unique place to stay with lots of character that fits very well with the overall feel of Williamsburg. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper718, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. It certainly was a pleasure meeting you both and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. For future reference, our standard check in time is 3-6pm but we can accommodate check ins at any time with a simple phone call. Many of our guests come in the late evening due to work and traffic so never let a late check in stop you from visiting us again. Just call us, we will stay up for you! In regards to breakfast, you certainly could have eaten in the JFK Library at a table for two if that is what you prefer...Again, just let us know! We wish you a wonderful rest of the year, Debbie & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was my wife's and my first tip to Williamsburg and to a Bed and Breakfast. Everything was very clean and beautifully decorated. The food was amazing and delicious. Our hosts, Debbie and John, were terrific and made you feel welcome and like family! They really made us feel at home and were very accommodating when we arrived late.

The theme of the B&B was nice and added to the experience. The snack and wine in the afternoon were a nice surprise. We also were within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg and William and Mary College. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our first time at a B&B and I will say it will not be out last! Debbie and John were awsome .. made our stay very enjoyable. The food was delicious, the rooms were beautiful and the little lessons of history were fun. Debbie and John did an awsome job making you feel like you were a friend and not a stranger just there for just a few days. We have told everyone about the Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast and we do plan on a return visit! Thank you again Debbie John!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusandDyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was the first time my husband and I had ever stayed at a B&B and it was outstanding! Everything was very clean and beautifully decorated. The food was amazing and delicious. There was so much food, that we didn't need to eat lunch. Our hosts,Debbie and John, were terrific! They really made us feel at home and were very helpful in giving us pointers about the area. The snack and wine in the afternoon were a nice surprise. We also were within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg. If we ever go back to Williamsburg, we would definitely stay there. I would highly recommend this B&B to other people.

Room Tip: We stayed in the John Adams room in the West Wing. We had our own entrance. Very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.2 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 718 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Century Old Estate is now an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast in Williamsburg Virginia. This Romantic Inn is one of Williamsburg's most significant historic homes and is the oldest home currently operating as an elegant B&B in the City of Williamsburg. Enjoy unique suites, beautiful sitting rooms, manicured grounds and just a 4 block walk to Colonial Williamsburg. Historic and Romance Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Williamsburg White House b&b
a Williamsburg White House Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing