We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scam!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scam!”
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Scam! Do not visit. This resort (Sunterra) is unable to verify dates of vacations. I was under the assumption that my vacation was booked and received a letter stating that my vacation was an open trip, and that I did not have a reservation. Please do not visit this resort.

Helpful?
1 Thank alright_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    712
    377
    194
    159
See reviews for
1,132
400
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

After reading many other reviews, I was certainly concerned over what to expect. In fact, I called in advance and asked to be switched to a renovated room. But, my fears were groundless. The unit (a "C" unit) was clean and stocked, and the furniture, although old, was in good repair and comfortable. We had a problem with the heating of the hot tub, but after two visits the problem was corrected.

I was amazed with the wildlife that kept showing up (geese, racoons, beavers, eagles, and a marauding skunk) and was very impressed with the look of the facilities. Overall, the resort had everthing you could ask for and I was pleased with my weeks stay and would book there again.

  • Liked — Location & Facilities
  • Disliked — Older Furnishing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DarrellV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton,ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2007

spent five days in the historic triangle are of williamsburg virginia the first week in may. used the armed forces vacation club to book a week at powhatan plantation. beautiful condo for a great price! lots to do and see - really impressed with jamestown and yorktown. played a round of golf at williamsburg national - nice course and i played fairly well, surpisingly. ate at the abeerden barn - best prime rib i've had in a long time and great service.


Helpful?
2 Thank coasttocoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Down South in Dixie
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

After reading some less than stellar reviews we were a little apprehensive to stay at Powhatan. But, check-in was smooth and fast. We ask for a recently renovated room, not sure if it was a recent renovation as the carpet was stained, but the room was clean. Powhatan was recently bought by another company, and they told us they were in the process of redoing every room. Lunch at the Kitchen was very good. The only problem we encountered (not Powhatan's fault) was the "Bigfoot Family" moved into the upstairs room. I am sure you have had contact with some of their relatives. Very noisy all evening, to the point we called security on two occasions. On both calls Powhatan's security took care of the problem. This may not be a Gold Star resort, but it is nice. It is within a mile of stores and restaurants. It's less than 10 minutes to Williamsburg, and less than 5 to Jamestown. They will give you a very helpful map of the area upon check-in.

  • Liked — Very close to all attractions
  • Disliked — Not a Gold Star resort
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebelYell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

I had read some bad reviews, but I had already booked our trip through RCI. I decided to give the Hotel a call . I left a message with the manager Randy's voice mail. I didn't think he would call me back. Well he did. Randy explained that he took over the Plantation when it was in very bad condition. The carpets seemed to be the biggest complaint. Randy said that they have gone through the condos and they were more than half done. He promised us two condo's that have been renovated.

We arrived very late at night. When we pulled in we could tell the grounds were beautiful. We were very tired but the check in went smoothly. To our surprise the condo's were in very good condition. This is not a resort of distinction but well worth the stay. The condo's had a full kitchen. A washer & Dryer were a plus. We had two bedrooms and two full baths. It also had a pull out sofa. The condo slept six. The Plantation is historical with a house on the property that was built in the 1700's. Indoor & outdoor pool, MiniGolf and grocery store. We would definitely stay there again.

The Chartier's

  • Liked — full kitchen, wahser & dryer, cleanlyness and spaciousness
  • Disliked — the jacuzzi
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank woodwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2007

The grounds were pretty. Check in was a breeze. To get your parking pass you have to visit another desk where they encourage you to go for a 90 minute breakfast and tour.
We went to our unit after check in and left an hour later.
Upon returning that evening we found that someone had entered our unit and threw away? all of our papers we had left on the dining room table(flight confirmation, free gift from desk, car rental receipt). Everything was gone! We called front desk they referred us to security. Security came but never responded with an answer of what happened even though we were told they would let us know.
The hot tub was full of water on day 1- but EXTREMELY noisy. All the water leaked out before we left 2 days later. No one checked the tub nor was there any chemicals to add to it. But then there wasn't any water in it after the first day...
The units are not sound proof either. There were guests in the upstairs unit and it was noisy!
The unit was dated and shabby! When you sat on the couch there was a distinct urine odor!
Overall it was clean but had some areas they missed.
The Grill restaurant on the grounds was expensive and the food was okay.
The indoor pool was heavy with the chlorine!
We went to the tour but... that is another story. The breakfast was some sausage biscuits and donuts. The 90 minutes presentation was 3 3/4 hours long. The woman we had gave us her life history from being beat, etc....Then she tried to convince us about buying a timeshare.
She basically told my husband he was lying when he made a comment that he would rather think about it and get back to her. She said that's what you all say and in 5 years no one has got back to me.
They take you on the "tour" in their personal vehicles. Hers was filthy. We never should have went as later we discussed the liability of the what if she was in an accident or no insurance, etc.....
When we got back she brought out the Boss - she started out nice and all smiles BUT when we hesitated about spending $12,000.00 on one week of vacation per year she said look you aren't being asked to buy a shopping center - this woman talked to us as if we were idiots.
We ended the tour there and left.
It was a complete WASTE of our time. NEVER AGAIN will we go for a tour....
The grounds were pretty but no - we will never go back!!!

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Tour
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaleidoscope55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed one night. The room was clean but in bad repair. Mangement might have been smarter to put us in an updated room rather then trying to sell us with free Visa cards to view their resort. We didn't use the grounds so I can't comment on that. The big bathtub was nice. I would stay there again if I had children with me and I knew my room had been updated. It is very spacious for a family. and very near Williamsburg.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Property: The Historic Powhatan Resort
Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing