We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a 3 bedroom condo for a week. Great place to stay. All the things you could ask for. Rooms very clean and stocked. Indoor pool excellent. Activity Director very nice and helpful with anything you asked. Staff outstanding. Went to presentation, no pressure. Got free gift that helped on some of the Williamsburg tours. Great time in all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakegirl523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are really glad to learn that you had a relaxing time here with us, enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed in your guestroom. We were very pleased and delighted to read your comments and that the customer service you received contributed to you having a great stay here. We hope to see you coming back with another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    737
    387
    200
    164
See reviews for
1,191
409
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I booked this resort through Groupon and had read some of the negative reviews, so I was a little concerned about the type of unit we might get. We had a two bedroom, two bath second floor unit, and it was wonderful. I do think it was a remodeled unit. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook full meals. The chairs and sofa in the living room were comfy. The sheets and bed linens were spotless. The shower was powerful, but the water could have been a touch hotter. There was even a wood burning fireplace! The grounds at the resort are well-kept, and there are lots of things to keep you occupied right there. We were given a list of activities when we arrived, and most were actually interesting! We didn't have time to use the pool or gym, but everything looked well taken care of. I would definitely recommend this resort for families, because there is even mini golf! We were very pleased and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We were very pleased to read that our accommodations, activities, and amenities met, if not exceeded, your expectations. The tips you have provided for our followers is certainly appreciated. We appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to seeing you and your family here again in the near the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawesville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend before taking our son to AIT at Ft. Lee. We rented a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. I did request an updated unit at check in and received one. Our unit had a full kitchen which was great and a small deck. We spent a lot of time on the deck, the weather was wonderful! The only thing that was disappointing was that there was only a tub in one of the bathrooms. We had to share the one with the shower, but it was no problem. It was conveniently located to things and the pools were very nice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Erika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We were very pleased to read that our front desk staff was able to accommodate your request for an updated unit. Please advised that since this is one of the most requested items that we get from our guests, we may not be able to accommodate this request for each and every guest. Rest assured, our front desk staff will do their best to make sure each and every one of our guests is pleased with the unit that they are assigned. Your recommendation is most appreciated. We look forward to seeing you and your family again the next time your travels take you to the greater Williamsburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the resort this past weekend for my cousins birthday celebration. We had a two bedroom and two bathroom condo. The place was clean and in good condition. However, the curtains are very old and should be updated. We love staying at the resort. The grounds are well maintained, the staff is friendly, and you are close to everything. We went shopping at the outlets, went to Howl-o-scream at Busch Gardens. I will definitely be coming back again!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just spent a week exchanged through Interval International at this resort and can't understand any rating above "poor" for this location. We will give credit the the grounds leading into and around the resort are well maintained. To bad that doesn't carry over to the 2 bedroom upper unit (25B) we were assigned. The front door to the building was damaged and appeared to have been broken into previously. It would not shut unless you pulled very hard to ensure closure. The door into the upper unit was fine. This unit had definitely NOT been updated or repaired.

When we arrive we do a quick inventory to insure everything advertised is there so we won't be charged if something is missing. Here's a brief list of what we found:
1. dining room table for 4 people only had 3 chairs
2. curtains were missing in the master bathroom
3. there were 5 kitchen plastic bowl lids but only 1 large plastic bowl
4. no kettle to boil water
5. no ice trays for the half fridge
6. no closet in the upper bedroom so you couldn't hang clothes
7. no drawers in the kitchen so all appliances and utensils are on a wire rack in the closet above the washer and dryer
8. kitchen closet doors were broken so couldn't close

The list could go on but you get the idea. I stopped by the Concierge desk in the main lobby to file a report so we wouldn't be charged for missing items but was told "don't worry we don't take any inventory so there would be no charges".

The unit was not very clean and the living/dining area was the smallest part of the unit. Since there is no cabinet space the microwave is on a shelf between the kitchen and living room just above the two chairs that face the television. It's an old microwave and very loud so that you couldn't carry on a conversation or hear the TV when it was running. Not good especially at dinner time when you also wanted to hear the news! The boards around the soaking tub in the master bedroom were old and not close together so that if you put something on the floor, since there was no cabinet to hold toiletries, it could fall through the crack. The floors thoughout the unit are uneven so some of the tiles are higher than others which can be seen with the naked eye. The carpet is old and soiled, the furniture has chips and scratches, and the two living room chairs seem to have broken seats.

We were also disappointed with the concierge service provided by Andrea. We were interested in making arrangements to attend a live theatre performance. I asked if she knew anything about this theatre and the location. She handed me a piece of paper which had directions to several area attractions then walked away without answering any of my questions. Since it was 10 minutes to 5PM I guess that is when she got off work and couldn't be bothered with giving anymore information. Not great customer service.

Overall the best we can say is that the grounds are nice but it doesn't make up for the rest which we consider to be substandard for a resort property.

Room Tip: Beg for a unit that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We hope you will accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you and your party experienced due to our maintenance and housekeeping shortcomings. We understand that no one wishes to have their vacation tarnished by accommodations and amenities less than anticipated. Your patience is appreciated while we continue our ongoing renovation and upgrade commitment to address the concerns mentioned by you. Our hope is that the overall enjoyment of your vacation was not adversely affected by this. At The Historic Powhatan Resort, we want guests to always enjoy their interactions with team members, so your report of a disturbing experience with our concierge is a serious concern for us. We will be sure to forward your concerns to our front desk Management for coaching and review. We look forward to serving you more efficiently in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I certainly had trepidation after reading a lot of the negative reviews. Now it might have helped that I did my own research and knew this was a timeshare resort and knew about the $100 deposit. I booked through a third-party website that didn’t necessarily make sure that consumers knew that it was a timeshare. I did read that renovations where being done so I booked and hoped for the best. I was very relieved and pleasantly surprised. I didn’t get a hard timeshare sell. Note: People, just be nice! This is their job. Calm down. I only stayed for 1 night, great accommodations. Very nice setup. I’ll definitely be back and probably for a longer stay. I wasn’t there for any of their amenities or activities but it’s a great stay for all things Williamsburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbellsoup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We were very pleased to read that our accommodations met your expectations. Your feedback and comments are greatly appreciated. We will definitely look into why our 3rd party rental partners are not providing enough relevant information about our check in procedures and policies and get this fixed. Please make sure to contact us before your next arrival, and let us know if there is anything we can do to make sure your next stay with us matches, if not exceeds your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We reserved a condo at Powhatan as a special buy through Global Discovery Vacations. It was literally the best deal we've ever had on a vacation week and we were looking to getaway to celebrate our anniversary the same week it was offered. Before I booked it online I read the reviews and I was concerned about its less than stellar rating. I pushed my doubts aside, trusting in my travel club, and made the purchase anyway. For weeks, I read new reviews and researched. It really didn't quell my nervousness and I was hoping we hadn't made a mistake. And then...we got there...and there's NOTHING wrong with this place! Is it the best place I've ever stayed? No, but it's just about on par for most of the condos we've stayed in all over the country. The location is perfect, the condo is spacious and clean. The bed and pillows are heavenly. The grounds are beautiful. There seem to be lots of great activities (we didn't have time to do any of them). I don't have one complaint about our stay and I would return for another visit to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TazsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We were very pleased and thankful when we read that you had a great time here, and that our accommodations, amenities, and grounds exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon! Hopefully, next time you will be to take part in some of the activities we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.4 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
3.6 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Property: The Historic Powhatan Resort
Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing