We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This resort is large and is in a very convenient location to Historic Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown. There are 3 outdoor pools and a hot tub that we enjoyed, and we also had dinner at the pub on the premises our first night. The fare was average, and the waitstaff was friendly. Having breakfast there was out of the question however, as they seemed understaffed and there was a long wait with crowds of people, while some tables sat empty.

We reserved a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit which was nicely appointed. We found the rooms to be spacious and the layout flowed well.There was also a nice private deck outside with a table seating for four off of the living room area. The living room had a wet bar, a beautiful large screen TV and a fireplace. We were disappointed however to find that the fireplace is not hooked up to gas and therefore is for looks only.

The beds were quite comfortable, but the couch in the living room was not that comfortable at all. We were happy to realize that these units are constructed so that you do not hear your neighbors.

We found that the bathrooms could use updating. Although they functioned just fine, the shower and sinks showed wear and tear. Also, the light switches need replacement as they do not have the circuit interrupter feature. They were loose on the wall and would wiggle each time we unplugged the hairdryer. Also one of our bath towels was in shreds, which I would only use to wash a car with.

The kitchen had nice granite counter tops, newer appliances and was well equipped with pots and pans, dishes etc. But the cooking utensils were cheap and the one of the handles fell off of the spoon as we were using it. Although the cabinets functioned well, they looked worn. Also the outlets need to be replaced for the same reasons as stated in the bathroom.

The resort staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The grounds were pretty and well groomed in some areas, but need to be redone around the units as shrubbery appears old and overgrown.

In summary, although there are small changes that could be done I would come back here and also recommend this place to others..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikesToTravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    731
    382
    199
    162
See reviews for
1,173
407
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is well laid out and lots of stuff to do. Wish we had more time to take advantage of the amenities. Very spacious and clean, although a little dusty and cobwebs at front door, which tells me that these Units aren't used that often. I would definitely stay again when I had the time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We’re delighted that you chose to stay at the Historic Powhatan Resort, and that you had a great time here! We’re sorry to read that there were cobwebs around the front door of the apartment you stayed ion, though – all our accommodation should be serviced to the same high standard of housekeeping, and we’re really sorry that there appears to have been an inadvertent oversight in this regard.

We’re really pleased that this didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and we hope you’ll get the opportunity to return for another visit – we’d love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay for a few days or longer. Each unit is well equiped with kitchen, dining, lounge, bedroom and bathroom. There is also a washer and dryer which is great if you need to do some washing. On the negative there is no free wi-fi here and they charge $6.95 + tax per day. the other negative is that the web page I booked from shows the condo's around the edge of a lake with balconies overlooking, this is a little misleading and there are in fact hundreds of condo's and some have no view at all. Also it is only the two bedroom condo's that have the upstairs balcony as the one bed has no outside space at all and it does not have a shower. You would need to book a ground floor unit if you want a patio area and also if you need a shower. It would be useful if the web site had this info to hand. However I would recommend this location as it has a lovely pool both indoor and outdoor and mini golf as well as lots of activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelmerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernersville PA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed Williamsburg so much last year we decided to go back this year. We also decided to stay a second time at the Powhatan. Our second floor two bedroom full kitchen accomodations were very nice. We had no major issues during our stay and the one minor one with a tub not draining was taken care of within a half hour of calling for service. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We bypassed the 'welcome packet' because we knew the drill and they didn't bug us at all the rest of the time.

They had construction going on around the Mansion, but it did not interfere with anything. There are several new pathways around the pool area which I thought was a very nice addition. It was too cold for us to be in the outside pools, but we took advantage of the indoor pool and jacuzzi several times.

We would go back here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMF-BAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We’re delighted that you chose to come back to the Historic Powhatan Resort for a second visit, and that you had a great time here! We strive to provide all our guests with excellent service, and we’re really pleased that our team were able to give you all the assistance you needed while you were here. We really hope you’ll get the opportunity to come back here for a third vacation – we’d love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Convenient to all the attractions of the Williamsburg-Yorktown-Jamestown triangle, this resort offers a combination of hotel and timeshare accommodations in a lovely setting. Indoor and outdoor pools, miniature golf, tennis, and dining on site. Our 2 bedroom condo with sofa bed in the living room was spacious and relaxing. The current owner, Diamond Resorts, has made major upgrades over the past few years, including restoring the historic home to a pristine condition suitable for all kinds of events and touring.

Room Tip: Condos in the villas are available on first or second floors; choose first floor if stairs are an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We were very pleased to read your review of our resort. Thank you for providing a detailed summary of activities located on-site. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I happen to find a deal on this property while looking for a place to stay for 4 adults and my 2 grandchildren. There was some sort of deal on one of the discount sites so I gave and for a try. The reviews were extremely mixed so I wasn't sure what we were in for exactly.

I was pleasantly surprised. Except for the sales pitch while trying to check in it went fairly smoothly considering the amount of people trying to check in. We then went to our room on the second in some units towards the back. We had a two room with a fireplace. The kitchen was a plus and have the space was pleasant with two little princesses running all over the place playing tag with me and hide and seek with their mother.

I am not sure if I happened to get lucky or I just have a different view of rental units but I plan to look into this property in October when we go on a family trip to Halloscream. This time both my son and daughter and Grandchildren .... Hoping we won't get disappointed like some of these people did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about you and your family’s recent stay here at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We were delighted to see that your stay went extremely well and that you and your family had an enjoyable time here. It was very regrettable to hear that our sales pitch had a slight damper on your stay. Please contact us beforehand once you make your reservation for October, and we will do the best we can to place you and your family in a similar accommodation. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you and your later family later next month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great Location with plenty of family actives. The resort rooms were clean. Close to Jamestown, Yorktown, and less than hour to Richmond. There is a good family restaurant on site but their plenty of restaurants and a few grocery stores within a few miles away. We want to the Yorktown beach, but we should went to Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: Our resort was within walking distance to the pool and the restaurant. We had the upper floor while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jeff7160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
2.7 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.4 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 73 in Williamsburg
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Property: The Historic Powhatan Resort
Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing