We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The town was settled over 400 years ago. This place should show some advancement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Sicklerville, New Jersey
2 reviews
“The town was settled over 400 years ago. This place should show some advancement.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

As a Diamond Sampler member, we stayed here to assess ownership. If all Diamonds are like this (luckily, they're not), they should be turned back into coal. From day one, the room STUNK of rotten vacuum. After two bottles of Febreze, the scent faded a little. Dryer made it sound like an alarm going off. Little/No pantry storage. Weird room where a hot tub used to be, now is dead space. Floor was more comfortable than the sagging sofa. Pool was crowded, noisy. Good points, close to other amenities and shops. Grounds were clean, but spread out. Restaurant, EXCELLENT!!

Room Tip: Lower rooms may be larger, but you hear walking upstairs. Reminds me of old apartment living. High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamNRei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    719
    377
    196
    159
See reviews for
1,144
405
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just returned from 2 nights at the Powhatan resort. We have 3 kids so the 2 bdrm suites with kitchen and living areas were great. I had hear about the time share sales pitch in advance and simply skipped the "concierge" desk after we got our room keys. That's where the sales pitch is supposed t have taken place.

Nice rooms, but clientele was a bit sleazy. Lots of trashy people who did not really keep an eye on their kids, not bad people just kind of trashy. Loud people at pool (Marco Polo very loud).

Near all of the attraction though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bleifeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Midway into our vacation we spent the evening sitting around in the living room and a cup was sat down on the floor and within 20 minutes it was filled with ants and simultaneously someone felt an ant crawling on their leg. Needless to say, a request was put into housekeeping to come and clean; Housekeeping never showed up. We never really utilized the living room after that. Our unit was dated, but they are renovating units on the resort. We stayed in building 22 unit 75D.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are sorry to read that you experienced issues with ants in your accommodation during your recent stay at the Historic Powhatan Resort. This is something that should have been addressed immediately by the resort staff, and we are at a loss to understand why they did not attend your apartment. Please be assured that this is not the standard of service we strive to uphold, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you as a result of this oversight.

You are correct that the resort is currently undergoing refurbishment, and we feel sure that if you do choose to return here in the future, you’ll really notice the difference – we hope we’ll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Although the our one bedroom suit was a good size with a small patio, the bed was horribly uncomfortable that I cringed at even going to sleep. Every morning I could hear our neighbors and every move they made and every argument they had. The rooms need some updating for sure! When we went to check in they brought us into a back room where they offered appetizers and sat us down at a table. The room wreaked of food that had been out all day and the table they sat us at had a filthy table cloth on it with spilled food from all the previous check ins before us. The staff was friendly, and the grounds here are beautiful, and the location amazing. I'm not sure that I will come back to this resort though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandicehanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are very sorry to read about your experience and we regret that you were not satisfied with the comfort or soundproofing of your apartment. We would like to assure you that we take all such complaints very seriously and should you have mentioned this to the reception they would do their best to assist you. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Green springs is nicer and cleaner. mKe sure you get a refurbished unit if you pull the trigger and stay here. Tight entry right on top of neighboring condos entry. Mildew on shower curtain and around windows.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We regret if there were certain aspects of your stay you were not entirely satisfied with; we assure you we are currently undergoing a refurbishment and all apartments will soon be of the similar high standard. We hope that you will come back to see the difference, yet until then we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I returned home yesterday after a five night stay at the resort with our daughter-in-law and two young granddaughters. After the somewhat negative reviews, we were pleasantly surprised by what we found at this resort. The expansive grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We checked into a 2nd floor two bedroom, two bath condo that was bright, clean and well equipped for our stay. The location was perfect affording easy access to historic Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, and Busch Gardens. The girls did not participate in scheduled activities, but used the outdoor pools. We liked the fact that there were three outdoor pools; one for tots, one for young children and a separate pool for adults.

As for the timeshare sales push, it took a couple of "no thank you's" during the check in process and a "no thank you" in a phone call several days later....not a big deal. Our only complaint was that on night four, there was some type of maintenance/housekeeping being done to the first floor condo below us at about 11 p.m. and there was a lot of noise. When asked to turn down the blaring TV they did, and finished their work.

If traveling with family, we would definitely stay here again. As a couple, we would probably stay in one of the inns in the historic area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are really pleased that you chose to stay at the Historic Powhatan Resort, and that your experiences exceeded your expectations! We’re sorry to note that you experienced some disruption to one night of your stay, though, and we hope this didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable break here.

We’re delighted that you would consider us for future visits to Williamsburg, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose this property because the condo-like set-up and relatively inexpensive price tag appealed to us. We were traveling with another family and after reading prior reviews, I was a bit apprehensive about how our stay would play out. Turned out to be an unremarkable but satisfactory experience. On balance, I would stay here again under similar circumstances, but would not advise this property for a romantic get-away. While we stayed for three nights, we were not pressured to attend any time share sales pitch and all staff we came in contact with were friendly and helpful. The outdoor pool area was very appealing, and we were given access to it upon arrival at 1PM even though we could not officially check in to our room until 4PM. The grounds are fairly well-maintained, and the unit was clean enough, although the dated furniture did show some signs of wear and tear and the tv in the bedroom was an old model (though there was a flat screen in the living room area). The bathroom appeared to be in the midst of renovation, with the shower stall being newly tiled while the vanity/cabinet was quite beat-up. Although our unit was conveniently located on the ground floor, it was somewhat dark due to a limited amount of windows, most of which opened out onto a closed in courtyard/deck area. I did like the cathedral style ceiling in the living area, as it gave the place a more open feeling, and the skylights helped make this area a bit lighter than the kitchen/bathroom/bedrooms. While our unit was quite clean, I did notice that the other members of our party had large and thick cobwebs covering the skylights in their ceiling - not nice! Also, while having access to a washer/dryer in the unit was extremely helpful, the machines were VERY loud and the dryer took a long time to do its job. Both of us also experienced quite a bit of noise from the occupants above us. The walls/floors are apparently not very thick. But we were provided with plenty of fresh towels and the bedding was very clean and comfortable - a big plus. If you are staying with children and want the extra space and privacy of a suite set up and kitchenette, and you don't plan to spend lots of time in the room anyway, then this would be a good option for your family. It is incredibly easy to reach the parks (Busch and Water Country) from this property, and there is a brand-new shopping plaza nearby which features a Panera, a soon-to-open Noodle and Company, a Trader Joe's, and many other options - such as a cinema and a Barnes&Nobel.

Room Tip: Based on our experience, I would guess that the upstairs units might be a bit quieter. Some buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
2.7 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 74 in Williamsburg
376 reviews
3.4 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Property: The Historic Powhatan Resort
Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing