We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Stay here. Getting renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
North Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second Stay here. Getting renovated”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a pretty nice timeshare resort, but by no means luxurious. Great with families. We got a really good rate on-line, and had a two bedroom condo. The furniture is getting a little old, but the place has two full bedrooms , a full kitchen, and even a living room with a fireplace! The first floor units are all having the hot-tubs removed, but will now just have sunrooms. The indoor pool is currently closed for renovation, but they let us use the pool in their sister property nearby. They seemed to be giving a hard sell to some people, but laid off me and my family, maybe because of the way we booked. I'd go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPotomac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    701
    375
    192
    158
See reviews for
1,111
395
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We had stayed there a year ago and really enjoyed our stay.

At check-in we were told that the hot tubs had been removed from all the units and the indoor pool was closed for maintenance. While we were told that guests could use the indoor pool at a sister resort, who wants to drive miles to go for a swim?

The 2 bedroom unit appeared to be clean; however, the next morning, we noticed bugs on the bed and wall of the queen bedroom. Housekeeping immediately came to inspect and as soon as she pulled up the sheets and mattress, she stopped and called maintenance. She explained that she was not able to change the sheets and left. We immediately collected our items and left the room.

We were given another room that we inspected and it was free of bugs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravel3373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide premium services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet these expectations in regard to your 2nd stay here at The Historic Powhatan Resort. A decision was made (by vote) by our Homeowner’s Association (HOA) earlier this year to remove the hot tubs from our units. This decision, mainly based on the significant costs needed to maintain and replace these hot tubs, was not decided upon lightly, but was done to ensure the continued successful operation of our resort, and to provide the best possible experience for our guests. All references to these hot tubs were advised, to our 3rd party rental partners, to be pulled from their verbiage about our resort. We truly regret that you were not advised of this at the time of booking. The funds saved from the removal of these hot tubs are being used to refurbish other aspects of our units, including new flat screen TV’s in the master bedrooms. While our indoor pool is being renovated at this time, we do allow pool access at our sister resort, Greensprings Vacation Resort, for all guests during this time of renovation. We truly regret hearing that this would be an inconvenience for you; however, this was the best possible alternative that we can provide to our guests while we work to finish the maintenance work for our indoor pool. Our maintenance staff oversees an aggressive pest-control program, approved by local ordinances, in order to protect against pest problems during the seasons where these types of issues are imminent in Williamsburg. Unfortunately even with this program, we may not be able to catch each and every pest presence before our guest’s arrival. Your decision to stay here a 2nd time is truly appreciated. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations compared to this stay. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This is such a great find. Instead of staying in a hotel room, why not stay in a condo? There's a full kitchen, washer and dryer and a small living room. Although we only requested a one queen size bed, they put us in a unit with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. We'd stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaLisa1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Spending President's day at the resort. Requested an upgraded 1 BR upstairs room. The room was great with upgraded furniture, kitchen, and TV's. I loved the upstairs reading room, what a nice surprise. I will always requested the upstairs 1 BR's in future now that I can no longer use the ground floor jacuzzi's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeshareUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Travelled to Williamsburg for the weekend. It was my second stay at this property which we picked over getting 2 hotel rooms with the in-laws. Our room was clean and well equipped for what we needed (we didn't cook but used the brand new coffee maker) . The furniture was in good shape and we had a flat screen in our main living area as well. Check in and out is easy, If you are not interested in the Time share sales pitch just politely let them know, its pretty easy. Lots of near by choices for food and a band new Trader Joes, If you want to spend time with the people you are travelling with and do not want to be on top of each other in a small hotel room, its a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for returning to our resort and also taking the time in sharing your thoughts of your most recent stay here. We were very delighted to see that our accommodations, amenities, and location met your expectations and contributed to your recommendation (which we really appreciate!) of our resort. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The accomodations were very nice, clean and convenient to most everything Williamsburg has to offer. However the best part was a having a private hot tub in your room if you opted to be on the first floor. I recently learned the the hot tubs are no longer an option which is really too bad, probably the only reason I would opt to stay there over other properties in Wiiliamburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PintSize105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We used a Groupon for our Anniversary getaway. We've been to this property several times previously with our entire family. We were told our master bath had a jetted tub which wasn't the case. It was too cold to get out and enjoy the entire property's amenities so we stayed inside. The internet access was a disappointment. Most places we stay have free wifi. AT&T was the provider and you had to purchase a package. The signal was choppy at best when it came to streaming content. There's a nice big flat screen in the living room and a tiny old-fashioned tube tv in one of the bedrooms. The kitchen was adequately stocked and we normally use it more, but on this occasion we were simply thankful for the free coffee as we ended up eating out off-property all weekend. We attended a tour/presentation for ownership. There were a lot of statements made that I would like to verify independently, but otherwise a very attractive purchase. I've heard lots of pros and cons about timeshare and most of the cons are from "weeks" owners since they have less flexibility than the "points" owners. According to the sales person, they have a travel service that you can use to convert your paid points to other things like hotel rooms, rental cars and other travel related needs. I'm always cautious with things that sound too good to be true. If indeed it is as good as it sounds, I may well purchase. If the process is valid, but a pain to use or a loss value (<point dollar value) then no way.

Room Tip: The hot tubs are only located in the ground floor units and I heard some of them have been removed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonbulger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,018 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 74 in Williamsburg
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Property: The Historic Powhatan Resort
Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing