We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My Second Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My Second Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My family bought timeshare at this resort way back in the early 90s and we have enjoyed it (and gotten our use of it) ever since. This is like a second home for us. We'll come for a couple of weekend getaways throughout the year and then my parents will usually come for a week or so during the summer. The whole resort is just gorgeous especially in the early spring and fall. Everyone on the staff is friendly and attentive. There are lots of attractions/activities on site for everyone such as: swimming pool (inside and out as well as an adult and kid pools), tennis courts, putt putt, racquet ball, restaurant, and the old plantation house that you can tour. There are plenty of romantic places you can walk to for a little privacy as well.

It can get a bit crowded during the summer months and holidays especially with all the families and kids. Sometimes it can be quiet and other times it can feel like you're at a resort in Disney World. But I guess that applies to anywhere.

Since we have timeshare here, we are also able to stay at Greensprings Plantation just right down the road. I actually prefer the Powhattan Resort over Greensprings. It's much more beautiful and Greensprings looks just like a golf resort.

Room Tip: If it's a getaway for couples, definitely get the bottom unit because of the jacuzzi. The top un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    649
    357
    184
    149
See reviews for
1,027
350
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
petersburg, new jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Historic Powhatten Plantation Resort was truly a cut above. Diamond Resorts should be very proud of this destination. 5 pools,1 inside made this a great resort. Minature golf every day with my four year old was fantastic. He also enjoyed the playground. The Powhatton kitchen is a fantastic restaurant. it's convenient to everywhere in Williamsburg and Jamestown. I really couldn't see myself staying anywhere else in the historic Triangle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brewhausguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Diamond Resorts Historic Powhatan Resort is located in Williamsburg, Virginia. The resort is composed of 256 rolling woodland acres and offers a variety of fun during any season including cascading indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and a playground.

The location of the resort is centrally located in what is called "The Historic Triangle", which is comprised of Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown. The area is filled with history. Jamestown is where it all began for what is now the United States as it became the first permanent settlement in America when it was founded in 1607. Williamsburg was an extremely important town during the period of the American Revolution. It ranks along with Boston and Philadelphia as the most important cities during the period of the revolution. A total of 88 of the buildings are original dating back to the late 1700s. And Yorktown is the site of the Yorktown Battlefield where the last battle of the Revolutionary War was conducted and ended the revolution.

The resort features one, two, three, and four bedroom suites which are located in numerous buildings spaced around a beautiful setting. Most of the buildings have two floors with stair access to each floor. There is no elevator service so if this presents a problem, be sure to specify a first floor location. Parking is free and plentiful and is located directly in front of your assigned building. One of the few negative aspects we had with the resort was that there was a charge for the wireless internet. In this day, when you can get free wireless internet access at places such as McDonalds and Motel 6, there shouldn't be a charge at what is positioned as a luxury res-ort.

The resort has an indoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, outdoor children's pool, outdoor hot tub, and outdoor pool. It also has a fitness center, basketball, bike rental, golf putting green, horse shoe pit, racquetball, shuffleboard, tennis, and volleyball. On-site activities at the resort include an activities department with numerous ongoing activities.

The check in went very smoothly. Keep in mind that the check in time is 4:00 pm so you more than likely won't have access to your suite before this time (although you are able to check in). The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and most helpful. Check out time is 10:00 am, which is the standard for this type accommodation.

We loved our suite as soon as we entered it. We had a two bedroom suite and it was very nice.

The two bedroom suites feature a master bedroom with a king size bed, desk, television, and a full bath with combination shower / tub. The second bedroom has twin beds and a television. A second full bath with a shower is located in the hall.

One of the other negatives we had with the resort was that both of the bathrooms were very small. They were certainly adequate but were generally similar to what you would find in most hotels. We usually find much larger bathrooms in resorts such as this.

The large living room has a very large sofa with a pull-out queen size bed, two easy chairs, a large flat screen television, and a fireplace. A dining room with six chairs and a breakfast bar are located between the living room and the kitchen.

The full kitchen includes a coffeemaker, conventional oven, dishwasher, microwave oven, pots, pans, and serving dishes, refrigerator with icemaker, silverware, stove, and toaster.

There is an extremely large and very nice balcony just off the living room. The balcony is one of the largest and nicest we have ever had at any resort. It has a table with four chairs as well as a lounge chair. The suite also had a very large, private hot tub. It was located in a separate space just off the bedroom and adjacent to the balcony area.

General suite amenities include heating and air conditioning with individual climate control, a ceiling fan in the living room, two televisions with satellite, VCR/DVD player, iron and ironing board, telephones with voicemail answering service, and a clothes washer/dryer.

The only other negatives we had with the suite involved the air conditioning and lighting.

The thermostat was located in the hall way. The cooling was fine in all areas of the suite with the exception of the master bedroom. In the master bedroom, the temperature control was ok but not good. You needed to set the thermostat to a very low temperature in order to get adequate cooling in the master bedroom --- and then the rest of the suite got quite cool. This would have been much better if there had been a ceiling fan in the master bedroom.

The overall lighting in the suite was extremely poor. It was all but impossible to read at night in the master bedroom. I believe that there were three 60 watt lights to light the entire bedroom. The lighting was better in the living room but still not great.

In summary, the Historic Powhatan Resort was excellent in most regards. It is centrally located, the grounds are great, the service excellent, there are an abundance of activities, it is well maintained, and the suites are quite comfortable. A highlight for us was the balcony and private hot tub. The size of the bathrooms isn't easy to fix but the addition of ceiling fans and improved lighting would really add to the appeal of the suites.

NOTE: They have announced that a major upgrade will be made to the entire facility. The timing of the completion of this is unknown but I assume it will be done on a gradual basis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexRanger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayette City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We were only there for one night. Very nice. Wish there was a better tv in master bedroom. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were clean, plenty of towels. Will definitely want to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katydid10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently purchased a deal for this resort as we had wanted to take a trip to Williamsburg. We were shocked at the great value we received for the hotel and would absolutely come here again at their regular rates.
Overall the biggest positive is by far the roomy suites. Additionally, since each suite is in town-home like structure you do not feel like you are at a hotel at all. They have two outdoor swimming pools - one for adults only and a nice indoor pool and rec area. There is on-site mini golf, a lake, and activities. You could spend all day on the resort and not get bored at all. Also, their on-site grille is reasonably priced and delicious! The staff is also very courteous and helpful.
The only con that I can think of is that the walls were a little thin since these are older structures. We heard our neighbors muffled voices in the morning but it really wasn’t that bad and it didn’t disturb us. Also, they don’t do daily maid service if you are there for a short-term trip.
Overall, I would highly recommend this resort. It would also be great for families since the suites are so large – very budget friendly!

Room Tip: There are a few buildings that overlook the lake. I would definitely request those units if at all p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisawagner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of our resort. We’re delighted to read that the size of our suites, as well as, the amenities offered exceeded your expectations, and that our staff was very courteous and helpful. We also appreciate the feedback about our on-site restaurant, as it helps determine if we need to make any changes to the menu, or cost of our menu options. Just as an FYI; we do provide nightly housekeeping services, however, we do charge a nominal fee for this service. We appreciate your business, and look forward to being able to accommodate you and your boyfriend again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Historic Powhatan Resort is a great family resort with a lot of activities available for all ages, but in need of considerable and continued updates. They are working on improvements but it is slow going as it is a very large resort complex. We've stayed there at least 5 times as Diamond Resort owners, and we will definitely return again and we look forward to the continued improvements. It is located in a convenient area with Colonial Williamsburg, shopping, restaurants, winery, Busch Gardens/Water Country and more all within reasonable driving distances.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHLEEN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for a week having swapped our own timeshare and there are definite positives and negatives for this resort.

Positives - lovely, clean grounds; spacious condo; convenient for Historic Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg and Yorktown; wine matching dinner and Craig's entertainment at the dinner; the lovely French man (apologies for not knowing your name) who worked in the resort general store who was extremely helpful in relation to public transport; the facilities seemed good although we tended to be out and about more than in the resort. If you like shopping it is very convenient for the Premier Outlet Mall.

Negatives - 3 days of fielding requests to attend a timeshare presentation under the guise of changes to our exchange company policy (not the case); decor in the condo was a bit tired and not on a level with our home resort; requested that a light in the stairway be fixed on second day and by day 7 it was still not working (the concierge was more interested in getting us to one of their meetings than noting our broken light); it was not possible to use the wifi (pay per use) in our condo, signal was so weak we could not connect (concierge confirmed sometimes it works, some times it doesn't).

Overall I wouldn't choose to return to this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 384D which could really have done with some updating (painting, etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bazrat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.1 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.4 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Property: The Historic Powhatan Resort
Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing