We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Week Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greensprings Vacation Resort
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful Week Vacation”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We spent the first week of Aug at Greenspring Vacation Resort! The staff were warm and friendly, very helpful! We did request a down stairs room however, we got the unit on the hill and the 2nd floor. (aww) Nevertheless, we had a wonderful week with all the fun activities (most were costwise or FREE) which was great for our budget. The resort was located near many things. We enjoyed Jamestown, Busch Gardens, restaurants, and outlets just to name a few! The only sad part was the lights going out near the end of the week for 9 hours due to a storm. The gentleman at the gate shared some glow lites which were really helpful. There was only 1 flashllight per unit so that helped tremendously! The lights did finally resume and we were back to normal until about an hour or two the next day. The lights went out again! I guess the electric company weren't quite finished "messing" with our vacation. Inspite of that, we had a blast and only wished that we could have stayed another week. There were other places that we wanted to visit. Maybe next year. Thank you again to all of the staff. You all were great! :)Tips-more computers to go online!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My3Sons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    235
    103
    54
    41
See reviews for
383
144
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Greensprings Plantation provided a nicely furnished condo with pretty much everything you would need to live comfortably. The rooms were clean and spacious. We did have to wait almost an hour past the promised 4PM check-in for our room. On check out day, the cleaning folks were at our door just before 10AM. However, the staff were courteous and helpful. The beds, in particular, were very comfortable - as good as home!

We agreed to sit through a time share presentation hosted by Diamond Resorts International (DRI) in return for two adult one day tickets to Busch Gardens. It was an extremely high pressure presentation and DRI just would not take "no" for an answer. After two hours, we told them were were finished and just up and walked out. The DRI folks were rude when we said we wanted to leave and insisted that we sign a waiver stating that we would not be welcome in their club in the future because we refused to sign up with them during this initial presentation. I kept asking if we could get back to them because we thought it was a good idea and because we really liked Greensprings, but needed time to consider spending such a large amount of money. I asked for a business card which I was advised they don't have! Surprisingly enough, they told us that Greensprings was not their property (yet) and that we could not judge DRI properties based on the condo we were staying in, since their properties were much nicer! Also interestingly enough, when we checked out, Diamond Resorts' name was listed on the invoice along with Greensprings. Things that make you go "hmmmmm." Needless to say, we are so happy that we did not sign on with DRI as we have since read many negative posts about how they do not follow through with what they promise. Regardless of the negative interaction with DRI, we did indeed enjoy our relatively inexpensive stay at Greensprings. We just do not like the fact that we were lied to by DRI and were horrified to read that some people signed on with DRI just because they felt that they were being bullied and wanted to get away from the high pressure sales techniques.

One more point - our room was on the second floor of a three story unit. The family above us had a young child who cried a lot - very loudly - and woke up screaming every morning at 6AM (really!!). This child ran around the entire condo while we were trying to sleep in the early morning hours. I would hope that they would plan better and know that young children work better on lower floors, especially when older families are below them! Oh well, we still had a nice family vacation, even though we were a little tired from waking up so early every morning.

Below I am stating that I would recommend Greensprings Plantation, but we would urge you to do your own research and draw your own conclusions on Diamond Resorts International before you get involved with them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinamarie2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Had a short 4 day stay at Greensprings, Williamsburg. Resort was nice. Pool a good size and clean. Cabana had decent drinks and snacks. Our unit was an newly updated one and was very nice and roomy. The only thing I would like to see added is a TV in the 2nd bedroom. It would also be nice to have free internet availability in the unit. Williamsburg is a great place, however in the summer there is a lot of traffic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandCNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Spent a week here as our family vacation to Williamsburg. The resort was very large - lots of buildings. Luckily we were only about 4 buildings away from the pool and were able to walk there. Other people had to drive to the pool. When you have young kids and are carrying toys, floats etc. it helps to be near the pool.

The room itself was very spacious and had a great floor plan. The master suite was very large and had a huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub and one long vanity with two sinks. The second bedroom had two twin beds which worked well since we brought our young niece along with our son. The kids had their own TV in room also which was nice.

The kitchen had everything you needed: microwave, dishwasher, fancy coffee machine, blender etc. along with all the dishes/towels supplied. There was a nice living room with flat screen TV and a nice sized patio where we spent time playing cards with the kids.

As in all the timeshares we stay at - we often purchase groceries for the week for most of our meals and eat out on occasion. There were plenty of stores, restaurants, etc. just a few miles from the resort and even a Walgreens.

My only complaint of the room is some of the furniture was worn and were the carpets. The walls were paper thin and we had a person above us that walked the floors all hours of the night - back and forth like crazy so we didn't get real good sleep there. Also, the buildings do not have elevators so you have to lug all your groceries, luggage up the stairs.

The location to Colonial Williamsburg was a straight shot down the main road maybe about 3-5 miles. Also close to Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. We bought the bounce pass which allowed entry to all 3 attractions and we went back and forth all week-definitely worth the money!!!!

Forgot to mention only the one outdoor pool - it was large enough though. Had a small kids pool and swingset area and some outdoor hot tubs alos. There was a small bar/food area at the pool. Also activities for the kids throughout the week. The few things we signed up for were cancelled due to low attendance.

The indoor pool came in handy one afternoon when it rained. There was also a huge whirlpool indoors.

The mini golf course was not good at all. Each hole was created out of plywood which had warped from the rain and it was covered in that green indoor/outdoor carpeting and needed to be replaced. We paid $25 for the golf for the week so the kids could golf as often as they wanted - better than the individual price but NOT a good mini golf course at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commerce
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Green Springs, having stayed in the gorgeous 2 bdrm unit. We were so impressed with the beautiful and spacious accommodations, fully equipped condo, and pleasant pool area. It was 100% comfortable and satisfying. In fact, we think this might be our favorite resort within Diamond which we’ve enjoyed for the past five years!

When we arrived home in Michigan, a telephone message was waiting from your Security Department. In our final rush to pack, I inadvertently left all the belongings from my purse in the top drawer of the bedroom dresser! My wallet, ID, credit cards, along with some jewelry, were all left behind. I was in a panic over this huge mistake.

We contacted Officer Minns, who was extremely courteous, concerned for me, and willing to do whatever he could to help. He immediately emailed an authorization form to me which would allow him to send my belongings by UPS. Everything arrived safely, in perfect condition, two days later. Officer Minns really provided personal service and conveyed his assurances that everything would be fine. We cannot thank him enough.

We also want to extend our sincere thanks and gratitude to the individual who was responsible for finding my lost items and turning them in immediately to the Security Department. This person is to be commended for his/her honesty and personal integrity. There are many places where this kind of act would not have occurred, so it is clear that this person is a valuable asset to Green Springs. We hope some sort of accommodation or recognition can be given to this individual to honor his/her behavior and commitment to excellence in service. What a decent and honorable act this was, especially in times like these!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattisden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I was really impressed with how large the condo was. We travelled with our two kids ages 8 and 13. It was great because they had their own beds and large bathroom. Our bedroom was quite large with a king-size bed and a fantastic bathroom! I read several negative reviews before we went. One of the complaints was that there was not enough hot water. We did not have any problems with the hot water - there was plenty!

It was a really nice resort with a beautiful pool area. I liked our privacy of our condo and the quietness of the resort. We were out of the crazy resort/restaurant area but yet an easy drive down the road to anything you would want or need!

The only negative we have is the couch - it wasn't the most comfortable. (However, it's a pull-out bed couch and I think that they're all uncomfortable!)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperPlanner98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

A family relative has a timeshare here and invited us along. We were on the third floor (no elevator) but at least you did not have people running above you. It was a two bedroom unit with a deck the overlooked the golf course. They had a lot of amenities that even included pool towels. They had indoor (spelled of chlorine that burned my eyes) and outdoor pools, tennis courts, gym, basketball and volleyball courts. They also had board games you could borrow and movies you could rent. The unit was nice but the furniture could use some updating. They do supply a service of eight dishes, etc. The pots/pans,toaster, coffee maker, etc were cuisinart and looked new. The location was very convenient to Busch Gardens, water country, colonial Williamsburg
and Jamestown/Yorktown plus a lot of area shops and restaurants. If you have time check out the movie tavern, it is a movie theatre were you order food and they bring it to you. To my surprise the food was good, theater was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropicalfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.4 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Historic Powhatan Resort
The Historic Powhatan Resort
#24 of 73 in Williamsburg
2,002 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,589 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Property: Greensprings Vacation Resort
Address: 3500 Ludwell Pkwy, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1335 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing