We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Old Lady Needs a Major Facelift!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Greensprings Vacation Resort
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“This Old Lady Needs a Major Facelift!”
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I've stayed at Greensprings 3 times over the past 6 years. I just returned from my stay June 6-12. I stayed in a 4 br/4 b unit. (It is really a two 2br/2b that share a common door.) I requested 2 renovated units on the first floor since I knew the "resort" didn't have elevators for myself and another family traveling with me. When I arrived we were placed in Bldg 21 on the 2nd & 3rd floors. The units not only weren't renovated but they weren't even in good working order. One of the showers in the 3rd floor unit wouldn't work. One dryer took 2 hours and 45 minutes to dry 4 bath towels. On the final night, one ac unit completely shut down at 2am.

The layout is great for families. The unit are large and roomy. That is where the positive comments end. Ownership MUST spend some big money to improve these outdated units. Teal carpet, bright blue vinyl furniture, blue laminate countertops, and circa early 1990's wallpaper need to go.

I am done with this place! Time to head to Kingsmill next year...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlestonNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    228
    100
    52
    40
See reviews for
369
141
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed in a 2BR Villa (2nd floor of a 3-story building, no elevator), obtained as an RCI extra vacation. The floor plan provided pleasant and large areas for living, dining, kitchen, and bath…and also a sizable patio with small table and 4 chairs overlooking the golf course. Bedrooms are less spacious, but adequate and equipped with comfortable beds. The unit was quiet, with little sound spillover from adjoining units. Staff members were friendly and helpful. You must ask for your safe key at the front desk if you wish to use the in-room safe, as the key is not provided automatically.

The master bath had a steam shower. That feature worked for us, but there is no guarantee it will work for you. Greensprings is not maintaining the steam option, as parts for it are hard to come by.

The swimming pools, both indoor and outdoor, are well above average. You pick up and return towels as you need them from the activity desk in the pool area. The exercise room is nice and decently equipped.

There is no midweek housecleaning, so no fresh towels for the unit. No problem, though, as the in-unit laundry works just fine. Maintenance was responsive and friendly. Unfortunately, we needed it on 3 occasions.

This is a good resort for young children. A review from a child next door, seen scrawled in colored chalk on the sidewalk, said: “Hello people…I like it here.”

When planning a stay at a Diamond resort, be aware that Diamond has two types of units…Club Properties (for owners) and Developer Properties (for others). Club Properties are gorgeous, at the level of Marriott and Starwood/Westin. Developer properties are of lesser quality. The unit we were given was of the latter type. In our travels with Interval International, we have always been treated as owners. This did not happen with this RCI extra vacation.

Here are a few reasons why we did not rate our Greensprings stay more highly:
- There is no draining rack for dishes, and no baking tray for heating rolls or pizzas.
- The dishwasher does not always get dishes and utensils clean.
- The cooking dishes are not of Pyrex quality. We accidentally broke one when a hot dish encountered cooler water.
- There is no TV in the guest bedroom.
- There is no CD player or sound system (does have a DVD player for the TV)
- There is an annoying $29.95 charge for WiFi service unless you are an AT&T customer. This service was initially so slow as to be unusable (0.05 Mbps download speed, less than 1% of what it should be). The same falloff in service happened again two nights later. Otherwise the download speeds ranged from 1.0 to 1.55 Mbps, and were sometimes even slower. We were seldom able to use our MagicJack for telephone communication over the internet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezra56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed for a week and there were things we really liked about the unit (the cookware, the kitchen, the location, security, the speediness of maintenance). There were things we didn't like (the repetitive requests for us to join their open house to look at the property, the discomfort of the furniture, the charge for paying for wifi). The DVD player didn't work. The towels were shoddy and not plentiful. There was a no pets clause, but clearly someone was feeding a very fat bunny behind our units. The "concierge" was a ersatz time share host, who accosted you at every visit to join their next open house tour.
The front desk was nice and helpful, but our room was not ready at the appointed check in. They also tried to give us a "sub-floor" unit. I did not go on vacation to spend it in the basement. The units could have been cleaned more thoroughly. I don't think they have been dusted in quite some time. Things were orderly, but it looks like they just tidy everything up. We ran everything through the dishwasher before using. My husband found a piece of old spaghetti stuck to a pot. Of other concern is that they tell you "not" to strip the beds when you check out. That is my first time encountering that in a time share. Greensprings was not awful. We have just stayed at much nicer properties previously. This is was the best out of what was available, and it served its purpose.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phillyfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We loved the resort at Greensprings Plantation. We went to Williamsburg for the historical aspects, and were completely satisfied. It was very close to Colonial Williamsburg, where we toured and saw reenactments. We got to visit Jamestown and Yorktown too, both which were a short drive away. The hotel was even on a former plantation! They offered plenty to do while we were there, and the amenities were superfluous.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patel9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I recently stayed at the Greensprings Resort for a week. We were originally in units across the street from the clubhouse,which by the way was beautiful, as was the pool and the grounds. Not so for the accomodations. The first unit had a broken window, so they moved us 2 doors down and that one had a smell that was sickening. Even the entry smelled horrible as you walked into the building. We tried for 2 days to get the room sprayed, but it didn't help. The towels had black marks on them and had to be replaced, twice,and there was a roach on the bathroom sink. There was no screen on the bedroom window and the exterior siding was full of mold...the outside chair cushions had bird mess on them.
I must say we were then transfered to the units that you see in the pictures. what a difference. That was what we thought we were getting, but were told we were "upgraded" due to all the problems. On their website, there was no mention of upgraded accomodations. Nor was there any mention of the downgraded rooms we originally were given. If you stay in the newer remodeled section you will enjoy your stay, but watch out for the older ones. That horrible smell stayed with us all week.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mamamarie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

rooms are beautiful just like the pictures listed. Everything you need in kitchen. beds are very comfortable. Bathroom is perfect i want to take it home. Must pay for internet should be free and no tv in extra bedroom only problems. Alot of space and can escape from kids. Air conditioning did break but was fixed very quickly. There is a fee for extra activities like miniature golf. Very pleased would come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

First of all, because the resort was willing to match the price of what I believe was Expedia or Orbitz, my family of two adults and two kids under 10 paid only about $95 plus tax per night for a four night stay in late March, which coincided with the opening of Busch Gardens. This is about $70 per night cheaper than I was getting at a similar place before canceling after finding this deal. This was a ridiculous and absurd deal for this place, meaning, I don't know if we'll ever match it again.

We LOVED staying here and would have liked to stay longer. The kids (and us) loved the huge indoor pool, and they even swam in the outdoor pool! You do pay about $7 a night for wireless, which worked fine.

As another reviewer mentioned, we stumbled onto the nearby Trader Joes which we stopped at nearly every night to get delicious and easy to prepare food to bring back for dinner. It's always a benefit to have one of these nearby when traveling.

I won't go into detail about the accomodations, because I think the previous reviewers cover it pretty well and are accurate. The pictures posted by a previous reviewer looked just like our room(s). I could not even consider giving the place less than five stars.

HOWEVER, as is too often the case with these condo-style resorts, there was simply not enough hot water! The shower water in the small bathroom was warm but never hot. The other bathroom had enough for maybe one person to get a comfortable shower. But consider that you also have a whirlpool tub to fill! We had to plan everyone's bathing with military precision, and even that didn't always work out. Why is this so often a problem?

How can these places keep putting in huge tubs, and then promote them, while not even providing enough water for a decent shower? This drives me crazy. Especially since I love baths. The steambath feature was great, however, and was ironically too hot to be withstood for long. It really felt great after getting drenched in the 40 degree weather at Busch.

Oh, and also, it was the loudest whirlpool I've ever used. I didn't care too much, but I kept thinking of our poor neighbors!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank NYCPocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,015 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 74 in Williamsburg
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
1.9 mi away
The Historic Powhatan Resort
The Historic Powhatan Resort
#22 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,917 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Property: Greensprings Vacation Resort
Address: 3500 Ludwell Pkwy, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1335 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing