We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay but did not like the sales presentation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greensprings Vacation Resort
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed June 25, 2014

When I read that there were a lot of steps I called the resort to request a ground floor unit. We are seniors and did not want to climb stairs for seven days. So when we arrived, we were happy to hear that we did get that ground floor unit. Our unit was a two bedroom and was very nice. We do not go on vacation to sit in a unit so we do not demand a five star resort like some people seem to indicate.

Pros: The housekeeping responded quickly to our request of towel exchange.
The front desk was courteous and very helpful.
The pool area was fantastic for all ages.
We had lunch at the cabana which was good since we did not have to leave for lunch.
Lots of fun activities were planned for the week.
The grounds were beautiful.
Security was driving around and felt safe
Our unit was very quiet and we really enjoyed the patio overlooking the golf course
.
Cons: Sales presentation was set for us the day after we got there. Two hours was too long.

Room Tip: There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teacher2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 685 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in June. The unit we had was very outdated. I felt like we had walked back into the eighties. My biggest complaint was that we were in the building behind the reservation office and they turned on the pool stereo at five in the morning. I think they were cleaning the pool but its tough when you are on vacation and get no sleep. The grounds are absolutely beautiful but the unit was definetely tired. We love having the rrom but will probably never go back to Greensprings.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have an updated unit and our only complaint is that new furniture in the living room is EXTREMELY uncomfortable. We noticed the same problem in other Diamond resorts in the past with hide a bed couches. All three pieces are not made for comfort. Everything else in unit was fine.

Room Tip: Third floor not for anyone with climbing issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank COLLINSGCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for a long weekend in April - in town for a family wedding. Overall property very nice, well maintained outside, and generally well maintained inside - clean but a little worn in some spots.
We had a 2 bedroom first floor condo. The master suite was for our senior member so that they could be close to accessible bathroom. The bathrrom is large and spacious with a roll in shower, flip down shower seat and handheld shower head - really nice and roomy for 2 people and easy to assist someone in the shower.
Second bedroom only had 2 twin beds - good if you have kids, but not so good for a couple. Beds very comfortable. Second bathroom a little small, and the shower is awkward and very short if your over 5'6". Overall the unit is quite spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. A single call to the front desk quickly brought us a bag of ice and extra towels.
Pool area looked really nice, but unfortunately weather did not allow us to use the ammenities. Location is decent - but you must drive anywhere. No food or restaurants on the property, but there is a food store approximately 10 min drive away - we stocked up for breakfast and snacks.
As mentioned - we were in town for a wedding - some other guests/family stayed at the Powhatan resort (sister property) so we were able to compare property and units. Although the room accommodations are definately older and a little more worn - the property ammenities out weigh Greensprings - much more to do for family and kids, and at least one restaurant on site for eating (driving out gets old).
So, I guess it depends on what your looking for - but I would probably try Powhatan if I were ever to go back - but I would not be opposed to staying at Greensprings.
Must say getting our reservations was a little difficult - but not sure if this was due to the pre-reserved rooms (we had to contact one of 2 people who was not very good about returning calls) Also, one family member's reservation got changed from Greensprings to Powhatan which was an inconvenience under the circumstances.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KOR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It was wonderful to have so much room to spread out with the family and the pool was a hit for the kids. Driving to the main sites wasn't so bad and oodles of markets, shops, etc, all an easy drive away. Dated condo, but it suited us fine. Staff was very friendly at check-in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MABlissful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, General Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

So far the resort has completed 10 out of 29 building refurbishments, and we will start (3) more buildings next January. (This redo is a soft or partial redo). The resort is also replacing the (Couch, and two chairs) in an additional 164 units, this summer. we are in the middle of the following project: Replacing the indoor Hot Tub Atrium, we are 90% complete on the new Mini Golf, Indoor pool resurfacing, Replaced 60 HVAC units in five building, we also replaced the roofs on nine buildings. I hope this helps you understand the resorts future projects. Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We met my sister and her husband here for a week's stay. The bedrooms were clean and well furnished. The kitchen could use quite a few more bowls and dishes for cooking; obviously we were expected to dine out more often. We were on the third floor, which meant climbing steps frequently--not easy on knee replacements! A couple of things were not functioning but were repaired within fifteen minutes of our calling for help.

Room Tip: No elevators, so if steps are a problem, ask for ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conniethemagni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, General Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

When Diamond took the resort over back in 2009 it was in Bankruptcy, there was literally no dollars to be spent on any type of improvement. This does not excuse the lack of in room maintenance and housekeeping; we will get to it in this letter.I can tell you that I have stayed on site until I close on my new house and your right they are dated. So far the resort has completed 10 out of 29 building refurbishments, and we will start (3) more buildings next January. (This redo is a soft or partial redo). The resort is also replacing the (Couch, and two chairs) in an additional 164 units, this summer. we are in the middle of the following project: Replacing the indoor Hot Tub Atrium, we are 90% complete on the new Mini Golf, Indoor pool resurfacing, Replaced 60 HVAC units in five building, we also replaced the roofs on nine buildings. I hope this helps you understand the resorts future projects. Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This resort isn't worth the stay. They 'politely' push you to sit in on a two hour resort presentation for their Powatan resort nearby...but given the overall put quality of the Greensprings Resort I refused to sit in on that.They need serious updating of their units...Furniture, appliances, you name it. If you shower you need to be below 6' in height to comfortably get your head under the shower head. Stairwells smelled funny. Room was inexpensive in comparison to other hotels etc, but not worth the headache.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay, as we are always looking to address any areas of improvement and growth opportunities. While we are a vacation ownership resort rather than a hotel, we are always happy to provide guests with additional information about our product; however, this opportunity is by no means mandatory, just recommended. Your feedback about out team’s approach has been forwarded on to our Concierge Manager to address for coaching purposes.
You will be happy to hear of some of the upcoming improvements set to take place this year, such as; replacements of living room furniture, new televisions in some of our buildings, landscaping improvements, etc. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back for an even more relaxing getaway to see all the new enhancements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.2 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 73 in Williamsburg
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Historic Powhatan Resort
The Historic Powhatan Resort
#22 of 73 in Williamsburg
2,101 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#7 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,738 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Address: 3500 Ludwell Pkwy, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1335 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $96 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing