We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greensprings Vacation Resort
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at this location from March 19 through March 23. We booked a special offer through Groupon and have to admit we were impressed for what we paid. After we booked this deal we decided to extend our stay by 1 night but were unable to get the same deal for this location, so we booked an additional night through Hotwire's Hot Deals and won a night stay and their sister resort the Historic Powhatan Resort. We checked in around 1pm with no issues. We were asked to stop to see the Concierge to receive our "Welcome Gift". There was a nice women who engaged us in conversation while compiling our welcome packet that consisted of a bunch of coupons and a packet of coffee. At which time she started her sales pitch (hey we all have a job to do :) She was trying her best! We were not interested in the offer that she had and politely declined. The condo was clean and nicely equipped with all appliances and cooking needs, but didn't have the best finishes that one would hope for considering it was a diamond resort (timeshare). After staying at the Powhatan Resort with great furniture, granite counter tops, ceramic tiled floors and showers, we were surprised to find that the furniture was dated and very uncomfortable, the floors were vinyl flooring and formica counter tops through out the condo, however all in great shape just not impressive. Hard to understand their Unit numbers... we were given a building number, unit number and room number! Just a side note... we unplugged the unit's phone because the Concierge's office called everyday with a special offer!!! We would visit again only if we got another deal and avoid high pressure sales pitch!

Room Tip: Building # 27 had an awesome view of the golf course, very private balcony and beautiful sunsets!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelenfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that your stay here was a generally enjoyable experience, but are sorry to read of your disappointment with the accommodation here when compared with the Historic Powhatan Resort. We have a rolling program of refurbishment at the Greensprings Vacation Resort, and we are sorry that it wasn’t possible to allocate a refurbished apartment for you on this occasion. We hope you’ll choose to come back here for another visit, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
There are newer reviews for Greensprings Vacation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 675 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very disappointed. We were excited about getting an overnight away from stress and yet this became stressful. The room wasnt available when we came so we were talked into waiting with consierge and then talked into buying a deal to come back for timeshare stay. The people at the desk were very nice however when we got to our building immediately I was taken back. We were in an A unit which is downstairs. The unit smelled like mildew. We were pressed for time so I hoped everything else would go smoothly. We went to dinner and came back and there was NO parking anywhere. Supposedly you have to have a parking pass in your car window to park there but that was not the case there were a lot of "visitors" who did not have passes in their window. You have to have a key to get in/out of the unit building and then your individual unit. My husband had to park the car a mile away literally from our unit. Then despite us paying a hefty amount to come here and stay there are A LOT of people visiting the units above and next to us clearly partying hard and loud. Its not safe, convenient, or right for paying tenants to have to go find a parking spot far away at night in the dark and then in the morning as well. When we PAID we should have a parking spot. Its absurd and very unprofessional. My husband needed to go to the car several times for things and this took precious time and energy away from our stay. All of the cabinets were dirty and had particle board dust all on everything inside. The fridge was clean and the bathroom was clean but the "amenities" really doesn't include much in terms of shampoo/conditioner. Overall we had to block out the noise of our neighbors and the stay that was supposed to be stress free ended up being stressful! Now we paid for something that I really dont feel like I would want to come back to again. If theres no parking in an off season time I cant imagine how bad the problem is during the season!!

Room Tip: Also our room was by the road so when trying to sit outside all you hear is road traffic.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

As we are committed to creating an experience that exceeds guest satisfaction, your feedback was most concerning to us. We apologize for your experience with parking. When the resort is at max occupancy, parking can be a stressed. However, when notified, our site security is more than happy to help our guests to obtain their desired parking spot. Also, security staff is happy to investigate and address any issues of disturbance or inappropriate behaviors. While we want all our guests to enjoy their stay, we do not want them to do so at the expense of other guests. We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hard to beat this for comfort and life with a teen or even adults who need their private space.
Our 2 large bedroom unit came with 3 separate tv's and they were very nice flat screened.
Beds were total comfort-Kitchen very large for a rental equipped with cuisanart appliances such as coffee maker -blender pots and pans and bakeware. Bake ware was pyrex. Digital stove and oven with enough dish washer soap for our stay as well as paper towels and cloth rags. Toaster and microwave. Bath had provided soft white towels and linens and nice soaps and shampoo with tissue and tissue box. Very convenient laundry small room with dryer and machine. Individual heat/ac- large windows with super light out curtains all stylish decor. Patios or balcony with nice large tables and chairs. Vacume cleaner provided as well as broom. Our unit backed up to a wooded area where we could hear ducks and birds and it was very pleasant. It had everything in convenience with a lovely dining table and very large living area-we did not try the electric fireplace with gas logs. No smells of mold/mildew or chemical spray. Windows and a large door leading outdoors for eating or coffee off your landing of balcony. Could not have been a better location for every restaurant or historic Williamsburg and many super stores such as walmart or sports stores etc etc etc. Abundant storage for closets and extra bedding as pillows and blankets. Huge Huge bath with whirl pool and very large mirrors in surround with max lights for getting ready. Second bath contained nice size shower with entrance from bed with private lock or left open for living area with 2 separate doors both lockable. Fast check in service. Full size appliances. Restful happy stay-lots of activities for family including indoor/outdoor pool-mini putt putt and a large list of activities for children and teens. Almost forgot yes- there is a dishwasher with liquid also provided.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wecacnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for choosing our resort for your visit to historic Williamsburg and for sharing such a detailed review of your impressions with your fellow travelers and our future guests. We are delighted that our location and comfortable accommodations contributed to you having an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. We’re looking forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here recently, longer than expected because of a winter storm. We stayed two nights in one unit, and three nights in another. Both were spacious, comfortable, and well appointed. It was a treat to have a well-functioning Jacuzzi in the master bath. We spent our time walking through historic Williamsburg and Jamestown, so it was great to soak at the end of the day. The kitchen was fairly well equipped, with a full-sized stove, refrigerator, and dish washer. The staff did a good job clearing the snow. My husband took advantage of the health club, which also had an excellent Jacuzzi. The beds were some of the best of our trip. The resort is about a 10-minute drive from Colonial Williamsburg. It was well located for seeing the area attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I stay here frequently for I own a timeshare with this company. It is a wonderful resort. I always stay in a2 bedroom 2 bath condo. I have 13 condos occupied this week with friends. They look forward to this trip during Presidents week. We are teachers from ny.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stringali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Snow removal was the BEST! streets and sidewalks were cleared and passable almost before the snow had stopped falling. Older resort but very well maintained. spacious with 2 bedroom 2 bath. Multi-level units with great space between buildings. Indoor outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Linens& towels in fine condition. Hot water was a little iffy with an explanation that some kind of plumbing had been added that was supposed to be miraculous. It wasn't. The harassment from sales was not as abusive as most resorts. We actually got our parking pass at check in but were still directed to the "concierge" were we were told about the wonders of an information briefing, we declined and were allowed to depart without too much abusive whining. As with most resort accommodations that we visit CFL lighting has been installed with reasonable success. Lighting in master bath was shadowed and could use greater wattage. Electric fire place was light show only. No heat from fireplace, but furnace worked very well with no complaints. Oh yoga exercises should be performed before trying to use the curtain pull cords. Over sized furniture and pull located on the wrong side of the room was curious if not just goofy. This was the 5th or 6th time we have stayed here, as an RCI exchange customer, and it may be our last. We seem always to get a unit that is not quite right and as far from the pool fitness center as possible.

Room Tip: No elevators or carts that I could find. Plan on a good workout if you are even on the 2nd floor, 3r...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvergoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We are very sorry to learn that there were certain aspects of your stay which just were not quite right. We assure you we strive to deliver best service and standard of accommodation and should you have mentioned your concerns to the reception team the would have done their best to assist you. We do hope this did not have a detrimental effect on your stay, however as we wish to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I am a Diamond member and this is a Diamond property, so I'm commenting on something I have an ownership interest in. I have stayed here before, but only for a few days and we were out most of the time. This was a last minute trip and it ended up being really cold, so we stayed in a lot. I was shocked that they still have pay as you go internet service and it is outrageous. At a time when everyone is on the internet for everything, they charge $6.95 per day per device or $19.95 for 3 days per device for service. Even Motel 6 provides free internet service. You might as well be staying in a cabin in the woods. Two computers with free internet in the office for hundreds of condos in 20th century. They need to wake up and smell the coffee.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank angsw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.4 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
1.8 mi away
The Historic Powhatan Resort
The Historic Powhatan Resort
#23 of 73 in Williamsburg
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#6 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,698 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort
4.7 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#22 of 73 in Williamsburg
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Address: 3500 Ludwell Pkwy, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1335 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $110 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing