We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not be my first choice in Williamsburg” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greensprings Vacation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Greensprings Vacation Resort
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Would not be my first choice in Williamsburg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this resort in a two-bedroom condo for three nights.

The good:
-- Very spacious accommodations
-- Clean
-- Comfortable beds
-- Pretty grounds with several playgrounds
-- The kitchen was perfectly equipped for light cooking

The bad:
-- A living room couch that was so uncomfortable my husband and I could not sit on it for more than 15 mins at a stretch. The chairs were not much better. Really terrible, uncomfortable furniture.
-- Long check-in process even though it was 10 p.m. when we arrived (still forced to visit the "concierge" and decline the time-share presentation, and still received a follow-up call the next evening).
-- Shabby decor, even though we were in a renovated condo. The paint above the shower head was peeling, the walls were scuffed, the upholstery shows wear (in a resort that welcomes so many families, upholstered dining chairs are probably not the best choice).

This does not feel like luxury or even superior accommodation. Just your average vacation rental, for a pretty price. We will try someplace else the next time we visit Williamsburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEM124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We regret to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay here with us and believe our apartments to be in need of an update. We would like to assure you that there is an ongoing refurbishment program here in Greensprings Vacation Resort and any existing issues will be addressed. We are glad that you found the apartment spacious and well appointed, however. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and wish you all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    228
    98
    51
    38
See reviews for
364
139
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay, very nice, clean and friendly staff. Its conveniently located (within 10-15 mins) from Busch Garden, Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Settlement. Lots of activities for kids during the day in case you decide to stay & relax at the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
612 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was part of a group speaking at a nearby facility, and we were placed here by our hosts. Because Greensprings is a time-share resort, my expectations were tempered. And a one-hour débâcle with the check-in clerk only decreased my hopes for the place. Fortunately, a manager was finally called in and sorted out the situation in minutes.

However, when we walked in to our condo, we were all impressed. We had two adjoining two-bedroom condos with a living room, kitchen, dining room, and deck. Very spacious, sparkling clean, and gloriously quiet. Although a bit dated and not terribly stylish, the rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Greensprings Vacation Resort! We’re really sorry to read of the difficulties that you experienced during check-in, and we sincerely regret the disruption that this caused to your stay. We’re pleased to read that your visit was an otherwise enjoyable one, though, and we hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here – we’d love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd year we have stayed at Greensprings. The resort is well kept and a great location. This last visit we had 2 2 bedroom units adjacent to each other. Plenty of room for 8 people, each getting their own bedroom. Also getting 2 full kitchens, 4 bathrooms and 2 living rooms. Also can't forget 2 washer and dryers!! The units are very clean and well kept. Plenty of kitchen supplies if needed. We asked for extra towels when we got there and they have 2 full sets of everything for the rooms, including sheets. Anything you want , they will bring. Pool area is very nice. Lots of lounges and table and chairs with umbrella. They have a little snack area that also sells some alcohol. Location is maybe 10 minutes from both Busch Garden and the Water Country. There are lots of restaurants within 10-15 minute ride and not once did we pick one that was not good. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krismis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this resort for with our three grandsons. It was convenient for sightseeing. The accommodations were perfect for the five of us. The apartment was bright, clean, and well appointed. The boys loved the swimming pool, especially at night after a day of sightseeing. I did not attend any of the sales information sessions and was not asked to after my refusal. Admittedly, I did feel uncomfortable after I said the times would not work and the concierge appeared a bit annoyed. This, however, was minor, and our stay in general was terrific.

Room Tip: Our room was great, not sure about any of the others. We were on the third floor and were concerned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a great stay at this resort. Loved the location; so convenient for all the things that spew wanted to see: Colonial Williamsburg, Historic Jamestown, Virginia Beach, James River National Park.. Great for shopping, too, with the supermarket a couple of miles away and the outlet shopping centre a short drive.

We appreciated the pool, loved the size of the accomodation; much bigger than my first flat, for example! As an English family we were not approached by anyone regarding timeshare - sensible as we would be unlikely to return to the same place year after year. Some have mentioned the need for a room update but I think that we had a pre-updated room and had no issues with it whatsoever. Loved the balcony and all the insect/ frog noises - makes you feel that you really are away from home! Kitchen needed a few more utensils to make cooking / stirring easy but, other than that, we would have absolutely no complaints at all.

Loved every minute!

Room Tip: Our room on third floor was away from other guest noise. There is noise from air conditioning unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiegr790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spent a week in the last week of August in a 2 bedroom condo. I was concerned when booking because of some of the reviews but the front desk staff Ryan and Cheryl were fabulous. I can't say enough nice things about them. They assured me We would love the room and the resort. We checked in quickly and we went straight to Busch gardens. The condo was well appointed and appeared to be newly renovated with new cuisinart appliances to boot. We were on the top floor and no elevators so if you have lots of things or don't like stairs go for a first or second floor unit. The property was nice with a good sized outdoor pool and indoor pool while our unit was down by the guard house it was nice and quiet. The boys used the tennis courts and fitness centre which had top notch equipment. There is a basketball court mini golf and ping pong table as well. We didn't do the resort activities since we were at Busch Gardens and Water Country USA each day. It is a Diamond timeshare resort so you will be asked to book a appointment but they weren't pushy when we checked in. Loved the place and again can't say enough about Ryan and Cheyl as well as all the staff.

Room Tip: The top floor units although require two flights of stairs have the advantage of having no rooms abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nematode T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
8.8 mi away
King's Creek Plantation Resort
King's Creek Plantation Resort
#18 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
1.5 mi away
The Historic Powhatan Resort
The Historic Powhatan Resort
#22 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Property: Greensprings Vacation Resort
Address: 3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing