We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, perfect for Golf.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Greensprings Vacation Resort
Ranked #33 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice property, perfect for Golf.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stay in a lot of timeshares, and this one was decent. The indoor and outdoor pools were great for the kids, the exercise room was adequate, and the parking was good. If you are a golfer, this is a great place to be. Williamsburg National is adjacent to the resort, and is one of the best courses in Williamsburg.

The only downsides to our stay were related to the room. We stayed in the third floor, which was accessible only by stairs, without an elevator. With small children or for the elderly, this is inconvenient. Also, our unit really needed an update to the carpet. Perhaps the biggest annoyance was the internet access. It required a paid subscription of $7 per day, per computer. And for a few days during our stay, the internet was down for maintenance, which was rather annoying.

Otherwise, the unit had ample space and amenities, and the resort was fine. But for the issues listed above, I would have given this resort a better rating.

Room Tip: Stay on the first or second floor, unless you like to carry bags up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesDeLacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    232
    101
    53
    40
See reviews for
374
142
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We enjoyed having a separate bedroom from our kids so we got some "adult alone time" that we don't typically have on vacation. The kitchen was stocked with the basics so I could cook breakfast and some dinners (which is what I wanted to do to save some money). The location was convenient to everything we wanted to do, namely Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg. It was very nice having a washer & dryer in the unit -- we were able to come home with no dirty laundry!!

My only complaint is that while the staff in the reception area were very helpful & nice, they were extraordinarily pushy about going to one of their vacation membership sales pitch sessions. They offered some great incentives to attend the session (free tickets to Busch Gardens and the like), but we opted not to spend our vacation time in a sales oriented session when we had no desire to buy a timeshare with them.

They had a lot right on the campus to entertain children - playground, pool, mini-golf, patio, yard, etc. We didn't get to utilize too much of it though since we only stayed for 3 nights and wanted to visit other local attractions.

We would stay there again - but would not enjoy the hounding to attend their sales pitch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Co11eenq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at Greensprings Plantation over spring break. The room was quite comfortable and spacious. We had friends join us and there was plenty of room. Each couple had their own bathroom which was much appreciated.The decor is a little dated, especially the kitchen but it was all very functional. The only complaint I have is that there is no free wifi. In this day and age when McDonalds has free wifi, I found this very dissappointing. If you want wifi, you have to pay $30 per device! Otherwise, I would recommend Greensprings Plantation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colohightravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

If your debating between Powhatan or another vacation resort property, Greensprings is the probably the best value. Large, upgraded condos with nice amenities, family friendly, good location. Great outdoor pool, putt putt golf, playgrounds, indoor pool. Updated furnishings, appliances, luxury bedding. Our unit could use updating on carpets (color not use), but overall very nice, clean and spacious. Beware of timeshare sales presentation attendance pressure when you check-in. I knew this going in so didn't take issue with it, but cut sales rep short right from the beginning because there was no way I was attending a 2 hr timeshare sales session on my vacation. This sales pressure is partly explained by the incredible deals you can get from timeshare resale vendors. I paid $100 per night icluding all taxes and fees for weekend nights.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelingwith4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

My family was invited to stay for a few days at this resort. It was pretty slow since it was not high season. The unit had a few problems, the hot water was not working properly (either scalding or not enough water) in one of the bathrooms, also the glass shower door barely closed in this bathroom as well. The beds were all right but the unit looked run down in appearance. The linens were not soft, they looked like they needed to replaced. Nearby we saw some of the buildings getting new furniture and work crews were seen on other parts of the property.

One of the main reasons we went to the resort was to use the indoor pool. The pool was very cold, we inquired twice if the temperature setting was working. The second visit the strong chlorine smell hit you like a ton of bricks. The pool was still cold we asked again and sat in the warm jacuzzi which was always heated well. After sitting on the jacuzzi stairs for a while one of us had a bleached swimsuit bottom.
We went to the front desk to report the bleached suit. A security representative said he would take a report. Security called us, visited the unit and said he needed some photos. Two months passed and we did not hear anything so we called back and were told to send a statement which was faxed. Another 6 weeks passed and we received no communication. The most recent inquiry we made said to send the suit and some documentation of ownership.

We would not visit this property again, the unit was not well maintained and the experience with the pool was not so great. There were some friendly staff though, especially the nice people at the gate who answered a few questions about nearby places.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris57722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We would like to thank you for your feedback and it is our aim that our rolling refurbishment programme will allow us to update all the rooms to the same high standard. We do hope that you will change your mind and visit us again in the future so that you can see the changes for yourself. It is great to hear that you found the staff friendly and we are sorry to hear of the issues you have raised regarding the temperatures of the swimming pool. Feedback is always valuable and allows us to improve upon on our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I spent an anniversary weekend there. I had flowers delivered and they arrived as we were checking in. As my wife was reading her card and we tried to share a special moment, the Sales Person would not let us have a second to our selves. There was a small problem with the Sales Team not leaving us alone even after mentioning it to them. The Grensprings staff was terrific and the room was great. The Diamond Resort staff refused to get back to us even after emailing the Customer Service "Contact Us" twice and calling as well. Not even an acknowlegement of our contact. It was a shame too, my wife and I qualify for a buy and would have been interested. Diamond Resorts Customer Service does not care.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACJC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We are very sorry for the issues you encountered with the sales team at the Greensprings Vacation Resort, and with our Customer Services Team. It concerns us greatly when guests feel they have cause for complaint about the standard of service they have received, and we sincerely apologise for any unhelpful behaviour that may have been shown in connection with these issues. Our staff do endeavour to deliver The Meaning Of Yes® to all guests and members, and we are very sorry that this does not appear to have been the case on this occasion.

It is our policy to respond to all emails received and to answer all telephone calls, and it is of great concern to us that you do not appear to have received a direct response to your correspondence. We apologise that you have been given the impression that we have neglected to respond to you, and will be happy to address your concerns directly and in full if you send your comments to us again through our website.

We very much hope that these issues did not mar what we trust was an otherwise enjoyable vacation at the Greensprings Vacation Resort, and we look forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had a 2-bedroom "refurnished" unit. Overall, clean and well-stocked. The beds were very firm, but still comfy (horrible sofa-bed, though). Could have used better linen, but no real complaints here. Concierge tried to get us to attend the timeshare presentation upon check-in. After we declined, they kept calling throughout the week, but it's not hard to ignore the messages. The resort is about a 5-min. drive to restaurants, pharmacy, grocery store and approx. 15 mins from the outlet. Also only about 15 mins. from Colonial Williamsburg.

The indoor swimming pool got really crowded and loud. The kids enjoyed the miniature golf (extra fees apply) and the basketball court. The grounds were well-kept and manicured and parking was sufficient. There are no elevators, so if you are elderly or have very young children with strollers, the first floor would probably be a better option (we had the third floor and it was a bit of a climb for the kids and tough with the suitcases, but not a problem.)

We enjoyed the resort. I only wish they would've provided free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Being at the top floor helped reduce noise from above, but the walls are thin so you still hear voic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdc321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.9 mi away
The Historic Powhatan Resort
The Historic Powhatan Resort
#22 of 74 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Property: Greensprings Vacation Resort
Address: 3500 Ludwell Pkwy, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1335 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing