We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family retreat....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Greensprings Vacation Resort
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A family retreat....”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Large two bedroom condos in a beautiful setting conveniently located just a few miles from The College of William and Mary. This is my third time staying in this resort and each time my family and I have enjoyed it very much when we visit our daughter at The College of W&M. The only drawback is that they make you stop by the concierge desk after check in where they try to get you in a timeshare program which I'm really not interested in. I wish they would just stop doing that specially if they know you've been there a few times. I try to be polite in declining but sometimes you just have to get your point across. This is the only reason I didn't give them 5 stars.

Room Tip: Near the pool if you plan to use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMatSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    237
    105
    56
    43
See reviews for
393
144
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Nice place, would highly recommend it. Looks like they try to keep everything repaired and kept nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler4times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We just stayed in the Greensprings Resort for a short vacation to the Williamsburg area. We had never stayed in a Timeshare Resort before and weren't sure what we were in for. Overall, the experience was very pleasant.

We didn't get one of the newly renovated units, but I was quite pleased with the third floor unit that we stayed in. There was a wonderful jacuzzi tub in the bathroom and that alone made up for many minor quibbles we may have had. It was quiet and was within 15 minutes of everything we wanted to do in and around Williamsburg, another plus for the resort.

My only real complaint with the condo was the bed. The mattress was way too firm for both my husband and myself, and the pillows were too soft. Neither of us slept well while we were there even though the rest of the condo lovely. A kettle in the kitchen wouldn't have been remiss, either.

Tips: Bring your pillow if you can manage it. Bring a box of food and beverages with you for use in the kitchen. We saved money by eating breakfast there every morning. Pack a couple of your favorite DVD's to watch while winding down for the night. There's basic cable, but no movie channels to speak of.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TinaReads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a great place to stay. The only thing is that when we asked for sheets for the pullout sofa bed, they took about 4-5 hours to get them to us. Besides that the place is nice and super clean. When we said no thank you to the sales pitch, they were okay with that. We stayed when hurricane Irene hit Virginia. The place held up great. Too bad we didn't get to swim in the super nice pools. It was too bad that it took them 5 days to get the electricity back on so we missed out on part of our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowhater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Spent a weekend in Williamsburg at the Greensprings Plantation. The unit was squeeky clean and very well appointed. I spent two nights on the pullout as we had five people. It...was actually very comfy especially with the fireplace at my feet. The weather was terrible, but the unit was warm. If I was going to spend a week there, I would be very comfortable as the kitchen was well appointed. Unit was very roomy and had a deck overlooking the golf course. I will return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank macfanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at this resort in early August. We had 3 criteria for our stay - close to Busch Gardens, a pool and enough room for 6 people. A clean, safe place is a given.

When we checked in, we did receive the obligatory sales pitch which we quickly deflected and were never bothered about again. I was apprehensive about the condo due to other reviews, but our unit, while dated, was clean and in working order. It was also spacious and the small appliances in the kitchen were brand new Cuisinart.

The resort has very easy and quick access to Busch Gardens, local restaurants and grocery stores. We had several visitors while staying here and the security process was very easy and responsive in getting them into the resort and directly them to our unit.

The pool was fine, but could use a face lift. Frankly, everything could use a face lift at this place as it is all dated and showing age. Having said that, we felt comfortable, safe and had no regrets to booking this location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DukeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
It seems that that unit and our resort was an excellent choice for your family! We want to assure you that we are always reviewing the property and amenities for necessary updates and constantly planning to put those needs into effect. We appreciate you taking the time to post your experience regarding your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We just returned from a 1 week stay in a 2 bedroom unit. We had a third floor unit (89i) with a good view of trees and a golf course. The numbering on the outside of the building didn't match the units on the inside. The carpet, furniture and decor were very run-down and outdated. Several tiles in the bathroom was cracked and grout missing. I had to keep it covered so the kids wouldn't pinch their toes in the tiles. The matresses were very uncomfortable. In the 16+ years of exchanges with Interval International, this was the most rundown resort we've ever stayed in. I thought it was funny they still made several calls to try to get us to meet with representatives to buy into this resort! Maybe they should call people staying in a renovated room.
The best part of the resort was that the pools were nice and the grounds looked good. Also the security guards at the driveway entrance were quite nice. One lady always had a smile and seemed to know us.
The worst part: the service was virtually non-existent. The check-in person was unfriendly (no real problem, just not friendly.) We made a call to housekeeping to see if they have a "trash and towel" day like most timeshares offer. We left a message midweek and never got a call back. We would have like to exchange our dirty towels for fresh ones even if there was a fee. Our low capacity washer and dryer was kept busy with the laundry of our 4 kids and ourselves, so it would have been nice to get clean towels and not have to stay up late to get them washed.
The entry way of our building was littered with bags of supplies for 3 or 4 days. It seems they only care about the apprearance of the resort buildings on normal check-in days.
We left a few gift items behind and called within one hour of leaving the resort. The first person we talked to made no effort to help at all. We called back and asked for a manager and was given the voicemail of the hotel manager. We left a message Saturday and today is Sunday, so we don't yet know if we'll get a response. Since it is a time-sensitive issue, we called back last evening after getting home and this time talked with the front desk manager. She was much more helpful and sent someone over to retrieve our items, but they were no longer there. I don't yet know how this will end, but it doesn't look good. If it resolves favorably, I'll come back and update.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a recently renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.4 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Historic Powhatan Resort
The Historic Powhatan Resort
#24 of 73 in Williamsburg
2,024 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#6 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,653 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Property: Greensprings Vacation Resort
Address: 3500 Ludwell Pkwy, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1335 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing