We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Kingsgate
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed for a few days with friends who are timeshare owners. Very well-kept property; I was glad to see that they had good security and had a good array of amenities. My only complaint is that the furniture in the main living area was very uncomfortable and really needs to be re-thought by Wyndham. Kind of like the stuff you'd expect in a hotel room, not a longer-term stay. A decent sofa and a recliner would have made the place perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi Carol,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the resort security and amenities. We apologize for any inconvenience from the living room furniture. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home and your feedback will help us to do so. We hope you come back to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Kingsgate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 990 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at this resort as a result of a timeshare spiel. There were 5 people in our party. I'm not obsessive about cleanliness but the first thing that popped out at me was the dust covered intake grate for the ac/heating unit. I had to check and I discovered the filter was new so that wasn't the problem. Another member of the party pointed out that the other vents also needed to be vacuumed. Is this really a problem? Well I guess not really unless they are trying to sell you the timeshare.

The mattress on the king bed was horrible. Every move you made, i.e., turning over made the mattress squeak. It was also exceptionally uncomfortable and didn't provide a good night's rest. Pillows were horrible. We had considered going to Target to buy our own pillows. Three of their pillows were the size of one normal pillow. There were no other pillows to use.

We never made it into the hot tub or pool. The hot tub had only one side of working jets.

A couple of items they could use in the space: A throw or blanket for those times you just want to sit on the couch and need something to wrap up in and measuring cups in the kitchen. There was one Pyrex measuring cup in a one cup measurement.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank 45mphk9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was with my wife, two kids, and my in-laws. We reserved a three-bedroom and were a little confused when we arrived to our room - it was only two bedrooms. We quickly found out that the third bedroom was actually another full, one-bedroom unit with adjoining doors. Wow! The in-laws had their own suite with small kitchen, living room and bedroom.

Everything in the rooms was very nice and clean. The kitchens are well stocked with dishes, pans, baking dishes, glasses, plastic cups, etc. There were like-new blenders, coffee makers, and toasters in each kitchen. There is a washer/dryer in each unit. They supplied laundry, dishwasher, and dish soap as well as coffee filters and one coffee packet to get you started. Everyone was happy with the beds.

The only complaint would be that the televisions are not great. Watchable but not great. Not enough of an issue to drop a star.

There is a $5/day activity fee for your entire party. It was a no-brainer for 6 of us. There are two arcades that everyone enjoyed with several driving games, several shooting games, a few pinball machines, and some other miscellaneous machines. My kids spent a lot of time on the consoles (x-box kinect, ps3, etc.) playing dance games, minecraft, and space shooters. The ones who played enjoyed the mini golf and the course was beautiful. The gym isn't huge but there's enough there to come up with a workout whether you just want cardio or lifting. We never got to either of the swimming pools or the hot tub.

I will not hesitate to rent here whenever we're visiting Williamsburg and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is our second stay at this resort and we had another great time. There are tennis courts, three pools (2 outside, 1 inside), a mini golf course, a hot tub, and many more things to do while at the resort. There is also an activities center with an arcade and you can also rent DVD's for the kids.

Our room was a nice size.. we stayed in the 1 bedroom and didn't feel cramped at all. The only issue I had is the condos are accessed through a main door and makes a ton of noise when it's open and closed.. so get use to hearing loud bangs all day and night. You get use to it after a while.

The resort is 2 minutes from a nice Kmart, Uno's, cracker barrel, and a mini golf course..
It's only 10 minutes from everything else including colonial williamsburg and busch gardens. You can't ask for a better location.

The biggest downside to this resort is getting the hard press on buying one of these units. This is the second time we stayed and both times we were pretty much harrassed into going to a timeshare presentation. This time the rep said we had to fill out a form for "security" reasons. The form is pretty much something to run your credit so they can see if you are credit worthy. I said I am not filling this out and it's not needed for "security" purposed. At this point the timeshare rep said "You will listen to what I have to say or you won't get your "parking pass"..
She then said to write the word "refused" and sign it.. after I did that I got my "parking pass" and left.

My advice is to be forceful up front or they will just keep talking... if you do get talked into it just give a fake cell phone number and unplug the phone at your resort room.. you shouldn't be bothered after that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevgret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in a 2-bedroom condo on the 2nd floor (top floor) overlooking the tennis courts, pool and Activities Center for 5 nights in the beginning of Sept 2013. This was convenient for us as we didn't have to put up with noise from visitors above us. We also were pleased to have a short walk to all the resort amenities as well as being close to the resort exit to explore the area.

Check-in/Timeshare sales pitch - You will get some brochures, area coupons, and a nice map which may come in handy if you don't know the area well. You will also get pressured to sit through an hour-long presentation on all that Wyndham has to offer in an attempt to get you to buy a timeshare or more of it if you already have one. For agreeing to attend, you will receive a complimentary breakfast buffet. But wait, there's more!!! If you accept right now, you may also receive discounted tickets to Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens or a $75 American Express gift card! Wow! However, they don't start until 9:00AM and you'll basically be there until 11:00AM so if you had plans on going somewhere and getting an early start, forget about it or don't go to the sales pitch. Instead, you'll probably want to enjoy your time as it will probably be more valuable to you then what gifts they have to offer so just say no and move on.

Activities Center - You are required to pay $5 per day upon check-in. We enjoyed the indoor pool (open 7:30AM - 10:30PM), outdoor pools (8:00AM - 10:30PM), and outside hot tub (18+ only after 6:00PM but this was not enforced). The hot tub wasn't available our last night for some reason. The first night none of the pools were available due to a thunderstorm. The outdoor pools had bugs in them so we mostly swam in the inside one. You can rent DVDs for $2, but we had free Redbox promos so we used them all week instead. They had a video gaming complex that we didn't use or even go in, but I wish we had because I saw they had a pool table inside. It was hard to see inside the room from the outside since the glass doors are tinted. We played a round of miniature golf and our 4 year-old hit a hole in one on one of the harder holes. They also offered free movies each night at the movie theater, a small fitness center, a small playground and 2 tennis courts. Tennis rackets and balls are provided inside the Activities Center along with pool towels if you need them.

Quiet Time throughout resort - 11:00PM - 7:00AM (Ssh!)

Condo - The two bedrooms were nice with comfortable beds, TVs in both as well as in the living room. There were also two full bathrooms, and a sofa and loveseat in the living room. There was a stackable washer/dryer combo in one of the hallway closets as well as a dining room and a full kitchen. All the amenities of home including a balcony if you want some fresh air. The interior decoration, color and pictures on the wall are typical of the Williamsburg area and haven't changed much at all in at least the last 5 years. There are no elevators.

Grounds - One item of note was that there wasn't enough sidewalks around the resort. Some would just lead you to a grassy dead-end to nowhere and at other areas there simply just wasn't a sidewalk so you're either walking in the street or through grass.

Location - You're not walking anywhere from here. If you have a car it's a good central location because you're kind of halfway between downtown and Colonial Williamsburg to your south and potential visits up north as well like the Premium Outlets, Yankee Candle, chain restaurants, a Walmart Supercenter, Go-Karts, and Williamsburg Pottery just to name a few.

Check-out - Remember to take all your trash outside and place on the ground next to the receptacles in front of your building. Get out by 10:30AM on your departure day or they will charge you $35 the 1st hour and $100 each hour afterwards. Wave goodbye as it's most likely fun on I-64 then back to the grind again in your future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeoWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This property was a disappointment. I have enjoyed Wyndham membership and vacationing at different locations. This property does not measure up to the expectations. The bedrooms have tube TVs without remote controls. The kitchen has been updated but is small. The master bath is anything but a master bath. The water takes forever to get warm. The shower heads are the original and need to be replaced for efficiency and water conservation. The single bathroom sink is small with little usable countertop space. The shower is small and challenging for taller people.

When booking through RCI we were told this was the best facility in Williamsburg. This facility is outdated and needs to be upgraded or sold.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
6  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hi Karen,

We are sorry to hear the unit accommodations did you not meet your expectations and you felt they were outdated. We know it is important that all our properties are of great quality to our guests and owners. We look forward to feedback that will help improve our property and your feedback will help us to do so. As always, we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Could use some updates, but was clean and comfortable. The only problem was we were on the ground floor and kids were running up and down the steps all the time. At least it was quite at bedtime. Personnel was friendly and helpful. We had some problems with the tv and they were prompt at fixing the problem. I think this is a great place for families with children.

Room Tip: no elevators, but it would be better to be on the top floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Patriots Place
Wyndham Patriots Place
#34 of 73 in Williamsburg
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Address: 619 Georgetown Cres, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3029 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#23 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: $103 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing