We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great trip to Williamsburg and Kingsgate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Kingsgate
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
nc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great trip to Williamsburg and Kingsgate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We rented this property through Laura at Sun and Snow and not only was she wonderful to work with, but everything on her listing was accurate. We called Wyndam’s Kingsgate directly on Wednesday before we checked in on Saturday and made our specific requests, all of which were honored. Our family of 6 stayed in a 3-bedroom, lock-off condo. We were in building 11, unit 302A/B, top floor. We would not have wanted to have been on the first floor right by the door to the entry way as it slammed every time someone entered or left the building if they were not very careful with it. You could hear it at times all the way up to the 3rd floor.
The area out back was lovely with a pond, fountain, ducks, geese, turtles, fish, and deer. Check-in was a breeze at 2pm and although we were offered the Timeshare pitch, once we both said no, we were sure we were not interested, there was no pressure.
The kitchen was small but fully equipped with everything you'd need to fix a meal. There were plenty of bowls and lids for any leftovers and even a pitcher in the fridge for tea or lemonade. We couldn't have been more pleased with how clean everything was, right down to the outside windows, balcony, and chairs.
The beds were firm and while the master had a king, the others only had doubles which made for rough nights when two teens are sharing and not use to it. Those “extra” bedrooms really should have queen beds. I think those beds are advertised as queen but measured the same as the pull out sofa. There probably should be a ceiling fan in each bedroom as well. There was only one in the living area.
Mini golf was great, very nicely kept. Video game center was nice but taken over by certain kids all the time and not monitored by staff at the center. My son had to ask them about the PS3 twice and both times the kid had been on there for hours. All pools were too cloudy for our taste but then we are spoiled as we have grandma’s spotless pool at home.
Due to a severe thunderstorm, the entire area around us lost power for about 14 hours. Since the NBA finals game was on during this time, the activity center (which operated on generators, I guess) was open later than usual and they did their best to accommodate everyone's needs/requests during that time, including having most of the TV's on the game. My husband is still grateful :) In addition, each unit had a rechargeable flashlight plugged in and ready for use and those came in very handy while the power was out. We would definitely stay at Kingsgate again when traveling in the Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ncmomofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    333
    154
    58
    29
See reviews for
568
138
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Had a wonderful time. Lots of room and very clean. Our grandchildren had fun with all the activities. Good location. Upstairs is quiet. Nice balcony to sit outside. No hassle for us about timeshare. We will stay here again. All the staff were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunniD613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama, Republic of Panama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom unit in Mid-May 2013 with my two grandsons. We had a wonderful stay! We used all the resort activities, which we appreciated that they were all in one area and not spread out as we have seen in other resorts. We thoroughly enjoyed having the indoor pool, both for cold and rainy days.

The only con was the pressure we received at the concierge desk to go to this breakfast presentation, to the point of being lied to...twice! We were hassled every single day with the insistence of us going to this Wyndham/RCI presentation. We had never received such pressure and outright pestering!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dixie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
406 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a two-bedroom unit for 4 of us on the second floor (no elevator). The unit was just perfect! A balcony to enjoy morning coffee; a full kitchen; a mini-golf course on site! There was an indoor and outdoor pool and a Jacuzzi == nothing missing here. We used the RCI time share exchange to get this -- it was only a 5 minute drive to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor center and minutes to many restaurants and stuff to do.

Room Tip: Second floor was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyndeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This company is FRAUDULENT!! They charged me on November 6, 2012 for a March 2013 stay and then charged me again on May 21, 2013 for the same March stay. I have offered proof of this double charge and no one has helped I spoke with Theresa, Crystal, Hugh Bischoff, and Renee in the escalation department. All of these individuals have stated they would look into this and I have not received a phone call. I will now be disputing this through my bank and the police department because this company is not attempting at all to work with me.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

As an Ambitvip.com Executive Consultant we decided to purchase a Hilton Grand Vacation Club 2 years ago. A good Choice as we like to use Hilton Hotels no matter where we travel. Well, we traded in points for a specific trip through RCI which was supposedly bought out by Wyndham. We checked in at the front desk and all was fine. We went to concierge 20 feet away and that is when the pressure was on. We notified them that we are part of the Hilton Vacation Club and yet they used pressure tactics to try to get you to sit in on a breakfast to learn about Wyndham. I said no politely and they simple brought in the big guns, they offered me free breakfast and a big discount to Colonial Williamsburg. It's only an hour they said. We did not sit in as my hour is worth a lot more. I found out through other couples that it was a lot more than 1 hour...This place is not worth the money. The rooms are nice, the beds are certainly not comfortable. I will not be coming here again.

Room Tip: If you are going to use the Wyndham Kings Gate because you have children and want to use a pool, gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ralph I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom deluxe thru Sun or Snow Vacation Rentals for a great price (Laura was a pleasure to work with). Our unit was on the second floor (requested) and was perfect for us. Clean, roomy, well decorated. Close to Colonial Williamsburg. We were not hassled at all about attending a timeshare mtg. I simply stated that we would never be able to take advantage of owning a timeshare and he dropped the sales pitch. We also declined to fill out the paper requesting our income level.

Note--- on some evenings there is loud music being played by the pool/activity building. Personally, having a unit near that would've ruined our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank nsbea5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 76 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
5.0 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 76 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Governor's Green
Wyndham Governor's Green
#24 of 76 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Property: Wyndham Kingsgate
Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3029 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#23 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing